We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and incredibly well-located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave. Escazu Complex, Prospero Fernandez Hwy, Escazu 1250, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Escazu
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Affordable and incredibly well-located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here last night (3-14-2013) and will be returning next week. This property is next to a Starbucks and a half dozen of the best restaurants in the city. It's also in arguably the best commercial development district in the city. And though hopefully you won't need to visit, the newest, most modern hospital in the country is also next door.

For business travelers, I highly recommend this property. The bed was comfortable. The wifi connection was outstanding, and the rooms were incredibly clean...though they should be given the young age of the property.

The downsides are minimal. Though the rooms have kitchens complete with large refrigerator, electric stove and dishwasher, there is no minibar (in case that's something you want), and the bathrooms are somewhat spartan. I wouldn't describe the price as an incredible value, but it's decent. And I suspect that if you are planning an extended stay, the hotel will work with you on the price.

One final thing I would note is that the staff members were uniformly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay. It is great to know that you enjoyed your time with us and particularly the WI-FI connection, the room, location and service. It is nice to hear that you liked our hotel so much. Thank you also for recommending us.
We look forward hosting you again soon in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    43
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
32
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I had an accident and was treated over time at CIMA as an outpatient and the staff at this hotel was outstanding. They catered to me and assisted me and had an amazing bilingual staff that was friendly and caring in a distressful time. I loved this hotel so much that I will continue to come here and recommend it to anyone that is visiting. There location is incredible. I really can not say enough amazing things about this place. A hotel can be an impersonal place but the people there add the heart and this place is full of love.

Room Tip: I was always located on the top floor. Fantastic every time, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Your friends at the Residence Inn by Marriott hope that you had a successful recovery and that you are doing much better. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to take care of you during this time; especially when you needed us the most. We thank you for your loyalty and preference.
We look forward to have you back soon in your home in Costa Rica, the “Residence Inn by Marriott”.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Loved this place. As much as we did not enjoy Escazu, we loved this hotel. It wasn't insanely busy and the staff was extremely helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and have great amenities like dishes, stoves, fridges, etc. Nice not to have to go out constantly to eat. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning. We found it to have plenty of options and everything was fresh. The pool is a nice area and the fitness center is quiet and handy. If you like to shop, this is a great location. We dislike busy city centers and only stayed here because we had points and no other Marriotts had room. That being said, the hotel was great we just did not enjoy the location. Many people would, though! It's a few blocks away from the Multi Plex with great shopping. And there are a few shops and restaurants right outside the hotel. Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Stay here if you like trendy areas with lots of action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Your “Home away from Home”, The Residence Inn by Marriott thanks you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. We are glad to know that even though the location was not to your satisfaction, the hotel met and exceeded your expectations. Your feedback about the breakfast is highly appreciated. The team has been working really hard to keep improving the variety during breakfast. Thank you so much for your loyalty to our brand and for being one of our Marriott Rewards members.
We look forward to have you back soon in your home in Costa Rica, the “Residence Inn by Marriott”.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were in Costa Rica specifically to have dental work performed. The management and staff at this hotel are caring, empathetic, and professional. When they found out I was having dental surgery, they brought my wife and I a wonderful soft vegetable soup! The room and the hotel are wonderfully cleaned daily and the entire area of Escazu rivaled top notch American city areas.

Room Tip: I am a very light sleeper and requested a room away from road noise and interior noise. They had my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your stay. It was our pleasure to host you and to take care of you during your dental treatment. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and that our location is perfect for the purpose of your trip. Thank you also for the comments about our staff. Everyone in the team gives their best efforts to take care of our guests especially when they need us the most. We look forward to have you back soon in your home in Costa Rica, the “Residence Inn by Marriott”.
Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hotel was undergoing renovations when I last went, rooms are spacious and personnel is very professional. Breakfast is not the best but they have a basic morning buffet. Internet is included at no extra cost...lots of places to eat nearby: hotel is located inside a shopping plaza with restaurants at walking distance, or you can take a car and cross the freeway where a big shopping mall with more restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back overlooking the river away from the adjacent freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Miguel,

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience experience during the 2 days that we had some work done in the lobby to beautify the look of this.
We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience at the Residence Inn by Marriott Escazu and for the comments about the staff. We hope to host you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I had such a wonderful vacation in Costa Rica thanks to this wonderful staff. Everything from checking in to checking out was handled professionally. Miquel & Crystil at the front desk were so helpful and personable (spoke english very well), Jorge did a great job with his kitchen staff who were always cheerful in the morning. The breakfast was excellent with great variety of fresh fruits and juices, the evening social's tamales were too die for. I can't say enough about the hotel staff and the convenience of the hotel. Thank you all for a wonderful vacation, I miss you all. Janet

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Janet,

We miss you too. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and for acknowledging the staff and their service. Everyone at the Residence Inn by Marriott Escazu takes a lot of pride to serve our guests and to make unforgettable memories.
We hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Home away from home as always. This Residence inn has the standard you would expect from other Residence Inn. We stayed for 1 night here before going to other places in Costa Rica. Getting here from the San Jose airport cost about $30, and getting a cab at the airport was very easy (we don't speak Spanish). The hotel is around the shopping and resturant area (so easy to find a place to eat) but not busy at all. It was clean, and breakfast was excellent as usual. Pool (outdoor) was not heated, and the exercise room was nice.

Our room was clean and comfortable.We left in the morning to Tobias airport which took about 20 minutes ($25). The cabs were in hotel parking lot so we didn't have to wait.

Overall, a very nice and relaxing stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having choosing us as your home away from home one of our nights in Costa Rica. We hope to have you back soon in your Costa Rica home; the Residence Inn by Marriott Escazu.
We appreciate you sharing your experience during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu

Address: Ave. Escazu Complex, Prospero Fernandez Hwy, Escazu 1250, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Escazu
#1 Business Hotel in Escazu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
Residence Inn By Marriott San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.