We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic getaway in the Heart of the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall to your Saves list
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Prospero Fernandez Highway | in front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Escazu
Statesville, NC
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway in the Heart of the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is yet another Intercontinental that really becomes the centerpiece of the city. With an outstanding lobby (at Christmas, they put up a 40 foot all tree!) with a nice casual bar to the three restaurants (all great!) to the infinity pool, this is an awesome place to visit. They've completed renovations to add a new wing to the hotel that includes a wonderful spa.

Service is nothing less than to be expected - from the sit down desk at check in (for those of us Ambassadors) to the very well appointed rooms and the complimentary snacks & cocktail bar overlooking the pool.

In 20 visits, NEVER a complaint - this has become our starting and ending spot every time we go to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: If you are not an IHG Ambassador, I'd suggest you sign up before you visit. Most rooms overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear DMSterling, I am speechless after reading your review, you not only know every detail of our service and product but you are also familiar with our traditions, it’s priceless… We hope to host you not 20 but 100 more times. Thank you, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    179
    49
    27
    25
See reviews for
72
152
36
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My god, I loved this hotel. It's just lovely. Great service, good food, beautiful pool, nice rooms. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Little pricey, but you're sitting in the lap of luxury, and Costa Rica isn't a cheap country.

Room Tip: try to get one overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Nicole B, we are in love with you after this review, thank you and come back soon,it will be our pleasure to spoil you once again. Regards, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was an exceptional holiday weekend experience. The food at The Market and Nau restaurants was superb and the service was fantastic. I was able to take advantage of the spa and club tower amenities as well as valet parking. My suite was very nice and the bed was so comfortable. I have to travel back to Escazu at the end of the week and I will definitely check into the Intercontinental. This hotel is an amazing hotel that everyone should experience.

Room Tip: Select the club tower options for additional amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear 4lizz2, I’m speechless after such great review. Thank you and we look forward to welcome you back many more times. Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is just wonderful. The lobby is open, welcoming, overlooking the interior pool and gardens. Our room was perfect, not one detail overlooked. I am picky! We just had breakfast in The Market restaurant on the terrace. Our server Fernando Alverez greeted us with the most beautiful smile and service was excellent. We also had dinner at the steak house on the property last night. Julio, our server, was also excellent. We are looking forward to another wonderful night here before heading back to the beach in Tamarindo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Diane L, thank you for choosing us as your preferred location during this weekend getaway; it is great to know you experienced our high class service and product. I’ll definitely pass your review to Fernando and Julio. We look forward to welcome you back, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is easily one of the worst high end hotels that I have stayed in. The quality and service level that I encountered was diametrically opposed to this hotel's positioning. Behind the impressive external appearance of this property was a generally poorly trained staff, under maintained facilities, and low standard of excellence. To provide a few examples, the bathroom fan in my room literally roared. It sounded like it was ready to quit any time. My colleague reported the same for his room. Upon checking in at 10:30 pm, I tried to call room service for 30 mins straight and there was no answer. I called the front desk for help, and they said they would "leave a message" for room service to call me back. No one called. I finally had to go down to the restaurant to order the food myself. The waiter grudgingly took my order, and it would be almost another hour before I saw my food, after I called twice to follow up. All told, it took me 2 hours to get my food. Breakfast service in the hotel restaurant The Market was no better. Dirty tables and uncoordinated wait staff were the norm. Then, when checking out, we were told that the printers were down and we couldn't get our printed invoices. It was overall a very poor experience. I would definitely stay elsewhere on my next business trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Siyuen, I am extremely sorry for all the opportunities you encountered during this short business visit, these are great examples for our staff to improve their service levels. We would like to welcome you back reason why I ask you to contact directly our Director of Rooms, Ernesto Carrero (ernesto.carrero@r-hr.com) should you decide to give us a second chance. Thank you, Ramon Diago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We got in late and had to leave early but thought the hotel was beautiful and clean. Comfortable beds and good food. The club level has a nice lounge with a good happy hour with FREE drinks and food. The pool area is large, but the jacuzzi was just ok. We didn't get to the spa, but it looks luxurious. Our only negative was that it was quite expensive for comparable hotels we have visited for a basic hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear LouiseSun, I understand your concern about the cost of our services, specially as your accommodations were located in our Club Tower where we also have our Executive Lounge with all its perks. Thank you for your review, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have absolutely no complaints of this hotel. The rooms are spacious, a good standard. Breakfast is really great with a good choice on the buffet, also had dinner which was also very good. Staff are very friendly and attentive, sometimes there can be a queue at the reception though. Also the hotel is very accommodating for our upcoming event - very helpful and flexible in all areas. Highly recommended!

Also there is a huge shopping mall as well as other restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Philipp_J1968, we understand we cannot be perfect but we do our best to provide the best, your review is full of positive comments reason why we even appreciate your feedback about the front desk delays more. Best regards, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall

Address: Prospero Fernandez Highway | in front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Escazu
#2 Spa Hotel in Escazu
#5 Family Hotel in Escazu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally positioned for business or leisure, discover an urban retreat in the heart of Escazú. Adjacent to the city’s most prestigious shopping mall with 365 stores, bars and restaurants and to Escazú Corporate Center. This San José, Costa Rica hotel features the hottest concepts in entertainment and dining, including 2 outdoor pools in landscaped gardens, the largest urban spa in Central America and 4 unique concept restaurants, The Market, Factory Steak & Lobster, NAU and Alfredo Trattoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Hotel And Club Tower Costa Rica
Intercontinental Hotel Escazu
Real Costa Rica Intercontinental
Real InterContinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall Escazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.