We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Long term stay !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave. Escazu Complex, Prospero Fernandez Hwy, Escazu 1250, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Rate Discount
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Escazu
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Long term stay !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a perfect hotel for long term stay. Close to lots of Nice restaurants and also close to downtown. The rooms are studios with full kitchen (all appliances). Just missed some stuff in the fridge as it was totally empty. I also missed a room service as the hotel has none. Besides that is a perfect place for long stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. We are glad to know that you liked the spacious rooms with the fully equipped kitchen.
We hope to have the opportunity to see you back soon in your home away from home.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    45
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
34
10
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We only stayed one night, but really liked the accommodations. This is in a better part of town, with shopping, Starbucks, restaurants, etc all right at hand.
The rooms felt spacious and it was a very good location for our first visit, first night in Costa Rica.
The free breakfast we received with our rate was good with made to order omelets and a make your own Belgian Waffle machine.
The service was very professional and friendly. We felt welcomed.
We drove right past it the first time and had to circle back around on the toll road - don't miss that turn!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
It was a pleasure to have you here the first night of your first visit in Costa Rica. We hope that you had a great time in the country and that Costa Rica becomes one of your favorite places to visit. Thank you for sharing your comments about the omelet station. Our Restaurant staff takes a lot of pride in the quality of the food and the variety of options.
Hope to see you in the near future again in your home away from home “The Residence Inn by Marriott”
Warm Regards,
Claudia Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night before heading back home. The hotel was immaculate, the front desk was excellent and the complimentary breakfast was one of the best we had all week. I was amazed to find an omelette chef and full buffet to choose from. We were also able to purchase our departure tax for a few extra dollars which was worth every penny because the lines at the airport were extremely long. Highly recommend and we are a family of 5.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about the experience on the last night of your trip here in Costa Rica. We are very happy to know that you and the family enjoyed the hotel, the breakfast and the service of our staff.
We look forward having back again at the Residence Inn by Marriott.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great location within walking distance of the mall and very good restaurants. The staff was very nice, but not very helpful in setting up any sightseeing trips or other activities. The room had loud a/c that blew directly on me while sleeping. I constantly woke up due to noise.

There are a number of private cabs waiting to take you to the office or wherever you need to go at double the rate of the metered cabs that require a 5 minute wait. Recommend either offering them half the rate or asking the hotel to get you a metered cab.

At checkout, they converted to USD without asking at a significant markup.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor. Street noise can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about the experience. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations this time. We take guest satisfaction very seriously and appreciate when a guest let us know where we need to improve and what we can focus on. We have shared your comments with the staff and have looked into the different feedback you have given us to work on this.
We hope that you give us the opportunity to host you back again and show you the true Marriott way.
We look forward having back again at the Residence Inn by Marriott.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed there for two weeks. It is located in a very nice area, walking distance to shops, a mall, hospital, many world class restaurants, Starbucks across the street and two supermarkets within a short drive, one of them being a Walmart. The security in the area is guaranteed by mall security guards holding shotguns so big that I have never seen then out in the open like that. This hotel has the same perks a Residence Inn has in the US, one of the perks being the social hour with free finger foods, salad and non-alcoholic refreshments (common to other Residence Inn hotels I have stayed at) but at this property it is not every weekday, on the 1st week it was held on Tue, Wed and Thu, and on the 2nd week on Wed and Thu only. No alcohol was served as in other social hours I have participated. Huge parking lot, if spots are not available at the hotel, you can use the mall parking.
They had a supermarket shopper service, in property coin laundry and complimentary breakfast. All rooms have cabled and Wifi available. The only detail I would have fixed is the water that does not get heated properly at some early hours. Besides that it is a highly recommended hotel.
A nice touch was when my wife arrived at a later day during my recent stay; they cared to send her a small fruit basket and a welcome card. Well done.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for allowing us to be your home away from home here during your trips to San Jose. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and letting us know how much you enjoyed all the amenities of the hotel and the places neear by. We are glad to know that your wife enjoyed the fruit basket.
We look forward hosting you again in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here last night (3-14-2013) and will be returning next week. This property is next to a Starbucks and a half dozen of the best restaurants in the city. It's also in arguably the best commercial development district in the city. And though hopefully you won't need to visit, the newest, most modern hospital in the country is also next door.

For business travelers, I highly recommend this property. The bed was comfortable. The wifi connection was outstanding, and the rooms were incredibly clean...though they should be given the young age of the property.

The downsides are minimal. Though the rooms have kitchens complete with large refrigerator, electric stove and dishwasher, there is no minibar (in case that's something you want), and the bathrooms are somewhat spartan. I wouldn't describe the price as an incredible value, but it's decent. And I suspect that if you are planning an extended stay, the hotel will work with you on the price.

One final thing I would note is that the staff members were uniformly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay. It is great to know that you enjoyed your time with us and particularly the WI-FI connection, the room, location and service. It is nice to hear that you liked our hotel so much. Thank you also for recommending us.
We look forward hosting you again soon in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I had an accident and was treated over time at CIMA as an outpatient and the staff at this hotel was outstanding. They catered to me and assisted me and had an amazing bilingual staff that was friendly and caring in a distressful time. I loved this hotel so much that I will continue to come here and recommend it to anyone that is visiting. There location is incredible. I really can not say enough amazing things about this place. A hotel can be an impersonal place but the people there add the heart and this place is full of love.

Room Tip: I was always located on the top floor. Fantastic every time, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Your friends at the Residence Inn by Marriott hope that you had a successful recovery and that you are doing much better. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to take care of you during this time; especially when you needed us the most. We thank you for your loyalty and preference.
We look forward to have you back soon in your home in Costa Rica, the “Residence Inn by Marriott”.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu

Address: Ave. Escazu Complex, Prospero Fernandez Hwy, Escazu 1250, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Escazu
#1 Family Hotel in Escazu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
Residence Inn By Marriott San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.