We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bello Horizonte, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Escazu
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I simply had a wonderful stay! Casa Cristal is going to be my home away from home now. I travel often to Costa Rica. Casa Cristal is located close to all my favorite spots. And it is just secluded enough to make my stay relaxing and productive. I look forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    49
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
196
27
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night after a week in Osa Peninsula. The room was lovely and clean, and the views of the city are absolutely wonderful. The staff are super friendly and helpful, and we ate dinner at the small restaurant and were pleased with how great the food was. We had a slight issue with paying (we booked through Expedia and the front desk guy claimed Expedia hadn't paid the full amount), but so far we haven't heard anything else on that front. We paid about $100 for one night.

The downsides: There was some noise near our room at night (maybe some sort of generator or something) and the hotel is too far to walk to anything.

If I'm ever back in SJ, I would definitely stay here again, but maybe go for a different room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a delight to find this super peaceful, lovely clean and tastefully decorated rooms and beautifully situated hotel on the edge of the forest with an amazing view, yet close to Escazu and main city. I ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there and the chef is excellent. The staff are wonderful. Highly recommend this oasis of calm and beauty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sullivan's Island, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is located in Escazu up the hill from the business area. The site is adjacent to a wildlife reserve which preserves views of the central valley. The rooms are clean and the showers work well. The meals are cooked to order and are outstanding.

We would strongly recommend Casa Cristal

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I traveled here for my 35th birthday.This location is located not too far away but close enough to the city. But the views are excellent from this hotel.The family that owns it are very accomodating. It is worth every penny to stay here. The restaurant is cooked to order for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are looking for a nice room and attention stay here! I booked for one night to splurge a little and it was worth it! Great service, restaurant with room service, nice staff, pool and breakfast included! The location is remote, but close enough to Escazu by taxi, to feel out of the city and relax. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadito, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Quiet and relaxed place to stay with great service. I work at a resort in New Mexico and the quality of this place much surpasses the care to the point that I would like to revamp are resort to this standard. Zeida has complete knowledge of the tours and places of interest to see. I stayed there three weeks this year and also last year and enjoyed every minute of it. Can't wait until next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel

Address: Bello Horizonte, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel invites its guests to indulgein a sanctuary of relaxation and pamperingamid the panoramic views of the Valley of San Jose.The inviting and accommodating mood of Casa Cristalallows guests to relish in the lush tropical gardens and open air terraces.Serenity can be found through exclusive spa treatments.Whether it is for business or pleasure,Casa Cristal features upscale amenities including cable television,private bathrooms, and free high speed wireless internet access.The modern elegance and airy design aestheticscreate an environment conducive to the adult only resort.Generously sized suites form a placewhere guests can enjoy exceptional hospitalityand lodging accommodations in a convivial setting.We’ll see you at Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Escazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.