We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pristine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Tranquilas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Tranquilas
Save Saved
You added Villas Tranquilas to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Quepos, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Cheyenne, WY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pristine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here a few years ago and it was by far the most wonderful vacation. The condos are a few minutes drive out of the beautiful little village, Quepos, CR. Our 3 bedroom condo had a gourmet kitchen with grantie countertops and was very spacious. The kitchen and bathrooms were immaculate and the grounds were well tended. The outdoor kitchen, gazebo and pool were a great place to cook and relax after a day spend hiking and fishing in Manuel Antonio.

Each morning, a group of spider monkeys would come through the trees and linger awhile after having their fill of the fruit bearing trees.

Room Tip: Try to select a condo that looks out onto the pool, gazebo and outdoor kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    6
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Villas Tranquilas is not a Hotel, it's an apartment complex, where units are rented out by the owners.
It has come to my attention that some of the owners are renting their apartments without consent from the City or town, because it was built illegally in a Green Zone ( protected area) by an American archtect/builder and now the owners don't know what will be the fate of their investment .
The development may be shut down at anytime and owners are at odds with each other. Some want to obey the law and go through the legal process and others just think they are above the law and continue renting their apartments knowing full well that the development can be shut down at anytime.
Renters will be extremely inconvenienced, if they have to find new accommodation, and this may be difficult especially during the Holiday season, when it's a busy time in Quepos and Manuel Antonio. You could also lose your payment.
Is it worth the risk? I don't think so.
There's 4 buildings with 4 apartments in each. The accommodations are comfortable.
It gets dark early and the property is not lit properly and I didn't feel safe. Once I called Maria, the manager in the evening and she never answered her phone and I never saw her at the property. My friend and I once had dinner by the pools' gazibo and there was a renter and family having dinner with their a big intimidating guard dog on the lose. I didn't feel comfortable with the experience.
So renter beware!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Villas Tranquilas last year. We booked directly with the owner, that was very pleasant and accommodating and made some excellent recommendations to enhance our vacation experience.
The villas are big and comfortable. The staff were nice, even though there was a language barrier.
Maria, the property manager unfortunatelly was a totally different experience. She was not very friendly and we witnessed her snap at an employee with total disregard toward the guests that witnessed it all.
Maria looked dirty and dressed inappropriately for the position that she holds- she looked like a bag lady at times.
I was recently in touch (26/09/2013) with the same owner I rented before and he informed me Maria is no longer the manager and confided that the owners at this time cannot rent their units legally. She did not elaborate, but apparently it's an issue with the Township not giving out permits, but I know some owners are renting anyway. I'm not comfortable to rent at Vilas Tranquilas at this time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The first thing guests will discover is Maria. She is every guest's 24/7 concierge who is there to make sure everything is perfect. She is a doll! The villas are roomy and comfortable, and the grounds are gorgeous. The pools are beautiful, as is the deck area. We were treated to a wonderful show, put on by about eight squirrel monkeys, in the trees/foliage about 10-15 yards from our patio.
We had a couple of very minor maintenance issues, which were immediately addressed and solved. When staying at VT, be sure to contact Fernando Chavarria, tour guide, who will lead you on wonderful tours of the mangroves, waterfalls, the state park, and more. He is knowledgeable, personable, and very trustworthy. (506-8828-9615).
All-in-all, we had a fabulous time at VT and in Quepos, and we look forward to a return trip very soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at Villas Tranquilas 4/14-4/20/13. As everyone mentioned, Maria Benevant is an excellent host. She is very knowledgable and extremely helpful. Even though we did not get a chance to see her face to face again after our quick and late check-in. She was always just a phone call away and is always accomodating. We loved the property and the villas. We stayed at Villa 13 and every morning we see the trees moving and knew that monkeys were about so we run out to see them. Ana is a sweet, sweet lady who maintain the units. Roxly, Jesus, and another guard (i'm so sorry I forgot his name) always have a ready smile and a greeting. I can't say enough about the staff they make this property feel like home.

The pool is small but is sufficient as the villas were not crowded when we were there and the water is bath water warm which is so awesome. There is also an outdoor kitchen by the pool which was used by other guests while we were there.

The units are clean with two bedroom and two bathrooms. Most of the things that you need are supplied but make sure to bring/buy paper towels and dish detergents. I wish they had more than two bar stools so it would have made it easier for our family to eat. The airconditioning upstairs would not shut off but since we were so busy we did not have time to inform Maria of this. But once you inform Maria of your need you get it right away.

I highly recommend Villas Tranquilas for a quiet, safe, and comfortable place to stay when visiting the Manuel Antonio area. It's a good base for adventure trips and for seeing wildlife. We actually saw two toucans on the property as well as squirrel monkeys and white-faced capuchin monkeys.

Room Tip: Email Maria before your trip and inform her if you have kids or just interested in viewing wildlife...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Our trip to Costa Rica was amazing, this was our second adventure in Costa Rica. Additionally, we planned to get married while on our adventure. The staff at Villa Tranquila is the best, Maria was by far the best and most accomidaiting host along with an amazing staff that really made our stay special. We were planning a very simple wedding, which Marie made very special with a great outdoor location on the property, as well as supplying beautiful flowers, and acting as our photographer.
Maria recommended great hiking locations and beaches, additionally we had a beautiful sunset cruise on a private sail boat for just our group of four after the wedding. Fishing was fantastic, Roosterfish up to 60lbs, plus other tasty fish that El Gran Escape prepared for our lunch and dinner.
Thanks to Marie and her staff for making our holiday and wedding flawless.
Pura Vida.............Mucho Gusto!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for a week in April 2012 (two couples). The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The AC in our room began leaking on our bed on the second day. We reported it to the staff and they immediately took care of the situation. The accommodations were great! We had a wonderful time and can't wait to be back!

Room Tip: This is modest but clean and the staff was awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Tranquilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Tranquilas

Address: Quepos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Tranquilas 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical rainforest retreat in Quepos/Manuel Antonio Costa Rica. Four plantation style villas in each building offer two bedroom, two bath contemporary custom accommodations. Every town home sleeps up to six guests with a fully equipped kitchen. We have two pools for our guests and are one of the most affordable rental communities in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Tranquilas Hotel Quepos
Villas Tranquilas Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Tranquilas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.