We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Autopista Prospero Fernandez | Carretera Marginal Norte, Plaza Itskatzu, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Escazu
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

A nice comfortable hotel with a great benefit of a very convenient mall with many restaurants within a minute of leaving the hotel.
The rooms are more than adequate and very clean and well furnished. You have a fridge and the only thing I found odd was the charge for water !! Great location fairly near to the airport depending on your arrival or departure time and the famous traffic factor. It is not the distance, but the traffic time you have to take into account.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, as you mention our location is very convenient with the mall across the street and many restaurants few steps away.
At Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu we are making improvements to make your stay more enjoyable, early this year we renovated the lobby and restaurant, just now added more wireless access points to provide a stronger wi-fi signal, and later this year will replace the door locks.
We hope to see you again during your next trip to San Jose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    98
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
34
16
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for a night to get near the airport. They had a great AAA rate. It's right off the highway so it's not super quiet. The walls are thin and I could hear talking and coughing from an adjacent room. Regardless, the rooms are very spacious and well kept, there is free wifi, and they offer a good breakfast! It's right next to a shopping center with multiple restaurants to eat as well.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel, we really appreciate it! We hope we can serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nice Courtyard Hotel. Good service and a good location. Just in front of an important Mall. Nice restaurants in the area too. A little bit far from the Airport. Limited room service. Nice and cordial attention by it´s staff. Good stay for a business trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
As you mention the Courtyard San Jose Escazu is located in a very strategic location, with ease access to the main corporate office buildings, shopping mall and a large variety of restaurants. We hope to see you during your next trip to San Jose, and take advantage of the promotions we have in our renovated restaurant.
Thank you for your comments, they are very important for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My hubby and I just returned from our trip to Costa Rica last week. We stayed at the Courtyard in Escazu. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was only an 11 minute drive from the airport, talk about convenient. This gem of a hotel is located right down the street from the largest mall in Costa Rica. Believe me when I tell you, it's impressive! Right across the parking lot from the hotel is a very impressive strip mall with wonderful restaurants (several of them are recognized by Tripadvisor). There is even a good ole American Hooter's and Outback Steak house for those who want a touch of familiarity. The hotel itself was very clean, attractive and the staff was very attentive. My favorite part of this hotel was the breakfast! They had an impressive spread that included the classic American breakfast as well as local fare. The wait staff was very friendly, helpful and responsive. This hotel also offers "FREE" access to computers to check your accounts and print boarding passes. This is such a huge convenience! There was adequate space in the lounge areas to relax and hang out. Therefore, you are not forced to stay in your room. The pool area was very small, but it was nice looking. I highly recommend this hotel for business people and tourists alike. It's located just outside of San Jose. Therefore, the traffic is bearable. It has plenty of "FREE" on site parking. So having a rental car is not an issue. In addition, it centrally located. It's right off of the highway. So traveling to the tourist attractions was very easy. Please take the time to explore the areas around the hotel. Most people head out of San Jose to visit Monteverde, Arenal and Guanacaste. However, you don't have to travel that far for volcano's and national parks. Please take the time to visit Poas and Irazu Volcano. They are both approximately an hour drive from the hotel. Both are equally enchanting and delightful! In addition, if you are going to Poas take the time to head over to La Paz Waterfall. It's absolutely worth your money. If you have kids, they will LOVE IT!! So if you're considering a vacation to Costa Rica and you're on a budget, consider the Courtyard Escazu. You won't be disappointed. Happy Travels!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the third floor facing the back of the building. You are less likely to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our beautiful country, the happiest in the world for second year in a row.
At Courtyard Escazu we look forward to serve you in the future with our renovated product and warm service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is my third time in Mariott and I do believe I will choose Mariott again in my future trips to Costa Rica. i usually stay for more than 10 days in these trips but being in mariott makes me feel a lot better even if im far away from home. The room is nice and cozy. The staffs are very friendly and tries to assists you in any way they can. They just make the environment so light and bubbly... I also love their breakfast with the usual fruits ( a lot of selection) , gallo pinto ( rice with black beans) , cereals, milk, potatoes, bread, and some sausages etc. i love their food, i wont mind eating the same dishes.. Ofcourse they do change 2 or 3 like the type of sausage, tacos etc.. Its definitely worth it.. And just 5 mins away from the shopping mall- multiplaza.. Cause you 2 dollars per ride but they do have free shuttles you can inquire.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind comments we really appreciate them. As Marriott repeat guest please remember to provide your Marriott Rewards number in every stay to earn points that you can redeem in more than 3500 hotels around the world.
I hope you enjoyed our new lobby and new menu at our restaurant Centro. We look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piracicaba, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Very nice and large rooms. Attentive staff, great breakfast with variety of fruits and typical food. Great internet service.
Located in a great area close to the biggest mall in San Jose and several restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our breakfast; in Costa Rica we are privileged to have fruits all the time and want to share them with our guests, we hope you also tried Gallo Pinto, one of our local favorites. Next time you visit San Jose we will be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have been down here for business for 8 days...the place is not theRitz, but very accommodating.. the staff are great and are very friendly.. the bartender. "Gabriel". Was great.... what a nice experience I had.. there are many restaurants within feet of the hotel. it has been a great place..I would definitely come back. The people in this country are especially nice. I would give this hotel a thumbs up!

Room Tip: Drinking in the hotel bar a bit expensive, two Nice bars across the street.. Take advantage there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolfo_Carit, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review we appreciate it. We are very proud of our staff, they are the best!
Next time you visit our hotel take advantage of our 2x1 in local beer from 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu

Address: Autopista Prospero Fernandez | Carretera Marginal Norte, Plaza Itskatzu, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Escazu
#5 Business Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by Plaza Itskatzu, the Courtyard Escazu San Jose Costa Rica Hotel provides guests with a central location with quality accommodations and services that make business and leisure travel easy and relaxing while on a Costa Rica vacation. Spacious guest rooms feature Marriott's new bedding, free high-speed internet access and are tastefully decorated in colonial decor that reflect Costa Rica's distinctive cultural heritage and warm hospitality. This San Jose CR hotel is convenient for business travelers with a location that is near industrial parks, downtown businesses and corporate offices. When your meetings in Costa Rica are done, we are also within minutes of shopping and some of the best restaurants and nightlife in San Jose. If you are here on a relaxing Costa Rican vacation, you may also venture to nearby attractions such as Poas Volcano, rainforests and coffee plantation tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Marriott San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
San Jose Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.