We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place - great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Bello Horizonte, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Il
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place - great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We stayed at the casa cristal our first night in CR. This is a beautiful contemporary design hotel that was recently completed. The hosts, Swiss and ictor are very nice. Victor picked us up at the airport which saved us the hassle of figuring out how to get to their place with a taxi. When we arrived, Zelda cooked us a great dinner and we spent sevral hours just chatting. They made us truly feel at home. The next mornig we had a great breakfast prepared by Zelda and then it was off to Manuel antonio. This was a wonderful way to spend our first night before the long drive to our next destination. I highly recommend this place for either a night like us or an extended stay with day trips from San jose.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    50
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
198
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed at Casa Cristal as we left Costa Rica. If you need a place in San Jose, I would recommend Casa Cristal for many reasons. They will provide transportation ($30 to the airport at anytime you need). The value for what you get is great. High Quality Rooms for an affordable price. My wife and I stayed in a standard suite (room #1), and it was great! Big room, king bed, desk, free wifi, tv, etc. While we did not eat dinner at Casa Cristal we did enjoy a lunch by their pool I must say their food prices are EXCELLENT. The most expensive thing on the menu was Filet Mignon dinner for $16.00. I enjoyed a Steak Sandwich ($12) for lunch and it was delicious. Probably one of the best steak sandwiches I have had. Not sure if I was just lucky or what, but I want another!
The Staff was very friendly and accommodating. They absolutely insisted that we sit down and relax while they do everything. The arranged our dinner reservations, taxi, etc.
The only downside to Casa Cristal is its location. It is on the outskirts of San Jose, and the drive in would be very confusing had we not been in a cab/taxi who knew where to go. Casa Cristal staff also makes it a habit to email a map of their location with every confirmation. Now I know why. You need to print this map and have it handy for any driver who is unfamiliar with how to get there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

This hotel is a mom and pop wonderfully relaxing establishment. The hotel is decorated in a modern style. Every room is different and very spacious. The owners are a husband and wife tandem that will cater to your every need. It is a little outside of Escazu on the side of the mountain so it is a serene and quiet location away from the main city noise. Beautifull views of SanJose and surrounding towns. This is the perfect place for a Honeymoon or a weekend get away with your significant other. Free wifi and excellent dinning on site. I will definitely return here!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

My husband and I have been traveling for several years and enjoy staying in smaller hotels that offer a more personal touch. We've had some great experiences, but our stay at Casa Cristal was, by far, the best ever. The hotel (house, really) is lovely, with spectacular views of the central plateau from differing vantage points. We left our balconly door open constantly and spent many hours transfixed--just watching the shadows of the clouds on the mountains and listening to the sounds of birds.

Zeida and Victor are the best hosts--thoughtful, intelligent, kind and soooo funny! Together they create a delightful environment that puts everyone in a good mood--it was more than just good service--I felt completely welcomed. And, if that wasn't enought, Zeida is an amazing cook. We just stopped going out to eat altogether. Around dinner time, we'd amble out to the kitchen and ask, "OK, Zeida, what's for dinner?" Sea bass, spaghetti, shrimp scampi--all well prepared and tasty--while watching the lights brightening in the deepening twilight. Delicious!

Thank you Zeida and Victor! We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forrestfan, Propietario at Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
We work very hard and make every effort to make every guest at Casa Cristal have the best possible stay. It is only when we read ratings like this one, that we know that we are accomplishing our goal. We both appreciate your compliments very much. Thank you once again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

I trusted TripAdvisor when picking a hotel in the San Jose area and I was not disappointed. We had a fabulous 2 weeks in Costa Rica, staying at some lovely 5 star hotels in exotic locales, but by far this was the best.

This place is exquisite. Last time we stayed in San Jose we couldn’t get out of the city fast enough. This time, Casa Cristal became a destination in itself. Zeida and Victor understand service and know how to pamper. They also have fantastic taste. They personally designed and built this elegant boutique hotel. It has intriguing and welcoming nooks and crannies, with each room offering its own unique character and style. The hotel is quiet and peaceful. Its location is on a lovely green hillside in an upscale expat suburb with an exceptional view of San Jose and the mountains, especially pretty at night with the city lights twinkling.

I don’t usually rave like this. However this place was GREAT. To give you an idea why we think so:
We arrived towards the end of the “green” season. We had nothing planned for our first day because our flight connections were iffy and we weren’t sure we would arrive on time. As it happens, our flights went fine, but a huge tropical storm came through as soon as we arrived, so we couldn’t do any outdoor activities on our first full day. This made us extremely grateful we had chosen our hotel so well. We loved our room so much (Master Suite #6) that we happily spent the whole day there, watching the torrential rain and beautiful green hillside through our room’s glass wall, reading, relaxing, drinking and eating Zeida’s creations, and enjoying our hot tub. Our incredibly lazy day was so enjoyable, in fact, that when our upcoming multi-day rafting tour got delayed due to the storm, we were actually happy to extend our stay at CC for another night! And when we returned back for a last night at CC after several days of rainforest, ziplines, rafting, canyoning, etc. (we are usually very active), it was like returning home. Only better.

Zeida is a wonderful cook. She has a basic menu listing the dishes she keep supplies for, however she is fantastic about taking requests for dishes not on the menu. For instance, we asked her if she could cook up some local fish for our dinner the next night and of course she said yes, purchased some tasty fish just for us, and cooked it along with our favorite veggies. I believe her answer to every request we made was consistently “of course”. In fact, she and Victor were so flexible and accommodating that we didn’t bother leaving for other meals the whole time we were there. Why bother? We basically had a personal chef (very reasonable pricing) and we could eat in the privacy of our beautiful room or various open areas, or we could hang out and talk with fascinating fellow travelers. Dinners could be formal or casual, whatever we wanted.

Victor and Zeida are also very knowledgeable, interesting, warm and friendly. However they are also respectful of your space and privacy, so if you want to know something or have a tour set up or just chat, then be sure to initiate the conversation, as they are not going to bother you unless you want to talk. And if you do want to talk, they have a lot of interesting stories and information to share.

We remarked at some point in our 2+ week trip that we wished that Victor and Zeida and Casa Cristal could come with us wherever we went, as we don’t think anything else will ever measure up. How amazing is that for a place that was originally intended just as a stopover on the way to somewhere else?

Thanks, Zeida and Victor, for a lovely few days! You define our new standard of exceptional service. We hope we will have a chance to return soon!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southlake
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

In an ideal situation on the edge of San Jose nothing was too much for Victor and Zeida at Casa Cristal and we were treated like Royalty during our short visit and wished it could have been longer. All facilities were to the highest standard as was the service offered. We would stronly recommend the hotel to all.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We celebrated our first wedding anniversary here. Zeida and Victor made us feel very welcome. Our master suite was very impressive and the champagne and chocolate strawberries by the jacuzzi were lovely - one small point, the water was not quite hot enough in the jacuzzi or shower. Zeida arranged a couples massage for us in our suite which was very good.
This is a very nice boutique hotel with beautiful design features. The view at night over the lights of San Jose is spectacular. Victor and Zeida work very hard to cater to your every need.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel

Address: Bello Horizonte, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel invites its guests to indulgein a sanctuary of relaxation and pamperingamid the panoramic views of the Valley of San Jose.The inviting and accommodating mood of Casa Cristalallows guests to relish in the lush tropical gardens and open air terraces.Serenity can be found through exclusive spa treatments.Whether it is for business or pleasure,Casa Cristal features upscale amenities including cable television,private bathrooms, and free high speed wireless internet access.The modern elegance and airy design aestheticscreate an environment conducive to the adult only resort.Generously sized suites form a placewhere guests can enjoy exceptional hospitalityand lodging accommodations in a convivial setting.We’ll see you at Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Escazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.