We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada El Quijote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Posada El Quijote to your Saves list
Posada El Quijote
Bello Horizonte | Escazu, Escazu, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Escazu
Quitman, Texas
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

Just wanted to add our compliments about the hotel and staff to the many others. Stayed there on 3/25 and 4/2 at the beginning and end of our trip. Dick visited with us at length on our first day about restaurant suggestions and tips for navigating the country on our own. The restaurant (Le Monastere) was a perfect suggestion to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. His personal touch really made our visit a positive one! Alcides and Maria were very helpful, the breakfasts were the best, and Max and Sophie were the perfect complement to make this stylish inn feel like home. Had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    21
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
29
53
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

Six of us stayed at Posada El Quijote and we loved it! The Staff were very friendly and helpful (Thank you Alcides for everything and a special Thank You to the wonderful cooks for the yummy breakfasts!). We stayed in the superior room which has a large bathroom with two sinks and a door to the gardens in the back . Every morning we woke up to a wonderful breakfast. The lounge/living room area is very peaceful to sit in and have a cup of coffee or just stare out the large picture window overlooking gardens and the city of San Jose. The entire place is clean and the area is very safe. The bus is on the corner near the Inn and it's a 20 minute ride to San Jose. The garden is very well kept and maintained. We took a taxi only once and only because the last bus had already come (they stop running to the hotel area after 9pm on the weekends). They booked our tour to "the old town" for the typical dance show and dinner. I don’t remember the name, we enjoyed it, but since it is in the evening, you can't really enjoy the rest of the town in the dark. I would ask if they can pick you up a bit earlier so you can walk around. We also did a tour to Britt coffee plantation and we had a wonderful time. We also went to the Museo de Oro Pre-Colombino and had fun....Hello Max and Sophia!

TIP: although we had a wonderful time at Britt, I would find out how much a round-trip taxi ride costs and how much the entrance fee is at the time. It might make sense to do your own day trip for a lower total cost.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

My wife and I were on a 1 week honeymoon in beautiful Costa Rica and needed a place to stay as a "hub" for when we were in Costa Rica between our destinations throughout the country. We chose Posada El Quijote because of its location outside of San Jose and its excellent reviews. This country inn definitely met all of the expectations we had after these reviews. The staff was EXTREMELY helpful with our trip planning from ordering breakfast earlier because of an early departure, to telling us about an ox-cart festival on the morning before we left (thanks Jose, we would have never known!). When we were in Drake Bay, I forgot to tell the staff that we needed a taxi pickup at the airport, but I sent them an email on my phone, and they responded within 2 hours and had everything set up for the next day. The rooms there are very spacious, had all the amenities we needed, and were a great place to relax before the next trip. I definitely recommend staying here if you are in San Jose as it is safe, fun, and the staff is so friendly and accomodating!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

Lovely, quiet, clean, nice big rooms, great breakfast and really really helpful staff. This place would be a 5 out of 5 if it wasn't for its location. Nice surburb of Son Jose but if you don't have a car you have to get taxis everywhere. This for us was slightly annoying.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

My sister and I enjoyed a wonderful couple of days at the Posada El Quijote in Escazú. Since the Posada is perched high above San José, the views are breathtaking no matter what time of day. We chose a deluxe room with a private patio overlooking the city and the mountains in the distance. Our room was spotless and comfortable with a spacious bathroom, two sinks! The common rooms, sitting areas, library, etc. are tastefully decorated with Spanish art as the name El Quijote would imply. There is no restaurant on site, but the staff was more than willing to help with dining suggestions. José, Alcides and María helped arrange transportation and reservations for anything we wanted to do in the area. Rafting was a highlight, and lucky for us, the annual Oxcart Festival was held while we were there ... a wonderful slice of Costa Rican tradition that we will always remember.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatchewan, canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

We stayed at Posada for 2 nights at the end of January at the beginning of our Costa Rica holiday. It set the pace for the rest of our week. The people of Costa Rica are genuinely friendly and caring, whether they be native to the country or transplanted from elsewhere. We found this B&B much to our liking. It's a lovely home that has been graciously opened up to visitors. The grounds are spectacular and the best way to start the day was to take a cup of coffee out to the wonderful deck and sit on a lounge chair absorbing the warm sun, beautiful gardens and the sound of birds. Our room was very comfortable and quiet--we were downstairs--and had a door to the outside, revealing a tiny private patio. Breakfast each morning was deliciously prepared and graciously served. We enjoyed visiting in the living room in the evenings with other guests, some of whom were return visitors to Posada. The honor system for bar drinks and snacks speaks to the respect and trust that the owners have for their guests. How refreshing!
Thankyou, Claudia and Dick, for having us as your guests and for treating us so well!

Jan and Steve Hyde
Sk., Canada

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

Let's face, we all have to fly into San Jose. It's not a destination city like Paris, Rome, New York, Chicago, Buenos Aires, etc. So, what do you do? If you've rented a car, you'll be warned about where to park it. Plus, it's tough navigating the streets since there's no street signs. Well, the solution is easy. Stay in Escazu at the Posada el Quijote. It is up on the side of a foothill or mountain overlooking San Jose. It was remarkably easy to find despite the lack of street signage. It's about 30 minutes from the airport - most of it by highway. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. We got in at about 1 AM and they waited up for us. This is set up like a bed and breakfast with a living room, sitting area, and dining area. The whole place has a sort of Latin American 1970's charm. The good parts of the 70's. Everything is neat and clean but ever so slightly faded. We felt were in a bit of a time warp - but not in a bad way. They have a cute little honor bar in the main dining room which was a nice touch. We were tired but it was nice to have a drink to unwind after all the traveling before we went to bed. The breakfast in the morning was a choice of American (bacon and eggs) or Costa Rican (eggs, beans with rice, sausage, fruit, salsa). It was tasty but nothing to get up and dance about. What was nice is that we were able to sit out on their lovely terrace and have our coffee and tea. The hotel's dog joined us for some sunning. The terrace overlooks San Jose, the mountains, and a nice little walled garden planted with tropical flowers. Quite enjoyable.
They have parking but it's really tight for a 4 x 4 (we had rented one for the rest of our trip to La Cusinga Ecolodge in Uvita). Be prepared for folding in your mirrors and taking your luggage out before you park.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada El Quijote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada El Quijote

Address: Bello Horizonte | Escazu, Escazu, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Escazu
#1 Best Value Hotel in Escazu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#6 Business Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada El Quijote is a Spanish colonial inn set against a backdrop of spectacular views of Costa Rica's central valley and the city of San Jose.Situated atop the first hill 3.5 miles from the city center, Posada El Quijote is far enough to be in a comfortable country setting, free from the congestion and noise of the capitol, but close enough to enjoy easy access to the city and its facilities. The recently refurbished hotel, with a history dating back to 1994, offers an alternative to the large hotel chains that have recently established themselves in the area; Large enough to accomodate groups, but small enough to offer a very homely, relaxed and personal atmosphere. The staff (and onsite owners) are always prepared to provide their best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Posada El Quijote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Quijote Escazu
Posada El Quijote Hotel Escazu
Posada El Quijote Costa Rica/Escazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada El Quijote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.