We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As excellent as we had expected, and more!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bello Horizonte, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Escazu
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“As excellent as we had expected, and more!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We just came back from a five vacation at Casa Cristal, and we would really like to express our gratitude for such an excellent stay. The hotel is beautiful, the service is great, the view is outstanding, the rooms are extremely comfortable, and the owners / staff make you feel just at home. From the moment that my wife and I arrived to Casa Cristal we felt as if we had been welcomed by our own family. Zeida and Victor made sure that we were pleased and satisfied with every single detail, including their warmth and friendliness. This boutique hotel offers the most incredible quality that anyone can possibly expect, and definitely leaves you with the deep desire to stay with them again in the future. We had already visited Costa Rica two previous times, and even though we had always had a terrific time in that beautiful country, this has undoubtedly been our favorite vacation in Tico Land. Our most sincere compliments to all the staff of Casa Cristal!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    48
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
196
27
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very wolcoming staff. Highly recommend having them make your taxi arrangement from airport to the hotel. I kept number handy thru out the trip and used same taxi driver. Casa Cristal is somewhat hidden up in the hills so having trustworthy taxi driver made us feel safer.

I highly recommend taking advantage of the morning breakfast and cafe con leche! The staff was very hospitable and the rooms comfy and clean. There are so many great sitting areas to have a drink and enjoy the view!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The place was tiny but I guess that's what the 'boutique' was about. We got a standard room which was situated next to the lobby desk and the telephone calls and shift-changes woke us up through the night. They would not change our rooms even though there only seemed to be 1 other guest in the hotel. The rooms had a moldy smell and our allergies flared up overnight. The place seemed to be maintained poorly. They were understaffed. The guy at the reception desk was also our waiter. The cleaning lady was also the chef. The pool was disgustingly dirty. I would never go back to this place for any price. I had a much more comfortable stay for a third of the price in Santa Ana. Finding this place was also a challenge.

The one good thing about this place was the view. It had an incredible view of San Jose.

Room Tip: upgrade from standard so you don't get stuck next to lobby. But my biggest tip is to find a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Casa Cristal is an excellent choice for anyone who appreciates the finer things in life. This boutique hotel is located at the top of a hill in an upscale neighborhood and with glass exterior walls allowing an excellent day and night view of the city. The inteior is tastefully decorated with paintings and sculptures as if viewing art in a gallery or museum. Owner Victor is charming and his staff is top notch. We highly recommend this to anyone that wants an alternative to a chain hotel and is looking for truly unique and affordable place to stay.

Room Tip: pick a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

A few of us stayed here at the suggestion of some folks we met at the airport. We had just flown in from Nicaragua and needed an overnight for our flight back the next day. What a way to end the trip! The views were amazing from this mountain location - like looking at a sky full of stars turned upside down. And while that was great in and of itself, another beautiful thing was the hassle-free experience of getting to/from the airport. This is a well-managed, gorgeous operation and I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alva fl
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The owner Victor lives on site and sees to every detail Al and staff treated me like family. I just booked another 7 day stay today. The best view day or night. This hotel will be my San Jose headquarters for ever. You have to see this place to believe it the most unique building and artistic furnishings in one place ever. I have great respect for the thought that was used in the design, get your camera ready I shot over 100 pictures They offer a very polite pick-up driver from the airport for $30.oo US dollars I recomend to use thier service a 20 min drive

Room Tip: Relax and listen to the quiet and be prepared to be treated like a king or queen
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Casa Cristal is a very quite place, it is clean and have a beautiful view of San Jose. The owners and workers made me feel comfortable. I had a wonderful experience. The only and small issue i see: You need a car and a nice GPS to get there and go out, because it has many ways and turns and you have to get inside of wooded zone, but its kind of exciting. I love it, very natural and fresh air. I highly recommend it. You won't regret it!, I would like to go back. Thanks Victor and Zeida for your hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel

Address: Bello Horizonte, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#1 Spa Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel invites its guests to indulgein a sanctuary of relaxation and pamperingamid the panoramic views of the Valley of San Jose.The inviting and accommodating mood of Casa Cristalallows guests to relish in the lush tropical gardens and open air terraces.Serenity can be found through exclusive spa treatments.Whether it is for business or pleasure,Casa Cristal features upscale amenities including cable television,private bathrooms, and free high speed wireless internet access.The modern elegance and airy design aestheticscreate an environment conducive to the adult only resort.Generously sized suites form a placewhere guests can enjoy exceptional hospitalityand lodging accommodations in a convivial setting.We’ll see you at Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Escazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cristal Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.