We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Variety and good ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Market

The Market
Real InterContinental Costa Rica, frente al centro comercial Multiplaza, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica
+506 2208 2100
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 104 Restaurants in Escazu
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Contemporary, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Always open, always delicious. Promising quality and affordability, The Market is open 24 hours for breakfast, lunch, dinner and late-night dining. You can build your own sandwich, pasta, pizza or gourmet burger. A large selection of salads, Carpaccio and ceviche is also available. The beautiful terrace overlooking our pool and gardens is perfect to enjoy it around the clock. The modern ambiance and lively exhibition kitchen are the perks of this new concept restaurant.
La Paz, Bolivia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Variety and good ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

They have good food and I enjoy their burger very much!!! They seem to always have a small issue with the delivery. Either once the fries were a little cold or they forgot. But, they always fix it and they seem to be very professional about making it right.
The place is nice and its a cool place to eat!

It is a little pricey to eat a Hamburger or their other items but it is also the InterContinental Hotel so I´m sure people are willing to pay the extra $3 - 4. They do have a good variety of food for other tastes and they prepare it in any combination that you want. Pastas, Sandwiches, Pizzas, etc...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at The Market, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Gabstercrbol, I do appreciate your constructive review, rest assure that our Executive Chef will take your comments in order to improve those issues that shouldn’t occur in our Kitchen. Not sure if you already tried our Lamb Burger, Thank you, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    23
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hotel food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great variety , but still just hotel food + terrible service
Only the salads are quick, because thy are self service

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at The Market, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear AdrianpsgS, we regret that our food quality did not meet your expectations and is considered average for you. We appreciate if you can reach our Food & Beverage Manager (manuel.sierra@r-hr.com) and provide additional details of your experience with him. Thank you, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I come to the intercontinental often and this is the last time I come here! Great idea with build your own etc, but the food sucks! Poor wait staff and the tables and floors are dirty. My pizza was terrible! It was raw and the waiter told me it was suppose to be raw... Ok!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at The Market, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear cabobunny, we are sorry to hear that our food is not up to your standards, we hope you can dine again with us and give us further details of your experience or you can reach our Food & Beverage Manager at manuel.sierra@r-hr.com. Thank you, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, Georgia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“They can create just about anything you can think of in this "build your own meal" restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We ate dinner here after a long day of excursions. We were tired, cranky, and hungry. They seated us right away and explained how the menu worked. You can select everything to go on your pizza, pasta, salad, sandwich, or hamburger. My husband and I split a burger and flatbread pizza. We devoured our food while enjoying the beautiful atmosphere of the restaurant.

We also had the breakfast buffet here the following day. We were able to sit outside and enjoy a leisurely breakfast and cup of Costa Rican coffee on our last morning there.

While this is not the cheapest option, it was convenient and the food did not disappoint!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at The Market, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Moochelle1, The Market Restaurant has a unique concept which we are proud of where we always must provide the best options with high quality ingredients to please the palate of sophisticated customers like and your husband. We hope you enjoyed your time in Costa Rica and we look forward to welcome you back. Sincerely, Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
“Great food at any hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I started visiting the market because it was such a beautifull place but later i realized hoy excelente the food is. I have been like 8 times and all of them have been great. The pizza is not my favorite but i did love the pastas and main dishes. The best part its open 24 hours, thats something we dont have much in CR

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at The Market, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Foodandwinenthusiast, thank you for been such a loyal customer to our Restaurant we will appreciate next time you stop by to meet one of our Restaurant Captains or our Director of Food & Beverage, Manuel, in order to determine your Pizza preferences. Sincerely, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Market also viewed

Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 

Been to The Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.