We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Tranquilas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Tranquilas
Save Saved
You added Villas Tranquilas to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Quepos, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Found this gem quite by accident as a last minute trip to Manuel Antonio found all the major hotels booked for the weekend. Had a 2 bedroom villa with everything you could want and more. Better than the "big names" in the area for way less money. The only downside was about 10 minutes to the beach which is no big deal.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    6
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kemptville, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I, along with some friends rented a condo at villa Tranquila. What a beautiful, peaceful place. It's located just a few minutes outside of Quepos, in a nice country setting. Very private and as the name says 'tranquil'. The units ate very clean and modern. It is guarded 24 hrs so we felt very safe. Maria is amazing. She booked two of our tours for us which was so helpful.
She also stayed late to welcome us to VT after our long drive from San Jose airport.
We needed some assistance after some of our valuables were stolen out of our car while we were parked in Quepos, so Maria kindly took us to the police station and helped us. We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. It also is just a couple of minutes from the big grocery store (maxi-Pali) which was very convenient. The grounds are beautiful, with many beautiful flowers and trees and the grounds are immaculate. All the staff is very friendly. Carlos, one of the security guards was especially friendly, always wearing a big smile. This would definitely be our choice to stay if we ever came back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our trip to Quepos was fantastic- and we can credit Villas Tranquilas! As soon as we arrived we found the staff was able to provide that sweet spot between attentiveness and privacy that is so rare. On a sweltering day nothing was better than discovering that the condo was already cooled down and Maria was waiting to see what our plans are. Maria is integral to the success of the Villas- each tour we went on the guides spoke of her professionalism and she advocated for us whenever there was a 'glitch' and fixed it promptly. I also have to give props to the gardeners and housekeeper- the tiniest details were never overlooked, and they were so friendly! Also important to note was that the condo was top notch and comparable to properties in the US- no worries about compromised plumbing or limited electricity. I'd definitely go again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Congratulations! If you have found your way to VillasTranquilas here on the net then you have guaranteed yourself a delightful, stress free visit to Quepos. It all starts with Maria. She is the general manager extraordinaire at VT. Even before we got to Costa Rica we were comfortable and relaxed. Maria had promptly and fully answered all our numerous questions before we left the states. The next evidence of her abilities was when the private driver she sent to pick us up from another hotel hours away up in the cloud forest arrived exactly to the minute at the time she said he would arrive. After an easy drive (with the stops and all the crocs we could ask for) we arrived at the conveniently located VT. Maria greeted us with a big smile and had already set up our 1st excursion. We told her our ideal itinerary (including our new years eve plan - a first rate dinner with friends old and new at Kapi Kapi resteraunt) and she made it all happen seamlesly and without any glitches.
We had set up dinners at VT and what a smart move that was. It turned out that our own 5 star chef who created his magic in our suite was none other than Roberto, Maria's husband! (I told you it all starts with Maria) He not only prepared perfect meals that were delicioso but took into account all of our food preferences and rules (one doesnt like onion another eats no pork etcc. ..). and timed everything so well that on our return from an excursion we found Roberto already in the suite working away. Afterwards not only did he clean up but he even left us the leftovers and extras (not only veggies but rice pudding and ice cream!)
Lastly VT is a beautiful site with a lovely pool, away from the crowds and traffic and in fact next door to rice paddies. We were rewarded with a visit from a large troop of squirrel monkeys that Maria called us out to see (There she is again).

The long and short of it is, that eventhough VT is not a hotel or a B&B or a hostel but vacation condos for rent with Marias touch you will find all you could ask for as to advice, planing help and in creating a perfect vacation destination.

Room Tip: They even have idividual washers and dryers with each suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I rented a unit in the complex for a total of three weeks. The villas are very comfortable and clean, but what made our stay so enjoyable was how secluded the property feels. At night you can sit on the porch or at the rancho and if you are quiet all you can hear are the sounds of the surrounding nature. It is a great atmosphere to enjoy sitting by the pool and reading books and feeling comfortable having lazy days. That atmosphere is nurtured by a wonderful staff. Maria is the onsite manager and exudes Pura Vida. She was so welcoming and warm. She really added to our vacation. Anna and Anna the two housekeepers were super helpful, and Carlos and Javier the two night watchmen were incredibly friendly and fun to practice Spanish with! The kitchens in the units are great and have enough necessities to allow for cooking most anything if you're creative. We made most of our meals there. The property is located pretty far from town and not on the bus route, so unless you want to call a cab every time you go anywhere you will need a car. It was a bit of a draw back, but this is what affords it's seclusive peace and quiet, which is becoming a rare commodity in the area. There are many wonderful activities to do in the area. We went on a Canopy tour with Canopy Safari, whitewater rafting with Unique tours, fishing with Merlin on the Harley Marlin 2, hiked to Niyouca waterfall, visited Manuel Antonio National Park and explored a dozen beaches from Jaco to Dominical. The only negative thing I have to say about our experience was booking the reservation with a guy named Michael. He was never available, wouldn't return our calls, and added an unreasonable amount of stress to preparing the trip. If possible just contact Maria she's great!

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 4, it was great! There are 4 units in 4 buildings, some units face the pool, some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The staff was extremely friendly, and always there for us when we needed their help. The rooms/houses were spacey, clean and modern with a great kitchen and two bathrooms. The pool area was cozy and nice. The hotel is located a 3-minute drive from the centre of Quepos, and a 10-minute drive from the amazing national park Manuel Antonio. Exotic and jungle-like surroundings - we could even hear monkey screams. A big super marked called MaxiPali is just a one minute drive away, so you could prepare your own home cooked meals in the fully equipped kitchen. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My family of four stayed for five nights at Villas Tranquilas, and we didn't want to leave! The location is beautiful and peaceful, but close to town and the beautiful Manuel Antonio National Park. We enjoyed having a car, but you could get by without one, as most of the activities will come pick you up. The grounds are beautiful, with lots of wildlife! A wonderfully comfortable home base.
Maria and the rest of the staff were indeed as wonderful as all the other reviews state. You couldn't ask for more helpful, kind, and attentive people.
My kids loved the pool, and walking around the grounds to see what animals we could find. We also absolutely loved all of the day trips that Maria arranged for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Tranquilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Tranquilas

Address: Quepos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Tranquilas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical rainforest retreat in Quepos/Manuel Antonio Costa Rica. Four plantation style villas in each building offer two bedroom, two bath contemporary custom accommodations. Every town home sleeps up to six guests with a fully equipped kitchen. We have two pools for our guests and are one of the most affordable rental communities in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Tranquilas Hotel Quepos
Villas Tranquilas Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Tranquilas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.