We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly reception, clean, spacious rooms, delicious breakfast included. Excellent value for money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave. Escazu Complex, Prospero Fernandez Hwy, Escazu 1250, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly reception, clean, spacious rooms, delicious breakfast included. Excellent value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is situated in a gated, safe community. It has a modern and very clean feel to it. Within the 'compound' It is surrounded by an array of outstanding restaurants, specialty shops, all in short very safe walking distance. The personnel is very friendly. Our room/appartment had a small kitchenette/living area and one bedroom.
The breakfast consists of 2 hot dish choices, cold meats, local delicacies, delicious fresh fruits and even waffles one has the pleasure to bake themselves. This place is at about 20 mins from the airport, thus not too far but still far enough to be quiet. It is utterly recommendable to business people and tourists alike. We were told that people often use it for short stays.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Anne-Marie W,

We really appreciate you taking the time to review in detail your experience while here with us. The location of the hotel is one of the best features and we are happy you enjoyed the surroundings a lot. The breakfast has a big variety of options to choose from being the Waffle station one of the favorites among our guests. We are delighted to know that you really liked our breakfast selections.
We hope to have you back soon again so you can enjoy our beautiful hotel even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    61
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
47
16
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrison, Arkansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Location, friendly staff, wonderful breakfast, free laundry, beautiful property. Ask for Alonzo Chaves at the front desk as a wonderful, safe driver. He is great! Juan Vargos is an excellent hotel staff member. You are in good hands with both gentlemen

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear QR365
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for your great comments. We are very happy to learn that you liked our accommodations and enjoyed our amenities.
We hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel is great for business travelers on a long stay. Positives to consider:
1) Near to many restaurants and shopping. There's a Starbucks across the street, and a mall 10 minutes walk from the hotel.
2) Service and staff are all very friendly.
3) Breakfast/staff is positive and helpful. Keeps breakfast running and the dining room clean all morning.
4) Small, but useful gym. 2 treadmills.
5) Rooms consistent with expectations for a residence inn.


Watchouts
1) Not Many...no consistent hotel shuttle from hotel to nearby places.
2) Close to Escazu but a little longer to the airport.

Overall, a good experience. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear My_Feedback_4_U,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your feedback. We are happy to learn that you had a good experience with us. We look forward to having you again very soon with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Without a doubt, the property is remarkable in that it is exceptionally clean, very conveniently located, near great restaurants and other services every employee I encountered was so professional and caring that I truly feel it is my Home Away from Home.

In fact, however, the greatest asset of The Residence Inn Escazu are the employees! From the Parking Lot Attendants, the Front Desk Staff, Housekeepers and the Maintenance Team, everyone is so personable and genuinely interested in ensuring the guest is comfortable and happy during their stay at the property. Although everyone employee at the property is outstanding, Front Desk employees Luis, Adriana, Geiner, Marlon, Maria and Jeffrey and Maintenance Staff Members Danny, Steven and Simay are truly exceptional, in that everything they do they do with a genuine smile.

Residence Inn by Marriott in San Jose, Escazu, is highly recommended!

Vladimir Korolev

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Korolev,
We really appreciate you taking the time to review the Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu. Your comments make us smile and happy knowing that you had such a great experience with us. The staff takes lots of pride in providing exceptional customer service and I thank you for recognizing their outstanding job especially from Luis, Adriana, Geiner, Marlon, Maria, Jeffrey, Danny, Steven and Simay. We are delighted to know that we have become your Home Away from Home.
We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel exceeded all our expectations ! Excellent Location, Excellent food & facilities, Excellent Service and Staff. Family Friendly and Pet Friendly. Great as well for Business trips. Highly recommended.
We stayed here for 17 nights with kids and pet and for the first time ever, an hotel exceeded all expections we had.

Thanks to all staff for making our stay wonderful !

Room Tip: Pet Friendly / Family Friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Hugo N,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to learn that your stay was perfect and that we exceeded your expectations. For us our customer satisfaction is very important and this is why reading these comments make us very happy.
We hope to host you all back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel is fantastic for business travellers. It is not a great location if you are a tourist bringing a family (just because this is the city, and you want to be out in the country/on the beach), but if you have business to attend to in the San Jose area, I can't recommend this hotel enough.
The suites are super.

Room Tip: Get the suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Tee Jay R,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy that you had a great stay with us during your business trip. We look forward to having you back soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Panama, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Staff was very friendly, spoke English and were very accommodating. Rooms were clean and nicely furnished. The location is great. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Within walking distance of the CIMA Escazu Hospital. They offer a discount if you have someone staying at the hospital, so be sure to ask. They will also fix you a bag of fruit to take with you to the hospital each morning if you ask for it. Additionally they will do some grocery shopping for you and deliver the food to your room. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear TxParrothead1,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and experience about the Residence Inn Marriott San Jose Escazu. Having someone in the hospital is not easy and we are very happy to know that you felt very comfortable here with us.
Our best wishes for all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu

Address: Ave. Escazu Complex, Prospero Fernandez Hwy, Escazu 1250, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Escazu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#3 Business Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Marriott and Expedia so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
Residence Inn By Marriott San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.