We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gteat experience, very friendly and accommodating.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Mar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel del Mar
Apartado Postal 31, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Quepos
San Fransisco
1 review
“Gteat experience, very friendly and accommodating.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

The staff here was wonderful to us. They had great advice about tours and restaurants. It is a small place with very modest rooms. We were comfortable with that because at $30 per night, it was a great value.

One of the receptionists is also a nature guide, and he gave us a wonderful tour of the national park. He is very friendly and casual.

The only noise we experienced was the early morning arrival of monkeys who jumped on our roof. I didn't mind being woken by them. It was fun. That may vary by when you visit. There weren't a lot of tourists in Manuel Antonio when we were there and it was like having the whole beach virtually to ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

Stayed at this hotel over New Year's period on our ten day trip to CR. Manuel Antonio is a pretty cool place to visit, just get to the national park early to spot wildlife and also hike up the trails behind the Hotel Espadilla. The squirrel monkeys come down from behind here and cross the road down to the pharmacy everynight around 4.30 to 5 pm(ish) We saw sloths, baby sloths (all three-toed), monos titis, white-faced cappuchins, racoons and agoutis very very easily. Not too many birds though. A lot of people miss out Manuel Antonio, but my advice is to go and have a look and if you like it stay longer, if you don't then you can easily move on. It only takes a few hours to see the National Park. If I were you I stay nearer to the Park and miss the Hotel del Mar, the access route to the park has changed (from that of the latest CR Lonely Planet) to encourage revegetation. This puts you on a quiet road to the park.

The noise at Hotel del Mar was absolutely unbearable (it's situated right on the main road). Apart from that the guys at the hotel were very friendly and the room (we had a king-sized one) was clean and very comfortable (seems better than the other rooms). Hot water was sporadic, but who needs it when it's hot and humid. No bugs, but it is the rainforest! Breakfast was not good.

If you pre-pay for your accommodation I'd watch out they charged us in colones, with the variable exchange rate and the fact that they charged us on two separate days meant that we overpaid on the stay by US$20. Even though the website that we booked through quoted everything in US dollars and some places in CR can actually charge credit cards in US dollars.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Noise from road
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

Manuel Antonio was the only part of our honeymoon where we had some difficulty booking a reasonably priced room due to the high season. Relying on the reviews here, we were excited to have a room at Hotel Del Mar for our entire time in MA for $65/night - actually, came out to $75ish/night after taxes, no discount either for paying in cash.

The one pro of the hotel is the guy at the reception desk from the morning to the early afternoon. He's super nice and very enthusiastic about the area. Gave some great, honest opinions.

Now the cons:

1) The entire time we were there, we felt very unclean. There was mold all over the bathroom. The floors felt dirty to the point we walked around the room in flip flops. We felt wet even with the A/C on. Little bugs crawled all over the tables in the room. And we felt like we were being eaten alive while sleeping. The bed sheets were so thin that you could see the mattress as if there weren't sheets! We slept with our shirts tucked in to close as many openings as possible for those darn buggers.

2) We didn't take a hot shower the entire time we were there, even though we were supposed to have hot water. We had to flush several times on multiple occasions to clear the toilet bowl (not necessarily our faults haha).

3)The included breakfast was sparse compared to what we had at other places around Costa Rica. Slices of watermelon and pineapple. Bread slices that you could toast and put on jam or butter. Some rolls.

I wonder if it underwent a recent change in ownership. From the outside, you could make an argument for it being (at least once) a decent hotel. It looked like there used to be a working fountain and waterfall.

MA was pretty booked as expected. We found a different hotel on our second day only because we got off the bus a stop early for our dinner destination. We asked for a refund for the remaining nights and received it. That is another pro, I guess.

Given the cons, certainly overpriced. And not a great way to spend a honeymoon or any romantic getaway.

  • Liked — Friendly receptionist; Proximity to Manuel Antonio National Park and beaches
  • Disliked — Uncleanliness; "Value"
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

The service is the #1 reason to stay at this hotel. The staff helped us through every step of our visit, and their advice and recommendations were 100% spot-on. No hidden fees or other B.S. from them or the people/services they recommended - they are solid people running a nice, quaint hotel right down the street from a great set of beaches. My only complaints are that the shower was kind of weird and the whole place was a bit humid (hello, it's the rainforest); it's not a 5-star hotel, so you can't expect much luxury here, but it's a beautiful little place in a great location. This was the perfect spot for a weekend getaway for my girlfriend and I, and I highly recommend the Hotel del Mar to anyone traveling through Quepos.

  • Liked — Outstanding service and recommendations for things to do in the Quepos/Manuel Antonio area
  • Disliked — Humidity, no TV
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

This is really cute place overall, nicely decorated and homey. The staff was very nice and enthusiastic, and even offered us a soda when we arrived. Our room (double) had a huuge bed, table, fridge, AC unit, and a cute bamboo closet. There were no problems with bugs because he has screens over the windows (thank goodness).

The bathroom was moderately clean (there were leaves and stuff in the shower..) but it was difficult to figure out how to turn on hot water in the shower (poor boyfriend took a cold shower until the very end, when he noticed a switch ON the shower head itself).

We noticed a weird smell, but couldn't really figure out what it was... until we went to bed. IT WAS THE BED! The cover, sheets and pillow cases smelled like a really dirty towel. I suspect the sheets had been wet, and then with the humidity (since the AC isn't going to be on if the room is vacant) and bacteria grew? It's the smell you get in your shower towel if you keep using it for a month straight without washing it, and it stays damp for a long time. blegh. ended up sleeping with a tshirt on the pillow case, couldn't get the smell out of the tshirt until i washed it when I got home. I suppose we could have made them change the sheets, but we were already tired and in bed when we realized.

Breakfast is sparse - some bread, pastries, and fruit. Location is not bad - about 100 meters near the bus stop you can take to go to Quepos (one direction) or manual antonio park (other direction). walking distance about 150-200 meters up the hill to playa espadilla. There's also short walk downhill to el avion, anaconda, cantina, and various restaurants along the road.

  • Liked — large and roomy, with porch
  • Disliked — the bed smell!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

Stumbled upon this place at the beginning of the rainy season, so wasn't able to take full advantage of the amenities, but overall very happy. The location was perfect, can hear the waves from our room, granted it was during a tropical storm, but was still great. The staff was much warmer than in Jaco, even though only maybe 4 rooms occupied during this off season. The rooms were great; clean bed, bathroom, little kitchen with simple amenities. Was a bit pricey at $70, but after awhile realized that CR was not the bargain spot as thought, was fine. As noted, the location was excellent, at the end of the hotel past the mangrove on the beach is little restaurant/ bar. Casual and delicious. Even having breakfast during the storm, getting your food salted by the sea was doable.
Give the huge boxer Sampson a rub on his neck and you've got a friend for life!
After reading other reviews to compare, never saw the owners, didn't hear of any "breakfast included" and couldn't tell if gay friendly or not for lack of patrons, and only got to see the wildlife in the park.
Could tell you that if you go anywhere in CR during the "green season", be prepared for construction at all hotels!
The nice thing is the night staff throughout MA looks out for you and any "jungle bugs' hanging around.

  • Liked — Bright, cheery, clean rooms.
  • Disliked — Pricey for the value.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

What a great place to stay!
A friend recommended this place to me as he is a regular guest here. The place was very clean, room couldn’t have been more comfortable, and what a terrific team they have working there, and it felt more like a family then anything. Everyone there went out of their way to make sure my stay was super, and one desk clerk went way above and beyond his job in helping me out with a situation that came up in town while on my stay.
The beach is like a 5 minute walk, as well as the few good places to eat and hang out.
I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Liked — Location and Staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Mar

Also Known As:
Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Del Mar Costa Rica/Quepos
Address: Apartado Postal 31, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel del Mar to your Saves list