We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Indian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Taj Mahal

Restaurante Taj Mahal
1 km Oeste del Centro Comercial Paco calle vieja hacia Santa Ana, San Rafael de Escazu, Costa Rica, Escazu, Costa Rica
+506 2228 0980
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 104 Restaurants in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Vegetarian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Costa Rica's Original Indian Restaurant. Established in 2002 serving Authentic North Indian Cuisine with such specialties as lamb, tandoori, vegetarian, chicken, seafood, an extensive list of curries, biryanis, and fresh naan. We also can recommend vegan and gluten free selections. We are a full scale restaurant with a wine list and bar service for our clients. We have a private room and outdoor terrace in our garden. WIFI, Delivery, and Catering Service available. Certified by the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) as a 5 star establishment. We also now have a children's playground in our garden area.
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I never thought I would find truly authentic Indian Cuisine in Costa Rica. have lived here 10 years and decided to give it a go. Awesome food. great service. Nice atmosphere. Definitely the place to go for great food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    49
    18
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Samara
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I know it has been ages since I went there and that is only because I now live 3+ hrs from SJO. But if I lived there, it would be a place a would visit often. The food is always wonderful! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guanacaste
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I want Indian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Once again our delightful host at Casa Isabella gave us a great recommendation for eating out Indian food this time. We love Indian food and were not disappointed. We love lamb and we had two different lamb choices . We started with the Onion Bhaji and it was delightful. Ending with cucumber raitia ...most satisfying dinner. So glad we had the opportunity while in Escazu to dine out Indian !

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“When you've tired of casados!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Very good Indian food and the lamb was outstanding by any measure. So many places stew their lamb to the point that it could be mutton but this was freshly cooked and still pink! Everything was fresh. The decor is campy and fun and the servers are very helpful. A couple of hints though - this isn't located in San Jose but on the old road between Escazu and Santa Ana and even though San Jose is spreading rapidly its not quite that far out yet. Also be prepared to spend top dollar for the food - while the quality is good, the price is definitely geared to tourists. We had two main dishes and two side dishes (one was rice) and no alcohol (not with those hairpin turns outside!) and it cost the two of us $90.00.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“More than a restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great food and service but also a cultural experience. Decor, Bollywood movies and wait staff costumes make you feel as if you've been to India. Open late.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Taj Mahal also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Restaurante Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Taj Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.