We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but over priced.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall to your Saves list
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Prospero Fernandez Highway | in front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Escazu
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice but over priced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Was part of a tour group, so did no make my own booking, but found the hotel to be typical of overpriced chains. The food we were served was nothing special, although breakfast was nice, but not much above the quality of a budget chain. Rooms were fine but nothing special. Once again, upscale hotels seem to think overcharging for internet makes sense - it doesn't to me. Huge mall across the street - especially with a hugh modern supermarket, helped bring costs in line. Pool area was beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear DoDDSTravellingteach, We regret to know that you think our hotel is overpriced; we always look to be competitive while we provide the best, reason why Tour Operators choose our Hotel for their important groups. Thank you, Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    180
    49
    27
    26
See reviews for
73
153
36
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is the place to stay. It is located in the best neighborhood right across the street from one of the nicest malls (Multi Plaza)in Costa Rica. Easy access to Down Town, the beaches or anywhere you want to go. Some of the best restaurants in the country you will find in Escazu or next door in Santa Ana.

One very important tip would be the two towers. The old and the new. Whats the difference the old is a 4star and the new is a 5star. Thats as simple as I can put it. Do what you can to get into the new tower(spa tower) its worth it. As stated above the location is perfect. The 4 main restaurants are all fantastic. You have a Sushi restaurant which is the 2nd best sushi in the city behind Suhsi Kai (lindora). Then you have an italian place which is top 5 Italian in city (expensive).The steak house (factory) which has incredible Kobe burgers and Steaks. I would rank it 3rd behind Esquina de Buenos aires (Down Town) and Novillo Alegre (Lindora or Escazu). The other restaurant is open 24 hours and its THE MARKET Restaurant. They just completely redid it so its real nice especially for late night munchies etc. Its basically the room service menu with some build your own option for pizzas and sandwiches. It can be very slow so avoid when busy if possible. The Bar at the hotel to me is the best part. Great for people watching and enjoying a drink. I sometimes ask for a restaurant menu and eat my food at the bar.

The hotel has some construction going on expanding the conference area. Did not affect me what so ever in the new tower do not know about noise in other tower. This is a very enjoyable hotel and highly recommend it for any type of visit. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Spa tower high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Vatsmia, it is impressive the local knowledge you have of the area along with the restaurant comparison you are able to share, thank you for keeping us among the best, comments like yours compromise ourselves even more to be number one on your list. Thank you, Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I booked this hotel for my wife and daughter who were traveling to Costa Rica for a dental treatment. This hotel was in the area of Escazu where the procedure would be done, so I thought a "nice" resort like this would be good.
After researching the hotel, and reading the reviews on this page, I felt like I had a good spot where they could stay in one place, have breakfast in the morning, hordourves at night and just relax by the pool, but I was SO disappointed when they got back.

While they were booked for a "club tower" room, which provided the complimentary breakfast and hordourves and drinks in the evening, they were NOT put on the floor - OR they were not informed. It was a very stressful trip for my wife, so when I asked her about her breakfast in the morning, she told me they never had it. She said the room was fine, and they had a view of the room, but I asked her, weren't you put on the floor where you could have the complimentary breakfast and hordourves at night? She said no - and no one said anything to her about it when they checked in.

She did receive a small discount because she was a flight attendant - so perhaps the front desk just put her somewhere in the tower, but I still had the pay the bill and they didn't get what they paid for.

They are traveling back again to finish their procedures again in a couple of months and there is NO WAY we would recommend the hotel. At this point, you question if this hotel is simply ripping people off.

Room Tip: Make sure when you book a specific room - BEFORE you check in - you inquire about all the amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear defore4735, please accept my most sincere apologies on behalf of my team for not delivering to your family what they were booked for. I do appreciate if you can reach me at your earliest convenience in order to get more details about these opportunities. Sincerely, Ramon Diago (ramon.diago@r-hr.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This Hotel made all the efforts possible to make us feel at home. The room was exquisite and the Hotel was in great condition with all amenities beyond par. The staff went far out of their way to resolve problems and answer questions to help us function in the city. The steak house was wonderful and the Cafe breakfast was wonderful. This Hotel is well worth the break from a long day of traveling.

Room Tip: All rooms good but try for 5th floor the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Princesscruisers, it was our pleasure to host you during your time in Costa Rica, our staff gives the best of its efforts in order to pamper every guests who comes to our Hotel. Thank you, Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Straight off the plane to a fantastic hotel that was the start of our 14 day cruise/tour. The whole experience from check in to check out was great. The staff were a credit to their company, beer was ice cold and welcoming, the room and in particular the bed was comfort perfection and the breakfast in the Market restaurant was better than splendid.
If you're coming off a flight or got a couple of nights free until you depart you just have to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear The_Brown_Bottle, how rewarding is to know that the beginning of your tour/cruise started so well in our Hotel, we hope you enjoy the rest as well. Please accept our most sincere gratitude and we look forward to welcome you back shortly. Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on business in Jan. Excellent hotel grounds and room was large. The bathrooms were all updated and beautiful. The restaurant s in the hotel were very good. Alfredos and the steak house were really good. Even breakfast was good. One advantage to non Spanish speaking guests is that the hotel will setup cab pickups each and every day to the business offices. The hotel was a good 15 minute cab ride to the business district. Overall the hotel made you feel very much like home. I only wish we were closer to the beautiful beaches instead of2 hours away.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear zippy166, we are glad to know that even though you came on business you were able to relax and enjoy the facilities of our property. We look forward to welcome you back during your vacation time as well so you can enjoy the beauty of the beaches in Costa Rica. Thank you, Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Tower in a beautiful sparkling clean corner room. Staff incredibly pleasant & helpful. The hotel is spotless very well maintained. The lobby bar very social & Rosa very attentive a real asset to the hotel. The only shortcoming was restaurant Alfredo my choice was awful the waiter did his best. I was a little surprised that an exceptionally well run Hotel missed on a quote gourmet restaurant. We're returning on next Wednesday we'll give it another try.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_Diago, Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear don51644, Our Zambra Bar Waitress Rosa was thrilled to hear about your great review about the Hotel and the staff, be advised that next month we are re designing our Restaurant Alfredo's with different decor and new menu. We look forward to welcome you back, Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall

Address: Prospero Fernandez Highway | in front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Escazu
#2 Spa Hotel in Escazu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#5 Family Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally positioned for business or leisure, discover an urban retreat in the heart of Escazú. Adjacent to the city’s most prestigious shopping mall with 365 stores, bars and restaurants and to Escazú Corporate Center. This San José, Costa Rica hotel features the hottest concepts in entertainment and dining, including 2 outdoor pools in landscaped gardens, the largest urban spa in Central America and 4 unique concept restaurants, The Market, Factory Steak & Lobster, NAU and Alfredo Trattoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Hotel And Club Tower Costa Rica
Intercontinental Hotel Escazu
Real Costa Rica Intercontinental
Real InterContinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall Escazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.