We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall to your Saves list
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Prospero Fernandez Highway | in front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very nice hotel with several restaurants, a spa, gym, multiple pools and a bar. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable and always happy to help us. We spent one night there and slept great - good pillows and mattresses. The location is a bit out of the way, but there is a mall nearby. It's a bit pricey, but for this kind of service and accommodations it is expected. The only complaint is it's hard to get around in the hotel. The spa and gym are in separate buildings, the rooms are in another.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Merlin C, we appreciate your nice comments and we look forward for a longer visit next time you come to Costa Rica. Thank you, Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    243
    70
    33
    32
See reviews for
102
211
50
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

21 day business trip. Very nice location to shops and restaurants as well as airport. Beautiful grounds and the hotel restaurants food and service are top notch. Unfortunately my experience with this hotel is poor. The reservationist misspelled my name which created a problem anytime i wanted to put a service charge(food etc..) on my room account. "Front desk cant make corrections to reservations."The room i checked into has rust colored water in shower and then the air-condition unit was pouring water out of ceiling which resulted in the maintenance guy repairing it at 1am !! and then again at 7am!! Finally after no shower and a sleepless night the manager moved me to another room. However the bath tub didn't drain and the toilet leeks.. After several calls and visits to the front desk including the front end manager still no resolve. Totally disappointed and will not stay here on future visits to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Many rooms overlook the beautiful pool area. I would recommend the Double Tree Hotel. The staff actu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear David G, I sincerely apologize for the lack of follow-up of my staff along with the condition of your room. I highly appreciate if you can forward your contact information in order to discuss further the opportunities you faced during your long stay in our Hotel. Sincerely, Ramon Diago (ramon.diago@r-hr.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Great place but I been a regular stayer (more than 60 nights per year) its hard for me to believe that they still don't know my room preferences or my payment methods.
The new tower is very nice, but the older part even dirty water had come out of the showers at least on 3 of my stays. Also in the site that you wait for elevators that take you upstairs in the old part, there is huge (seems like water damage) stain on the ceiling that has been there for more than a year....
All the issues before i have pointed out to staff but don't see any action taken.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Juan A, please accept our most sincere apologies for the lack of quality of service from our staff, I kindly ask you to send your contact information to my Rooms Division Manager, Ernesto Carrero (ernesto.carrero@r-hr.com) in order to obtain more details about these opportunities. Thank you, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in the past and recently a couple of weeks ago. Actually I was checking out these and other hotels for a future company event.
This could be the hotel for you or might not be depending on what you like. This hotel is very business like crowded and with a busy Lobby. Traffic could be an issue to get to the airport and other areas of San Jose. If you like a quiet hotel, more tourist or resort like, this is not the hotel for you. You have other options for this in San Jose, with better pool area and amenities.

Room rates are higher than other comparable hotels in the San Jose area may offer the same or better amenities at a lowe price. I guess location is the reason across the street from the Megaplaza mall. At the same time this location could be a nightmare due to the traffic from and to Escazu. Especially if you need to get and arrive from the airport. Other hotels are closer to the airport. I do not think locations justify the higher price since the hotel shows lots of signs of deterioration

At first look, the hotel looks nice if you look at the lobby the 5 restaurants and pool area, but if you look more closely, the hotel does show signs of deterioration. Furniture already shows wear and tear, and even dirty. You can see this on the desk, headboard, night stands, chairs. Curtains are losing color, carpets throughout are showing wear and tear. I stayed on room on the fourth floor towards the floor of the building and I could not sleep well since there was a banging metal noise on and off coming from the outside wall. The bed was not the best and I for me bed should be the best if you are staying at a 5 stars hotel.

Service is ok, but could be better. I requested a late check out. They charge you 50% of rate if you if you check out before 5:00pm. That is ok with me, some hotels do charge some hotels do not charge and make is as a courtesy when it is a corporate rate, but since I call and requested the late check out and agreed to the charge, did not expect to get two calls to ask if I was checking out. It felt like they wanted me out of the room even when I already paid the late check out fee.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor and towards the back of the bulding
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear ericucho n, thank you once again for your separate feedbacks about our Hotel and the Restaurant The Market, it is extremely concerning for me all points brought on your reviews. I highly appreciate if you can forward your contact information at your earliest convenience in order to discuss further personally. Sincerely, Ramon (ramon.diago@r-hr.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Boasting of several restaurants, you wont starve in this hotel. Choices range from sushi, steak, seafood, and the local cuisine.

The outdoor swimming pools are suitably temperature controlled but be ready for people gazing at you in your swimmers as the restos are lined surrounding the pools.

Visit the gym and save time for spa afterwards, it will be worth it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Yogad2003, good to know you have the opportunity not to only enjoy our restaurants but also our different relaxing areas in the Hotel. Thank you, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TExas, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed for two nights as part of a Caravan tour and as such it was a fantastic value -- I could not believe I was staying in the same hotel as the US President. (All the security was a little surreal, like in a movie, with men standing on tall nearby buildings and all around various settings.)

But it was two specific things that made the experience great:

1) The pool is amazing and much better than it looks (even though it looks great). The water is warm, there is music of good quality piped in so subtly that it is almost below hearing level (normally I detest ambient music), and swimming around is one of the best pool experiences I have ever had (a strong wind added to the experience where I originally thought it would detract). Don't miss swimming in the pool if you can possibly help it!

2) The beds are incredibly comfortable and were a huge factor in enjoying the stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Annette P, who would expect having such thrilled experience along with your vacation with Caravan Tours? We are proud of our pool area as it the main atraction of our grounds. Thank you for your review, Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa.Fl
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel was included I the Caravan Tour and my party of four really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were plush, the staff was always smiling, greeting you and generally very pleasant to deal with. There is a nice bar/lounge off the lobby that has a cold assortment of beer/wine/coffees and cocktails...for some reason most of the seating is for three but the chairs can be moved to suit. The restaurant has hand tossed fresh pizza which I thought was unusual until it was explained that Italians were some of the first emigrants to help with the rail system therefore pasta and such are widely served. The buffet breakfast is plentiful, pleasing and look for the pastry section..you will be glad you did. I get up early and going outside with my coffee I saw parrots in the trees and also look outside around 5pm as they return. The grounds of this hotel are well maintained and very pleasing to walk around and the pools were getting a lot of use in the afternoon. A meeting of several "heads of state" was scheduled later on in the week and rumor was some were staying here. there is a shopping mall directly across the street with a pedestrian bridge to get across the street. We had a memorable stay here and I would definitely stay here again. Rooms were quiet, AC worked well, bathrooms were very nice with large luxury towels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear FISandy, we are glad to have made your stay more memorable of what you expected, Caravan Tours is one of our top clients and they choose our facilities due to the quality levels of our services and products. Reason why we are also the preferred location for many international delegations that visit Costa Rica. Thank you, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.2 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
4.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
#34 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall

Address: Prospero Fernandez Highway | in front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Escazu
#3 Business Hotel in Escazu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally positioned for business or leisure, discover an urban retreat in the heart of Escazu. Adjacent to the city's most prestigious shopping mall with 365 stores, bars and restaurants and to Escazu Corporate Center. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the hottest concepts in entertainment and dining, including 2 outdoor pools in landscaped gardens, the largest urban spa in Central America and 4 unique concept restaurants, The Market, Factory Steak & Lobster, NAU and Alfredo Trattoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Hotel And Club Tower Costa Rica
Intercontinental Hotel Escazu
Real Costa Rica Intercontinental
Real InterContinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall Escazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.