We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Paradise

Save Saved
You added Hotel Paradise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Paradise
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 KM S Iglesia San Antonio de Escazu, Escazu 23556, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Paradise Inn & Spa)   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Escazu
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Basic, comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

On our first trip to CR we chose the Best Western Paradise Inn as the place to stay for our first night (launching the next morning to the coast). I think I got this hotel on Priceline as a name your own price deal. I wouldn't do that again now, knowing how spread out San Jose is. We got a cab from the airport ($30). We were fairly sure the taxi was taking us to the middle of nowhere to rape and rob us due to how far from the airport it was and in an area that you would not expect to find a hotel (up and down and up and down some crazy winding roads). We were only in the hotel for a couple of hours, had a couple of reasonably priced beers overlooking the central valley (it was quite a view). The pool did not look like something I would have wanted to swim in. We liked the outside door and enjoyed having coffee on the patio. There were a couple of sweet dogs hanging around.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Manager at Hotel Paradise, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. We value your feedback and appreciate your comments in order to better serve you and to make every guest experience more enjoyable with us. We are glad you enjoyed our view, garden and balcony. Since it was your first time in CR you noticed we are a mountainous country, most roads do go up and down mountains. We are a mountain hotel away from the traffic, crowds and city noise. We are 15 minutes away from the business district and atractions. Again we thank you for your stay and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    7
    7
    10
See reviews for
11
23
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The view is worth the stay.Take local bus to town for 25cents.Wonderful Italian restraunt 2 blocks away.Take taxi unless you have gps to locate as it on top of mountain overlooking San Jose. REMEMBER you booked for the VIEW

Room Tip: Room at end of hall in west wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Manager at Hotel Paradise, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. We value your feedback and comments. We are happy you had a wonderful experience and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night in May and ran out as fast as we could. It is a very far ride from the airport and although the website claims to offer free transfer shuttles, the manager at the hotel charged us 40 dollars for picking us up from the hotel because he claimed that his website never said that. When I pulled up the site on his one very slow computer he finally agreed to take us back to the airport without charging us (as was stated on their site) and it took over a day for them to return the 40 dollars they charged without my approval. This place is not relaxing at all, it is so far from everything and there were hardly any guest there at all that we were scared to leave our rooms. In May, Costa Rica has these insects that look like roaches and THAT hotel was infested with them (all other hotels around Costa Rica were not). You can hear them banging at our window like large hail and when we tried to walk out to see if we can have some dinner at the hotel restaurant, the hallway was pitchblack and from what little light there was you can see hundreds of these things flying around and dying or dead on the floor. It was one of the worst experiences and definitely not worth the extra few dollars you save by staying here. There is nothing in the vicinity of this hotel....all local houses and it is not in walking distance to ANYTHING. Stay closer to the airport, this place is NO paradise!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel, DO NOT STAY HERE. Not worth the money you save! Horrible service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Manager at Hotel Paradise, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry for your misunderstanding our webpage does state that we have a shuttle to and from the airport, from 7am to 7pm, 24 hour advance reservation for a FEE. To our best recollection you payed $40 for a taxi you chose at the airport. Thanks for pointing out that we tried to please and correct your misunderstanding by having our manager drive you both to the airport for FREE, even though it was not our obligation. We strive to keep our customers happy and satisfied.
We are a tropical country and we do get in May June bugs that some people find scarry and unnerving even though they dont bite or do anything. It is normal experience in the tropics and in the Southern US.
Finally, we did point out to you that there was a wonderful Italian restaurant, bars and other attractions with in walking distance from the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Very friendly staff, specially the owner Raul. Very clean hotel and rooms, nothing fancy, but our needs are taken care of. The price is worth the view alone, you feel like you are on top of the world or at least Costa Rica. We will definitely be back again before of 4 month trip here is over.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Manager at Hotel Paradise, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank your such wonderful comments. Here at Paradise we strive to give each customer the best possible experience during the stay with us. We are happy you had a great experience and look forward to giving you the best service on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The staff at Paradise Hotel are absolutely the best. The smiling faces and caring attitude of every single staff member made my visit so relaxing, and I felt extremely comfortable there - thank you Jennifer, Julia, Andrea, everyone I'm not mentioning and of course the owner/manager Raul. You will never see a view quite like the one from this hotel; it looked like someone threw handfulls of stars into a giant bowl every night! I've been all over the world but this was the best view ever!

You can back in the heart of San Jose in fifteen minutes so it is convenient.

Room Tip: There is no bad view. My room was small and not what I would call luxurious but it was nice, clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Manager at Hotel Paradise, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for tanking the time to write the review. We value your comments. Here at Paradise we strive to give our customer the best service and to provide you with a wonderful experience.
We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Lying about everything: about free shuttle service, about the dinstance from the airport. We had the worst experience in our lives. They advertise shuttle service, but don't provide any. We called them the night before and they promise to pay for the taxi since the driver of the shuttle had a day off. They did not pay, but promise a shuttle service to the airport, which they did not provide either. We ended up paying twice more than expected. The entire dealstinks. The have a lot of other bad thinks about this hotel. The worst part is that Best Western support this fraud along with Orbits which sold us this hotel.

Room Tip: stay away from them
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Manager at Hotel Paradise, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We are sorry you had such a disappointing experience with us. Our shuttle policies are very clear: "WE OFFER SHUTTLE SERVICE WITH A 24 HOUR PRIOR RESERVATION, 7AM TO 7PM, FOR A FEE" we do not understand what part of our policy you did not understand. We will try to find a way to improve and be more specific in order to avoid more misunderstandings and confusion.
Thank you for your review. We value every customer feedback and comments in order to correct and improve our customer care and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We were very happy once we arrived to see the amazing view of the city. My only recommendation is to take a taxi or shuttle. We rented a car and it was at night. We would never have found it if we didn't have a GPS. The roads are very narrow and steep. The hotel was nice and the breakfast was excellent. Staff was very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Manager at Hotel Paradise, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your review we value every customer feedback and comments.

Following your review and other customers advise we have spent time and money on new hotel signs that have been posted on the light post from the main highway to the front gate of the hotel.
Since doing so our customer have commented on the ease of finding the hotel.

Nevertheless, since there are no street signs in CR we recomend for our customers to use GPS or to call the front desk for directions.

We appreciate and thank you for your great comment and advise. Here at Paradaise we are trying to improve to provide you with the best experience during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradise

Address: 2 KM S Iglesia San Antonio de Escazu, Escazu 23556, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Paradise Inn & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Paradise 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Jose, Costa Rica, the Paradise Cosmetic Inn Surgical Recovery Center is just a few minutes away from all major hospitals and plastic surgeons clinics, airport. Our unique surgical recovery center inn was built especially for patients looking for the best surgical retreat and aftercare. Costa Rica plastic surgery, plastic surgeons and surgeons in general are world renowned for their skill expertise and professionalism. That is why Costa Rica excels in the field of medical tourism. Enjoy the best views of Central Valley on top of a breathtaking mountain. We offer a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere in our beautiful new accommodations. Our English speaking nurses and professional staff are waiting to pamper and indulge your every need! Come and recover in the serene ambience of Costa Rica's natural beauty! Come and enjoy Costa Rica the country that offers the best medical tourism in the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paradise Inn And Spa
Best Western Paradise Hotel San Jose
Hotel Paradise Costa Rica/Escazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.