We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan Charm!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon Escazu

Save Saved
You added Hotel Beacon Escazu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Beacon Escazu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 mts Oeste del Parque Central, Escazu 4013, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Escazu
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tuscan Charm!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Outstanding hotel! We had the Junior Suite in an ideal location. The floors are gorgeous tile rather than carpeting, which I loved........rooms were cleaned to a pristine condition everyday; I was impressed that the down comforters were a
lso changed each day; very quiet if your placed further back in the hotel. Very charming Tuscan decor, and was told it was built in 2009, so the condition is ideal. The food was very expensive off the menu, however one of the waiters told me about the special at lunch called "The Executive," which was around $11.00 USD. It was a choice of chicken, steak or fish.....all excellent with grilled veggies, black rice and beans(of course of staple of Costa Rica,) plaintains(delicious!) salad. The tea was divine with a wonderful sweet and refreshing lime flavor. There was also a choice between coconut or mango juice.........I recommend the mango juice!!! ( : Another plus was security with locked gates for any car or person that enters. All the staff and waiters were wonderful~~Leo at the front desk is a ray of sunshine in the mornings. (: The surrounding area was a culture shock, but we soon became accustomed, and the natives were very friendly and helpful. I would give this hotel 4 **** If not for the extreme prices of food, I would rate it 5; find somewhere else to eat. Breakfast is free, but not that great.

Room Tip: Book a room at the back of the hotel......be sure to ask for a beautiful view. The street is quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    46
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
21
79
15
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Porvenir, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This beautiful boutique hotel surprised us when we found it in a less than beautiful area of Escazu. But once we parked our car underground and went up into the hotel, we left the city behind. It was like finding a secret garden in the middle of a busy street. There was an open courtyard where we had breakfast and a running stream that passed below our table in the restaurant so it felt like we were surrounded by nature. We had a suite on the top floor and everything was first class from the king sized beds with lovely linens and many pillows to the fluffy towels and cosy robes. The suite had a bed and full bathroom on the lower floor as well as a second 1/2 bath. The loft above held the other bed. The plan was well thought out to accommodate two couples , a family, or 2 business associates as in our case. There was a luxurious jacuzzi but be forewarned...you must fill it well in advance because it seemed to take forever and the water didn't seem hot enough. We gave up on it, too tired to wait. The hotel is tastefully done and feels more European than tropical. We had a welcome drink at the bar and the bartender, Mainor was a wonderful diplomat for the hotel. He was delightful and had someone bring out the salmon and tuna to show us the freshness and quality. He recommended wine and since it was a slow Sunday night, he turned into our very attentive waiter in the restaurant. We live in Costa Rica and service is sometimes lacking. Not in this hotel! Mainor was perfect. The restaurant was lovely and the food very good with a nice presentation. They had thrown a very successful Halloween part the night before, so they were short on a few items. I will have to return...I hear the scallops are to die for. The Beacon is certainly a hotel that I would recommend to my most discerning friends and family...a true delight

Room Tip: The suite on the top floor was huge , quiet, and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra R, Director de Recepción at Hotel Beacon Escazu, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi 5puravida5!

Thank you for your wonderful comment!!!

It is just great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us that much and
be sure that we will tell Minor about your feedback! :-)

We would love to welcome you soon again for arrange you another excellent stay
in our Beacon Escazú.

Your Beacon Escazú - Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

This boutique hotel is beautiful. We were only able to stay here for one evening right before we flew home but we loved it. We were also upgraded to an executive suite when we checked in, which made it even better!

No but for just over £70 for one night we had this enormous room with floor to ceiling sliding glass doors, king size bed with enough pillows for 10 people and a sweet bathroom.

Very clean, classy and worth every penny. Oh and try the restaurant...the food literally melts in your mouth. The only down side to the restaurant is that they currently (I don't know why) are not serving alcohol - but we were informed that we could bring our own bottle of wine, so we did. Delicious!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Beacon Escazu, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hello RaychWiebe!

Thank you so much for your comments!
It makes us really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Executive Suite
and even more proud that you gave us a 100% (!!!) recommendation!
And I am glad to let you know that the next time when you will visit us,
you will also be able to buy wine or alcohol in our hotel because we already sell liqueurs again. ;-)

I appreciate to say 'Thank you' in name of all Beacon employees!

We hope to welcome you soon again in the 'Beacon Escazú'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san pedro
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We only got to stay here for a real short time but the property is beautiful. The room is spacious. The manager was very helpful with the exchanging of currency. Beware though, the two blocks we walked to get to the local bank was a bit shady. The bank didn't have an outdoor ATM and the doors were heavily chained. Odd! Make sure you have your local currency upon arriving here.

The spacious shower was great! I don't think we got to see the beautiful surroundings that everyone kept referring to in their reviews. It must have been in the opposite direction of the local bank.

Also, make your shuttle service from there a little bit early. Our guy was late with five minutes to spare, but thank goodness he was able to talk the local airlines to let us board.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Beacon Escazu, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback!

We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you soon again.

Sunny regards from Costa Rica
The Team of the Beacon Escazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

What a jewel we found in the city of Escazu (Near San Jose, Costa Rica). It is extremely well desiged and makes you feel surrounded by nature right in the middle of town. Luckily we met the owners while we were there, and it explained more about the hotel....caring, and hands on, businessmen you want to do business with. From the manager to the chef (Jose Mar-who totally loves what he does) all were friendly, helpful and professional. In addition-WHAT A BARGAIN!! Connie and Nat Ballou - Seattle WA

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the city are wonderful but a little more noisy with street traffic. We chose i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra R, Director de Recepción at Hotel Beacon Escazu, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi Connie B!

Thank you so much for your great feedback!

We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & also just have good words about our fine dining restaurant The Muse.

We would be more than happy to welcome you again in our hotel and you will always find present specials, packages and promotions on our webpage.

Your Beacon Escazu - Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ball Ground GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Conveniently located near the San Jose International Airport and Tobias Bolanos Airport. The hotel is within walking distance to the Fresh Market. When I needed a flash drive, we walked to a store within the same block. The Food is EXCELLENT. Front Desk staff is very knowledgeable. I hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra R, Director de Recepción at Hotel Beacon Escazu, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Hi MozartBallGround!

Thank you for your great comments!

It is an honor to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
You are always welcome and we hope to see yo soon again!

Your Beacon Escazu - Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozone Park, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I had a two week vacation planned with my wife and my idea was to stay at the beacon escazu for the first two nights and then move on. The location is ideal. I've heard many complaints from other travelers how much they didn't like staying in San Jose Central so I looked for something close by. This is a very nice and quiet hotel off the main beat. The hotel is elegant and cozy and doesn't have that feeling of a major hotel in a major city. I always felt the smaller a hotel, the more customer service and attention to detail you get.

You will feel right at home. The amenities are much more than most places offer. Beautiful clean rooms, free wifi, free international calls, free secured parking, free breakfast, gym, jacuzzi, swimming pool, sauna, rooftop, and the best part is the amazing staff. Leo Jimenez working the front desk was one of the best employees I have met. I had a horrible experience my first few hours with my wifes passport and the car rental and upon checking in late, Leo was wonderful with every detail. The comfort and support I was given was unparalleled. I have years of hotel work experience and I have yet to meet staff this nice. All service based industries are made up of staff. This place has the very best Costa Rica has to offer. I will defiantly be back and meet up with my friend again at the Beacon Escazu.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra R, Director de Recepción at Hotel Beacon Escazu, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Hi Adam S!

Thank you so much for your detailled feedback!

We can read in every line that you enjoyed your stay in our Botique hotel as a 100%.
This is more than an honor for us, it's a mission which we like to complete for every guest who stays with us. It makes us proud to receive feedback like yours!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel and to arrange another unforgettable stay in Costa Rica!

Your Team of the Beacon Escazu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beacon Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon Escazu

Address: 150 mts Oeste del Parque Central, Escazu 4013, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Escazu
#3 Spa Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon Escazu 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Escazú is nestled on the hillsides overlooking Costa Rica’s mountainous terrains. It was designed in the Spanish colonial style that characterizes the town of Escazú, while also incorporating a modern touch and evoking a sense of rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Beacon Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beacon Escazu Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon Escazu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.