We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breath of fresh air!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Out of Bounds Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Out of Bounds Hotel to your Saves list
Out of Bounds Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 km West of Commercial Paco, Old Road to Santa Ana | In front of Restaurant Taj Mahal, Escazu, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$69 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Escazu
Garden City Beach, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This quaint hotel was the Four Seasons of Costa Rica. The views are breathtaking from any room, it is a full service, five star hotel that is run more like a Bed and Breakfast because everyone is family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermatt, Owner at Out of Bounds Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for the kind words!!

We fell in love with the view first then the Hotel came next. :) we always hoped that people would like it as much as we do. Nice breeze, birds chirping away. Happy you enjoyed your stay!!

We hope to see you again.

Take care
Meranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
47
30
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at Out Of Bounds 2 weeks ago for the first time, and what a great experience. Matteo and Miranda are engaging, informative and helpful.

We stayed on the upper floor, and thoroughly enjoyed the view from our front porch. In the evening it was calming to survey the city lights without being overwhelmed by street noise. In the morning our breakfast was served where we could sit and savor a slight breeze and a view along with the typical food we ordered. There are choices for breakfast.

The room was nicely decorated and the bed was comfortable. There are screens on the windows, so that letting in the night breeze can be accomplished easily and without unwelcome insect guests. The downside is that the room we were in was very small and had nowhere to hang anything. There was a very small armoire type closet in the corner with a couple of shelves.

I recommend Out of Bounds and look forward to our next visit there.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermatt, Owner at Out of Bounds Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you very much for the review we appreciate you taking the time write about our Boutique Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.

Regarding the closet, yes In the standard room we just have the corner closet and the hangers are on the hooks outside from it . The other rooms do have full size closets. check out the Junior, Deluxe or Superior room next time for more space.

Till next time hope your enjoying your side of Costa Rica..take care

Meranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

April 2013 gave me the opportunity to visit Costa Rica again...and for the third time I stayed at Out Of Bounds with Matteo and Miranda!

Matteo even came to pick me up himself as the normal taxi canceled last minute - fantastic service! huge smiles upon arrival, a warm welcome making anyone & everyone relaxed and ready for any experience in Escazu.
if your just in for a couple of nights or are looking for a base to then explore Out of Bounds is perfect! I stayed for 7 nights, with a room that had a kitchenette, great for saving a few $$ whilst on vacation.

yes I will be there again in just a few months - see you soon guys and thanks!

PURA VIDA TODOS!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermatt, Owner at Out of Bounds Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hey Chris, thanks man we cant wait to see you again.

Till next time, Meranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I go to the Out of Bounds monthly taking groups for dental or medical tourism, from the USA. Out of Bounds is a first choice due to its location, price, comfort, convenience to area clinics and hospitals, and safety for women travelers.

The owners are very helpful, and the breakfast is very fresh and served to order on the terrace overlooking the central valley. The hotel is perched up the side of a mountain such that the view is terrific, particularly at night, with 3 volcanos in clear view.

My staff and clients from DentaRica Travel (we are certified medical and dental tourism facilitators) in North Carolina, use this hotel frequently-- particularly when we travel as a group for dental work in Costa Rica. Using this hotel, we are confident of a very pleasant stay for everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Dear Reader,

I lived in Costa Rica and have known Meranda & Matteo for years. I recently made a trip back to San Jose and Out of Bounds was my first choice -albeit I was lucky to get a room- so book early!

M&M provide the comfort and service level guests would expect from a boutique hotel -at a 1/3 of the price- while retaining that unique sense of charm that B&B seekers jealously covet.

Glorious sunrise- check. Equatorial birdsong alarm - check. Roll out of king-size duvet covered bed - check. Glass block open air shower - check. Fresh cotton linens - check. Tropical fruit selection, gourmet coffee, and private breakfast with patio vista - check, check and check!

Rest assured, there is not a cleaner, more secure, more friendly pillow to rest your head on in the central valley.

Stop browsing and book already : )

J.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I don't even know where to start my praise with this hotel. I have stayed at many hotels but this by far was my favorite hotel with the best service I have ever received.Great, Great Rates!! We arrived a few hours early and was greeted by the owner Meranda and my precious baby Candy (Owner well behaved wonderful dog). We decided to go to the mall while we waited for our room. Meranda let us keep our bags in the front and called us a cab. Our room was super clean and very nice. The grounds were beautiful. The view is stunning. The food was wonderful and always served fast with a smile. The owners are just wonderful and very helpful. I have never in my life received that kind of service in any hotel I have ever stayed at. They arranged taxi's, tours, etc...They even went as far as to order take out for us and gave us great ideas for places to eat and go. I had some dental work done and I forgot my money for the return taxi, and instead of walking back to the hotel (10mins) Miranda the owner came and picked me up!!! What other hotel does that! Meranda and Matteo help you plan every detail of the trip, even the small things to make your trip relaxing, fun, easy, and pleasant. We cant thank you guys enough. We can't wait to return and this is now our home away from home!

P.S. We miss you already Candy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermatt, Owner at Out of Bounds Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hi Serena and Jay,

What a review, we really appreciate it! It was my pleasure helping you, its what I like to do:) Your teeth look great by the way!! We are hoping for you all to come back again, maybe with the boys next time.

Candy is already missing you...she went to the room looking for you already hehe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Out of Bounds hotel for a week during a trip to San Jose. We are thinking about moving to Costa Rica so Meranda & Matteo were extremely helpful in pointing us around the city. The hotel is a very cozy and relaxed atmosphere. The room was great and was perfect for us. And you can't beat having a wonderful breakfast up on the patio looking out over the San Jose landscape. We look forward to our next stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Out of Bounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out of Bounds Hotel

Address: 1 km West of Commercial Paco, Old Road to Santa Ana | In front of Restaurant Taj Mahal, Escazu, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Out of Bounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What better description than the ones our guests have left here. We are a small boutique hotel where comfort and hospitality are #1, operated by the owners to ensure the best service is given. Our ideal location is a plus, within walking distance to shopping centers, supermarkets, restaurants and more. Take in the amaizng Views of 3 Volcanos and the Valley while eating your Free Breakfast. Free Wifi and calls to Canada and the USA included. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Out of Bounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Out Of Bounds Hotel Costa Rica/Escazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Out of Bounds Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.