We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but can be hard to find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Isabella Costa Rica

Save Saved
You added Casa Isabella Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Isabella Costa Rica
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bello Horizonte | del Restaurante Chichis' 1 km East, 100 mts North & 75 mts West, Escazu 10002, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$48 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 13 Escazu B&B and Inns
Zen Guy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful but can be hard to find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful guest house with friendly, english speaking owners and homey feel. Breakfast is fabulous! The only problem with this place is that its hard to find. They need to publish actual GPS coordinates. Also, there's only space for 2 cars there, so if you're driving be sure to contact them in advance to be sure you can park. They are on a very steep street and there's nowhere to even park for 5 minutes if you don't pull into their gated drive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaisabella123, Owner at Casa Isabella Costa Rica, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are conveniently located only twenty minutes from Juan Santa Maria International Airport in the hillsides of San Jose, the capital city, we are minutes away form Embassies, Shopping Centers, Hotels, Restaurants, Clubs, Bars, Business Centers and the Best Hospitals in the country. The USA ambassador lives only 7 minutes away from us)

and we are close to moderns conveniences but far enough away to enjoy the country setting that surround us, and because we are in the middle of the country you will have numerous options to explore in any part of the country, from mountains to beaches, from forests to volcanoes.

We do provide each of our clients with a cellphone so that they can call us if any questions or to call our driver to pick them up or drop them off, there is public transportation 100 mts away and most, if not all Tour companies as well as rent-a-car agencies pick up and drop off our clients here.
Usually clients that are not use to walking outdoors preferred walking to most places to enjoy the surroundings, but we do offer taxi services in any case.

So our location is not an inconvenient but an advantage to most.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
40
23
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The beautiful B&B is an oasis to enjoy a peaceful and relaxing stay, located in a quiet neighborhood, yet still being close to the city of San José, to central bus stations, to restaurants, etc.
The service is great, the charming rooms are impeccable and the beds extremely comfortable.
The atmosphere at Cassia Isabella is very warm, friendly and familiar. You can share a laugh or have a chat with other guests or the with the lovely hosts, Robert and Guisella, in the cosy living room or just read a book on your own on the beautiful terrace.
Robert and Guisella are amazing hosts - friendly, fun and caring.
Robert is an excellent Costa Rica guide, he knows lots of great places to go and things to do and helped planning routes and discovering the country.
The breakfast at Casa Isabella is incredible - Guisella's homemade pancakes, tortillas - a perfect start into the day!
I will for sure be back! Thanks a lot for a great time, Robert and Guisella!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guanacaste
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It took us a while to find this charming bed and breakfast even with the directions. larger signs guiding your guests would be helpful. However, once we arrived, the hosts were gracious and friendly. The rooms were delightful and comfortable. They gave us good ideas for dining and called a cab for us so we didn't get lost again. We had a good nights sleep. We enjoyed the breakfast and visiting with others that were also staying at Casa Isabella.We would come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaisabella123, Owner at Casa Isabella Costa Rica, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We do appreciate your comments and were delightful having this clients stay with us.

However, we want to point out in regard to our location..., it is a costume here in Costa Rica to give directions using land marks, if you are a foreign and do not know your surroundings it can be challenging to find any place, and if you do not speak the language it can be even more challenging... this is why we do give all of our clients enough information so that they will feel at ease, we provide them with a map (so that they know where most important places are located, pharmacies, ATMs', gas stations, embassies, etc...) and give them a FREE cellphone so that they can call us if they have any questions or if they need to call our driver to pick them up (we do charge our clients less than a local taxi). Also we do provide GPS addressees because now in this days any phone have GPS so that "extra help" can come handy ..

All this information is mean to make our clients' stay more enjoyable and to help minimize the stress of been a foreign in a foreign land.

Our location is not an inconvenient but an advantage to most.

We would like to add that we are conveniently located only twenty minutes from Juan Santa Maria International Airport in the hillsides of San Jose, the capital city, we are minutes away form Embassies, Shopping Centers, Hotels, Restaurants, Clubs, Bars, Business Centers and the Best Hospitals in the country. The USA ambassador lives only 7 minutes away from us)

and we are close to moderns conveniences but far enough away to enjoy the country setting that surround us, and because we are in the middle of the country you will have numerous options to explore in any part of the country, from mountains to beaches, from forests to volcanoes.

There is public transportation 100 mts away and most, if not all Tour companies as well as rent-a-car agencies pick up and drop off our clients here.

Usually clients that are not use to walking outdoors preferred walking to most places to enjoy the surroundings, but we do offer taxi services in any case.
Thank you and if you have any questions please fell free to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at Casa Isabella last week. My room was immaculate and the service was phenomenal. Robert went out of his way to make sure I had everything I needed, and made me feel very welcome. He also had a lot of information about neat things to see and do in various parts of Costa Rica, near and far. The location is just about perfect too - nestled in a quiet neighborhood, yet still only a few minutes from any services one might need. The house and grounds are beautiful and serene - a perfect place to relax. I am already looking forward to the next opportunity I will have to stay at Casa Isabella. For anyone seeking a beautiful and relaxing place to stay, with great service and people, Casa Isabella is a must. Pura Vida can be found here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We enjoyed our staying at Casa Isabella very much. The room and service was very comfortable. The owners Roberto and Guisella took care of us very well and Roberto helped us planning our trip through Costa Rica and introduced us to the beauty of Costa Rica. Tip: ask for the Costarican breakfast!

Thanx again Roberto and Guisella!

Room Tip: they have a really nice double on the first floor with bathroom and nice morning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

As a long time traveler (and professional travel agent) whom has stayed in many hotels, B&B's, and youth hostels around the world, this one has to rank near the top in almost every category (quality, cleanliness, friendliness of owners, location, and value)! The owner's, Robert and his wife, are very friendly and very helpful in welcoming you to the area. I stayed at a nice B&B across town in the Heredia area of San Jose earlier in the week, but this one is where I would stay for sure when returning to San Jose. Stay here when you come to San Jose and you'll be very pleased!
Thanks Robert and Guisella for hospitality!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Robert and Gisella were so helpful to my transitioning from Texas to San Jose. All the reviews are true about the relaxed, professional, and just plain generous attitude of the young couple. The Bed & Breakfast was beautifully furnished, very safe and secure but I can not say enough about the warmth of Robert and Gisella. Before I retired I was a business traveler so I have seen very many hotels and I can be critical of them, in this case I wanted to stay longer than the 8 nights I did. I don't speak Spanish or know the business culture in Costa Rica and Robert's concern was genuine and they always had time to help me relocate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Isabella Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Isabella Costa Rica

Address: Bello Horizonte | del Restaurante Chichis' 1 km East, 100 mts North & 75 mts West, Escazu 10002, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Isabella Costa Rica 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Isabella has the perfect strategic location for visiting and exploring Costa Rica. Conveniently located only twenty minutes from Juan Santa Maria International Airport in the hillsides of Escazu, in Bello Horizonte, we are minutes away form Embassies, Shopping Centers, Restaurants, Clubs, Bars, Business Centers and the Best Hospitals in the country. Casa Isabella offers a mixture of country simplicity and city modernality. We are close to moderns conveniences but far enough away to enjoy the country setting that surround us . Because we are in the middle of the country you will have numerous options to explore in any part of the country, from mountains to beaches, from forests to volcanoes. HOTEL ACCOMODATIONS:Casa Isabella has seven tastefully decorated and comfortable rooms each with Queen or Full beds. Each room has its own unique character. Our high ceiling rooms are equipped with spacious bathrooms and closets; each with beautiful handcrafted wood furniture and beds and linens of the highest quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Casa Isabella Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Isabella Costa Rica Hotel Escazu
Casa Isabella Costa Rica Escazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Isabella Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.