We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave. Escazu Complex, Prospero Fernandez Hwy, Escazu 1250, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Escazu
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice property, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great location within walking distance of the mall and very good restaurants. The staff was very nice, but not very helpful in setting up any sightseeing trips or other activities. The room had loud a/c that blew directly on me while sleeping. I constantly woke up due to noise.

There are a number of private cabs waiting to take you to the office or wherever you need to go at double the rate of the metered cabs that require a 5 minute wait. Recommend either offering them half the rate or asking the hotel to get you a metered cab.

At checkout, they converted to USD without asking at a significant markup.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor. Street noise can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about the experience. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations this time. We take guest satisfaction very seriously and appreciate when a guest let us know where we need to improve and what we can focus on. We have shared your comments with the staff and have looked into the different feedback you have given us to work on this.
We hope that you give us the opportunity to host you back again and show you the true Marriott way.
We look forward having back again at the Residence Inn by Marriott.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    40
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
29
9
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed there for two weeks. It is located in a very nice area, walking distance to shops, a mall, hospital, many world class restaurants, Starbucks across the street and two supermarkets within a short drive, one of them being a Walmart. The security in the area is guaranteed by mall security guards holding shotguns so big that I have never seen then out in the open like that. This hotel has the same perks a Residence Inn has in the US, one of the perks being the social hour with free finger foods, salad and non-alcoholic refreshments (common to other Residence Inn hotels I have stayed at) but at this property it is not every weekday, on the 1st week it was held on Tue, Wed and Thu, and on the 2nd week on Wed and Thu only. No alcohol was served as in other social hours I have participated. Huge parking lot, if spots are not available at the hotel, you can use the mall parking.
They had a supermarket shopper service, in property coin laundry and complimentary breakfast. All rooms have cabled and Wifi available. The only detail I would have fixed is the water that does not get heated properly at some early hours. Besides that it is a highly recommended hotel.
A nice touch was when my wife arrived at a later day during my recent stay; they cared to send her a small fruit basket and a welcome card. Well done.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for allowing us to be your home away from home here during your trips to San Jose. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and letting us know how much you enjoyed all the amenities of the hotel and the places neear by. We are glad to know that your wife enjoyed the fruit basket.
We look forward hosting you again in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here last night (3-14-2013) and will be returning next week. This property is next to a Starbucks and a half dozen of the best restaurants in the city. It's also in arguably the best commercial development district in the city. And though hopefully you won't need to visit, the newest, most modern hospital in the country is also next door.

For business travelers, I highly recommend this property. The bed was comfortable. The wifi connection was outstanding, and the rooms were incredibly clean...though they should be given the young age of the property.

The downsides are minimal. Though the rooms have kitchens complete with large refrigerator, electric stove and dishwasher, there is no minibar (in case that's something you want), and the bathrooms are somewhat spartan. I wouldn't describe the price as an incredible value, but it's decent. And I suspect that if you are planning an extended stay, the hotel will work with you on the price.

One final thing I would note is that the staff members were uniformly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay. It is great to know that you enjoyed your time with us and particularly the WI-FI connection, the room, location and service. It is nice to hear that you liked our hotel so much. Thank you also for recommending us.
We look forward hosting you again soon in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I had an accident and was treated over time at CIMA as an outpatient and the staff at this hotel was outstanding. They catered to me and assisted me and had an amazing bilingual staff that was friendly and caring in a distressful time. I loved this hotel so much that I will continue to come here and recommend it to anyone that is visiting. There location is incredible. I really can not say enough amazing things about this place. A hotel can be an impersonal place but the people there add the heart and this place is full of love.

Room Tip: I was always located on the top floor. Fantastic every time, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Your friends at the Residence Inn by Marriott hope that you had a successful recovery and that you are doing much better. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to take care of you during this time; especially when you needed us the most. We thank you for your loyalty and preference.
We look forward to have you back soon in your home in Costa Rica, the “Residence Inn by Marriott”.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Loved this place. As much as we did not enjoy Escazu, we loved this hotel. It wasn't insanely busy and the staff was extremely helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and have great amenities like dishes, stoves, fridges, etc. Nice not to have to go out constantly to eat. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning. We found it to have plenty of options and everything was fresh. The pool is a nice area and the fitness center is quiet and handy. If you like to shop, this is a great location. We dislike busy city centers and only stayed here because we had points and no other Marriotts had room. That being said, the hotel was great we just did not enjoy the location. Many people would, though! It's a few blocks away from the Multi Plex with great shopping. And there are a few shops and restaurants right outside the hotel. Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Stay here if you like trendy areas with lots of action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Your “Home away from Home”, The Residence Inn by Marriott thanks you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. We are glad to know that even though the location was not to your satisfaction, the hotel met and exceeded your expectations. Your feedback about the breakfast is highly appreciated. The team has been working really hard to keep improving the variety during breakfast. Thank you so much for your loyalty to our brand and for being one of our Marriott Rewards members.
We look forward to have you back soon in your home in Costa Rica, the “Residence Inn by Marriott”.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were in Costa Rica specifically to have dental work performed. The management and staff at this hotel are caring, empathetic, and professional. When they found out I was having dental surgery, they brought my wife and I a wonderful soft vegetable soup! The room and the hotel are wonderfully cleaned daily and the entire area of Escazu rivaled top notch American city areas.

Room Tip: I am a very light sleeper and requested a room away from road noise and interior noise. They had my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your stay. It was our pleasure to host you and to take care of you during your dental treatment. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and that our location is perfect for the purpose of your trip. Thank you also for the comments about our staff. Everyone in the team gives their best efforts to take care of our guests especially when they need us the most. We look forward to have you back soon in your home in Costa Rica, the “Residence Inn by Marriott”.
Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hotel was undergoing renovations when I last went, rooms are spacious and personnel is very professional. Breakfast is not the best but they have a basic morning buffet. Internet is included at no extra cost...lots of places to eat nearby: hotel is located inside a shopping plaza with restaurants at walking distance, or you can take a car and cross the freeway where a big shopping mall with more restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back overlooking the river away from the adjacent freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Miguel,

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience experience during the 2 days that we had some work done in the lobby to beautify the look of this.
We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience at the Residence Inn by Marriott Escazu and for the comments about the staff. We hope to host you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu

Address: Ave. Escazu Complex, Prospero Fernandez Hwy, Escazu 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Escazu
#1 Business Hotel in Escazu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
Residence Inn By Marriott San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.