We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Verde Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Verde Inn to your Saves list
Costa Verde Inn
San Jose | Escazu, Barrio La Rosa Linda, Escazu 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Escazu B&B and Inns
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This place was amazing. We stayed in the bunglaow. It is two rooms joined by a balcony, with a kitchenette. It was so beautiful. We could see the beach and the jungle from our room. There were always monkeys and a sloth just feel from the balcony. The rooms were very large and comfortable. We had 2 adults and 6 kids with us and had more than enough room. Very private as this room is separated from the rest of the hotel. Do to the separation you had to walk or get the shuttle to go to the pools or the restaurant but we loved being away from all the other guests. It is still close to the road but it really was not a problem. The staff was friendly and spoke English very well. The price was very reasonable for the amazing accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    34
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
27
34
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We only stayed one night to catch our flight the next day. The Inn is nicely situated, just 30 min drive from the airport, and when we visit Costa Rica again, we would have no reservations to staying there again.
The grounds are nicely maintained, and the room we stayed in was very good. We particularly liked the natural stonework in the bathroom.
Staff was very helpful and we liked the fact that they were willing to help order in some food for us and also that there were refreshments in the lobby area.
They were also very helpful in pointing out local restaurants we could walk to if we chose.
We did not use the pool or jacuzzi, so cannot comment on them. However, this inn seems to be popular with lots of repeat visitors as there was a school group overnighting there on their way to a tour, and several of the people who were there, had stayed in the inn previously.
Breakfast was good, and the dining area is comfortable and well managed.
Transfer to the airport was on time and the driver knew exactly where he was going.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here with small children and it was a really comfortable room with a small basic kitchen, comfy beds and big armchairs and a place to sit out on the spacious balcony. The kids enjoyed the pool. The breakfast is cooked to order, and you get a good serving of fresh tropical fruit, eggs, toast and beans and rice. The staff are really friendly and we met quite a few other guests as people seemed to chat in the dining area.

We didn't have a rental car, but we were able to walk down into downtown Escazu to buy groceries and to eat out (the hotel dining room only serves breakfast). If you arrive late at night (as we did), I recommend stopping to pick up any groceries you need urgently on the way there. The only thing complimentary in the room was coffee, but there was no milk, nothing else to drink but tap water, and no snacks or anything, and the office and kitchen were all closed.

Room Tip: Worth getting one with a kitchen unless you have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am a Dental Hygienist from New Mexico and I owned my own Holistic dental hygiene practice there for 10 years. I have been promoting Dental Tourism to Costa Rica for the past 3 years and have had many clients stay at the Costa Verde Inn and for a $60. a night room, it is clean, friendly, speaks English, has a tour bus and airport shuttle service for $30. ( this is the same as you would pay a cab, but the driver is there with your name on a sign and knows where he is going) The girls that cook breakfast are wonderfully friendly and good cooks. The rooms are clean but simple and the pool is very inviting especially during the dry season, a refreshing way to escape the heat.
I work with 3 dentists in the San Jose area and I know quite a few good restuarants in this area as well. I personally spend most of my time at the beach when I am not in Escazu/San Jose with a client. Pura Vida - Pure Life

Room Tip: If you are into paying a little more, $75. per night you can get a 1 bedroom apartment with an aweso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Costa Verde Inn from April 8-16.
Our room was huge, had its own kitchen with fridge and microwave and everything you need.
Staff is really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was made fresh for us every morning and was delicious. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: there are also rooms with a patio, I would like one of those next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We chose this place on the basis of Trip Advisor recommendations, but did not find it to be anywhere near as good as we expected from reading other reviews. The rooms have multiple beds, as in a hostel. There were many insects in both our rooms, including a cockroach. It made us worry about what we might be bringing back into the US in our clothes and suitcases. We did find bugs in our suitcases. The breakfast was OK - cold eggs (they had been sitting out for quite a while) and rice and beans with some fruit. Coffee, but no tea for those of us who are tea drinkers. The hot tub could, at best, hold two very friendly people. It probably holds the record for the smallest hot tub. It is within walking distance of the town center, as advertised, but what they don't tell you is that the town center is not where the restaurants are. The restaurants are not at all within walking distance (other than Snoopy's Bar which we did not investigate).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Nice clean room, very spacious and comfortable. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and is a nice quiet setting considering it's closeness to San Jose. Fantastic breakfast and wonderfully helpful staff that speak both Spanish and English. Will definitely return! A bit difficult to locate, but well worth finding!

Room Tip: Unit 15 has a spectacular night view of the city with a gorgeous little private balcony! It is on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Verde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Verde Inn

Address: San Jose | Escazu, Barrio La Rosa Linda, Escazu 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace and comfort, at the edge of San Jose - but high above all the traffic and crowds...In fine Costa Rican tradition, we can honestly say: My House Is Your House . . . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Costa Verde Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel Escazu
Costa Verde Inn Costa Rica/Escazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Verde Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.