We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Autopista Prospero Fernandez | Carretera Marginal Norte, Plaza Itskatzu, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Escazu
usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2006

Great Place! Close to the mall. Clean rooms. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    110
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
38
43
21
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2006

Convenient suburban location. Try for the weekend special with breakfast. Breakfast buffet had wide variety. Walking distance to shops and restaurants including small locally owned ones and Hooters and Outback. $1 taxi ride to Multiplaza mall with movie theatres and shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2006

We stayed our first night in Costa Rica and our last night in Costa Rica. On our first night we had been travelling for almost 30 hours by the time we got to the hotel. It was 2:30 in the morning but the staff were on hand and gave us a warm welcome. They could tell we were tired and checked us in and got us to our rooms quickly and without bother. The rooms are wonderful. The beds are huge (King size and six pillows ). The covers are so fluffy and comfy we fell asleep instantly. The shampoo and soaps are top quality and is the in room coffee and tea. It's all these little touches that make it special. The staff were very helpful and went out of there way to help us. They were friendly and capable. The bar and restaurants were good and we had a dinner via room service which was excellent and on our last day we had an early flight so arranged for room service breakfast for 5 am which was very good. The express check out is quick and stress free and the airport pick up/drop off service made life easy. It's not cheap but you do feel like you are getting a lot for your money compared to somewhere like Tabacon.

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — the price
  • Tips/Secrets — Great for a first night or last night stay in Cost Rica
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2006

Sorry to disagree with other reviewers, but I was at this hotel on a business trip and I would never return. Nothing worked: TV, internet, safe, AC. Trying to receive or send a fax was a virtual impossibility and the volume of traffic makes it difficult to get in or out of town for meetings on time.

Also, as is frequently the case with Marriot, no Marriot Rewards points posted. Won't be back!

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 190 cities Reviews in 190 cities
590 helpful votes 590 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2006

My wife and I stayed here three nights in January/February 2006. There are several Marriott properties in the area and this is the one located just off the main highway about 20 minutes from the airport (free shuttle) and about the same distance to downtown San Jose. The residential area surrounding it is new and middle class, as evidenced by the adjacent shopping mall with about seven very nice restaurants (try Tapas Manuel), and the very modern and large mall on the other side of the highway (taxis will take you between the hotel and mall for $1). Although the hotel is some distance from downtown, taxis will take you for a set price of $10. Most visitors don’t find much advantage to staying downtown anyway (if you do, consider the Sleep Inn, which is very reasonable, new, and has a good location).

The hotel itself is modern, well-equipped, and very comfortable – just what you would expect from a Marriott. The rooms are large, nicely furnished with a desk, tv, a.c., and a large, well-lit bathroom with plenty of counterspace. The lobby area is attractive and has a comfortable sitting area. Adjacent to lobby is the restaurant area where a buffet breakfast (a bit pricey but very good) is served. There is also a business center with internet access, a small pool, laundry facilities, and a work-out room. The front desk personnel were very efficient, friendly, and spoke good English.

The Marriott would make a comfortable base for day trips, which in Costa Rica are very easy to arrange (there was a travel agent in the lobby and also one in the mall adjacent to the hotel), or as a place to stay at the beginning or end of a trip. In our case it was the hotel our tour company used at the beginning and end of our tour, and we chose to stay an extra night on our own.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2006

We just returned from a six night stay at the hotel.
The hotel is great - all that you would expect from a Marriott property. We had never been to Costa Rica, and travelled there with the intent of feeling our way through the country.
First of all - if you are a tourist and want to see much of the country, San Jose is a good base, but is inconvenient. The city of San Jose is located in the central part of the country, and attractions are located north, south, east , and west! We did some day-tripping from the hotel, but ended up renting a car to see more of the country. If you are there for more than a week, you really have to travel to the Pacific coast (or Carribean) to get more of the local flavor. The concierge at the hotel (Roberto) was very helpful and booked day tours and a car rental for us. He seemed very concerned about us and responded to all of our (numerous) questions!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend going into the city of San Jose, if you are the adventuresome type and don't expect a pristine environment! The cab fare from the hotel is about $10.00, and cabs are easily found in the city for your return. Download a "walking tour of San Jose "- and you are in business. Please see the Museum of Gold - The Jade muesum is closed for current removations.
Getting back to the hotel - it is clean, safe and comfortable. Go to the pool early in the day, as it is shady in the afternoon. The morning buffet is $14.00, so try to get in on their weekend rates, which includes breakfast. The plaza across the street from the hotel has many wonderful restaurants - Cuban, Mexican, Italian, American, etc. We particularly liked the Spanish Tappas restaurant.
All in all, we had a very nice stay there, and I would highly recommend the hotel. Just do your research first, and make sure that this is the location of the country that you want to be in. If only San Jose was located on the beach!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2006

We stayed at the Marriott in San Jose, Costa Rica in February 06. The hotel staff was fantastic, spoke fluent English. It was a beautiful hotel and they make a mean margarita!!! We had access to the Concierge Lounge and it was great, free internet service and all the snacks, juice and bottled water you would need. If we were to travel to Costa Rica I would definetly stay there again. There is also a shuttle to the Marriott Los Suenos Hotel that is further south that only cost $25 per person, well worth the money. We ended up being the only couple on the shuttle bus and got our own personal tour guide.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu

Address: Autopista Prospero Fernandez | Carretera Marginal Norte, Plaza Itskatzu, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Escazu
#3 Family Hotel in Escazu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by Plaza Itskatzu, the Courtyard Escazu San Jose Costa Rica Hotel provides guests with a central location with quality accommodations and services that make business and leisure travel easy and relaxing while on a Costa Rica vacation. Spacious guest rooms feature Marriott's new bedding, free high-speed internet access and are tastefully decorated in colonial decor that reflect Costa Rica's distinctive cultural heritage and warm hospitality. This San Jose CR hotel is convenient for business travelers with a location that is near industrial parks, downtown businesses and corporate offices. When your meetings in Costa Rica are done, we are also within minutes of shopping and some of the best restaurants and nightlife in San Jose. If you are here on a relaxing Costa Rican vacation, you may also venture to nearby attractions such as Poas Volcano, rainforests and coffee plantation tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Marriott San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
San Jose Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.