We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It all starts with Maria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Tranquilas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Tranquilas
Save Saved
You added Villas Tranquilas to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Quepos, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
baltimore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“It all starts with Maria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Congratulations! If you have found your way to VillasTranquilas here on the net then you have guaranteed yourself a delightful, stress free visit to Quepos. It all starts with Maria. She is the general manager extraordinaire at VT. Even before we got to Costa Rica we were comfortable and relaxed. Maria had promptly and fully answered all our numerous questions before we left the states. The next evidence of her abilities was when the private driver she sent to pick us up from another hotel hours away up in the cloud forest arrived exactly to the minute at the time she said he would arrive. After an easy drive (with the stops and all the crocs we could ask for) we arrived at the conveniently located VT. Maria greeted us with a big smile and had already set up our 1st excursion. We told her our ideal itinerary (including our new years eve plan - a first rate dinner with friends old and new at Kapi Kapi resteraunt) and she made it all happen seamlesly and without any glitches.
We had set up dinners at VT and what a smart move that was. It turned out that our own 5 star chef who created his magic in our suite was none other than Roberto, Maria's husband! (I told you it all starts with Maria) He not only prepared perfect meals that were delicioso but took into account all of our food preferences and rules (one doesnt like onion another eats no pork etcc. ..). and timed everything so well that on our return from an excursion we found Roberto already in the suite working away. Afterwards not only did he clean up but he even left us the leftovers and extras (not only veggies but rice pudding and ice cream!)
Lastly VT is a beautiful site with a lovely pool, away from the crowds and traffic and in fact next door to rice paddies. We were rewarded with a visit from a large troop of squirrel monkeys that Maria called us out to see (There she is again).

The long and short of it is, that eventhough VT is not a hotel or a B&B or a hostel but vacation condos for rent with Marias touch you will find all you could ask for as to advice, planing help and in creating a perfect vacation destination.

Room Tip: They even have idividual washers and dryers with each suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    6
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I rented a unit in the complex for a total of three weeks. The villas are very comfortable and clean, but what made our stay so enjoyable was how secluded the property feels. At night you can sit on the porch or at the rancho and if you are quiet all you can hear are the sounds of the surrounding nature. It is a great atmosphere to enjoy sitting by the pool and reading books and feeling comfortable having lazy days. That atmosphere is nurtured by a wonderful staff. Maria is the onsite manager and exudes Pura Vida. She was so welcoming and warm. She really added to our vacation. Anna and Anna the two housekeepers were super helpful, and Carlos and Javier the two night watchmen were incredibly friendly and fun to practice Spanish with! The kitchens in the units are great and have enough necessities to allow for cooking most anything if you're creative. We made most of our meals there. The property is located pretty far from town and not on the bus route, so unless you want to call a cab every time you go anywhere you will need a car. It was a bit of a draw back, but this is what affords it's seclusive peace and quiet, which is becoming a rare commodity in the area. There are many wonderful activities to do in the area. We went on a Canopy tour with Canopy Safari, whitewater rafting with Unique tours, fishing with Merlin on the Harley Marlin 2, hiked to Niyouca waterfall, visited Manuel Antonio National Park and explored a dozen beaches from Jaco to Dominical. The only negative thing I have to say about our experience was booking the reservation with a guy named Michael. He was never available, wouldn't return our calls, and added an unreasonable amount of stress to preparing the trip. If possible just contact Maria she's great!

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 4, it was great! There are 4 units in 4 buildings, some units face the pool, some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The staff was extremely friendly, and always there for us when we needed their help. The rooms/houses were spacey, clean and modern with a great kitchen and two bathrooms. The pool area was cozy and nice. The hotel is located a 3-minute drive from the centre of Quepos, and a 10-minute drive from the amazing national park Manuel Antonio. Exotic and jungle-like surroundings - we could even hear monkey screams. A big super marked called MaxiPali is just a one minute drive away, so you could prepare your own home cooked meals in the fully equipped kitchen. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My family of four stayed for five nights at Villas Tranquilas, and we didn't want to leave! The location is beautiful and peaceful, but close to town and the beautiful Manuel Antonio National Park. We enjoyed having a car, but you could get by without one, as most of the activities will come pick you up. The grounds are beautiful, with lots of wildlife! A wonderfully comfortable home base.
Maria and the rest of the staff were indeed as wonderful as all the other reviews state. You couldn't ask for more helpful, kind, and attentive people.
My kids loved the pool, and walking around the grounds to see what animals we could find. We also absolutely loved all of the day trips that Maria arranged for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My boyfriend's family and I just returned from a 6 night stay at Villas Tranquilas, and let me tell you, I've never received such amazing and helpful staff as they have here. Maria in particular is the most helpful concierge I've ever had the pleasure of being around. Upon arrival she gave us not only her direct office line, but also her cell phone so we could reach her with questions at any time during our stay. She continuously set us up with the BEST tours and tour guides of the area ranging from a simple tour of Manuel Antonio National Park (which is beautiful!) to zip lining through the canopy of the rainforest. She would also call us whenever there was some sort of wildlife native to Costa Rica in the trees around the office so we wouldn't miss a thing. Maria never once led us astray, and she made us feel like family the entire time we were there.

We found the villa to be very comfortable with two bedrooms (both with King sized beds and air conditioning), 2 full baths, a great kitchen and living room, and it also had a washer/dryer in the unit as well (very helpful during the rainy season!).

All in all, our stay at Villas Tranquilas left us wanting for nothing, and sad to leave at the end of our trip. I highly recommend these villas for your next trip to Costa Rica, and tell Maria hello!

Room Tip: We had 5 people with us, and wished we would have had one room with 2 queen sized beds, rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The condos at Villas Tranquilas have an open feel with a kitchen set up for entertaining. We went to the local market and cooked a feast! Maria was the perfect advisor for the best tours and restaurants in the area. Her attentiveness and expertise helped us have a wonderful vacation as we explored the area. Maria booked a Catamaran tour for us... we saw a mother and baby whale! Diego and the security guards were also so helpful with any questions we had. Not only is the property beautiful and the staff amazing, the wildlife is plentiful! It was so much fun to see the monkeys and sloth. I would recommend Villas Tranquilas to anyone visiting the area!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Villa Tranquila for 5 nights this past week with a few other friends staying in other villas there. I can't say enough nice things about the staff. Maria, Diego, Carlos and Javier treated us wonderfully. They treated my husband and I like friends or even family and were more than willing to help us out with whatever we needed. Booking spa appointments, reservations, shuttles, anything.

At night someone would always be walking the grounds in case you needed anything and it made us feel safe that someone was always being vigilant.

The villas themselves are modern and very spacious. They had utensils and pots and pans to use when eating in. It is about 5 minutes from the MaxiPali supermarket which made it easy to stock the fridge. We had a two bedroom duplex with two bathrooms. The pool is on the small side but it was never crowded. There is a nice covered deck with a grill and tables.

The location is a very short drive to Quepos or Manuel Antonio. Very close to ziplining at MidWorld (highly recommended) and the Rainmaker Tropical rain forest.

I would recommend Villa Tranquila to anyone wanting to stay off the main busy street in Manuel Antonio/Quepos.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Tranquilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Tranquilas

Address: Quepos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Tranquilas 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical rainforest retreat in Quepos/Manuel Antonio Costa Rica. Four plantation style villas in each building offer two bedroom, two bath contemporary custom accommodations. Every town home sleeps up to six guests with a fully equipped kitchen. We have two pools for our guests and are one of the most affordable rental communities in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Tranquilas Hotel Quepos
Villas Tranquilas Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Tranquilas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.