We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if you go to San José” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Contiguo Hospital Cima, Plaza Tempo | Avenida Prospero Fernandez, Escazu, Escazu, Costa Rica (Formerly Los Laureles)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel if you go to San José”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a great hotel if you go to San José/Escazu
The rooms a big, quite and well furnished (I almost thought I was in a high end hotel)
The breakfast is good.
In addition you are 10min away if Multiplaza
In contrast this hotel is a little bit far from the downtown of San José

Room Tip: Be an ing frequent traveler and you will be ungraded to the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Sir:

Thank you so much for your comments. We are happy to know that you liked our hotel and services. Multiplaza is a 10 minute walk or 2 minutes free ride that we offer. Regarding downtown, yes we are located in a suburban area, the newest of the city.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    80
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
21
38
14
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was phenomenal. My room was immaculate, A/C and shower worked perfectly, and the staff was fantastic. The wireless worked great as well. In addition, there are numerous quality food options next to the hotel. After a week in the jungle, it was heaven.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We are happy to have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you again in a future opportunity.

Best Regards,


Ludwing Diaz
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvita, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a great hotel if you need to be located near Escazu, next door is the CIMA Hospital and Multiplaza Mall. The service is very good, the rooms are comfortable and modern and suprisingly one of the best food for room service we have had. Nearby Avenida Escazu has a good choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your comments. We are happy to know that you were pleased with our services and facilities. Regarding additional restaurants, for your next visit, we recommend our next door variety in Plaza Tempo that you acces within walking distance.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We came from Dallas for my surgery at Hospital Clinica Biblica. After surgery I am staying at the hotel for 7 days. The staff couldn't have been more attentive or helpful. They did everything from bringing me jello every morning to bringing three different chairs to my room until I found one that would accomadate my bad back. They actually brought one from the lobby! My husband and I don't speak any Spanish but the staff made us feel totally comfortable! We are here for three more days and I wish Holiday Inns in the U.S. would take notice of this one! The rooms are spotless and the staff accomodate me as to when I want them to come in to clean. One word of warning...the breakfast buffet isn't a waffle and pressed sausage covered in syrup mess we fat Americans are used to! These people take very good care of themselves and the food reflects that. Wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guests from Dallas:

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn San José Escazú. We are glad you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and we thank you for taking the time to share it. This is what we live for, to make our guests happy.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel stay served it's purpose, however was not close to what I am accustomed to. The staff was friendly for the most part, Sandy was the BEST. The beds are very comfortable and the jacuzzi in my suite was very nice. Upon departure, I did not have the satisfied feeling I normally experience. It is hard to pin point the root cause of these feelings (or lack there of). As a Platinum member with Ambassador status I should have received more. I had to ask for a bottle of water and the front person attempted to debate the issue with me and finally agreed to give me a free bottle after he determined I was a Platinum member. The suite had one note pad and no pens. I have a medical condition and require medication that needs refrigeration. This is normally not an issue because I am usually upgraded to a suite. The room was a suite however did not have a refrigerator. I received the refrigerator upon request, but I am used to the refrigerator being in the suite. Overall, it was not an unpleasant experience, just not the level of service I am used to receiving.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your feedback. I want to apologize on behalf of the team for not being able to completely satisfy your stay. As you mentioned you are not use to get those unknown feelings, we are not used to leave our guest with the sensation of being just good, not great.

All of our guests are very important for us, however Platinum members with Ambassador status like you, are our mission.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you in the near future, for you to enjoy our real standard.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staying at the Holiday Escazu is a nice experience. You have English Speaking Staff and they cater to your requests. They even provide you with small stuff/items that you might have forgotten during packing for your trip such a toothpaste, shaver, comb etc.

The food selection is OK. not a lot of variety but the desserts are good.

the location is Good since it is next to a hospital and within shopping complexes with restaurants and cafes

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

We really appreciate your stay with us and comments: Thank you. We are also pleased to know that you had a nice experience in our hotel, as that is our promise.

We hope to welcome you again in a future stay.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Don't be fooled by the name Holiday Inn; this venue is not your average business hotel. It is not only totally renewed but it is extremely comfortable. Rooms are all new; delicious beds, spacious desk and resting lounge chair, and a big lighted bathroom that includes Bath & Body Works toiletries.
Also desk offers additional services ( with a fee ) to be charged to your room such as country taxes (you have to purchase them before flying out ) & cabs.
Location is very convenient as well.
Definitely a keeper

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudwingDiaz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank yoo so much for your comments. We are excited to know that you found our hotel to be great for business travel. We do also get leisure visitors due to our convenient location and added value.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to a future visit.

Best regards,


Ludwing Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu
0.7 mi away
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu
2.8 mi away
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
#33 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu

Address: Contiguo Hospital Cima, Plaza Tempo | Avenida Prospero Fernandez, Escazu, Escazu, Costa Rica (Formerly Los Laureles)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#6 Business Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location The new Holiday Inn San José – Escazú is strategically located in the most upscale business, residential and commercial zone in Escazú, in the Prospero Fernandez Highway, next to Cima Hospital and Plaza Tempo, a multi-purpose development that includes a corporate center and a shopping arcade.Rooms and Suites Holiday Inn San José –Escazú is the first of its kind in the country. It has been designed with the latest in environmentally friendly technology, security, energy efficiency and water savings. It has 160 comfortable rooms, 2 modern suites and 16 rooms specially adapted for the physically challenged meeting ADA requirements. All the rooms offer the following services and benefits:• Free buffet breakfast and 10 Mb symmetrical WiFi. • Free local calls, Safety deposit box for laptop.• Two phones with voice mail. • Spacious desk with ergonomic seat.• Eco-model 37” television and Cable TV with 87 channels.• Luxury Simmons® beds with choice of pillow. • I-Home clock radio. • Iron and board, Coffee maker, Hairdryer and individual AC. • Bath & Body Works amenities.• Full sprinkler system and flame-proof furnishings.• Laundry, parking, gym and business center.Fogo Restaurant A contemporary, refined ambiance with meticulous service will enhance your dining enjoyment in our restaurant, offering international and local specialties and a full breakfast, lunch and dinner service. Acqua Lounge Bar The perfect place to enjoy premium brand liquors, cocktails and marinated snacks. You will love our selection of gourmet coffees and delicious pastries. Meeting and Banquet Rooms: For social or business events, Holiday Inn San José – Escazú offers 8 modern and functional meeting spaces to professionally attend from 5 up to 150 people with high service standards and technology. We look forward to welcoming you to the new Holiday Inn San José – Escazú for a genuinely enjoyable and green stay; you’ll make and feel the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.