We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay which offers something for all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Roca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Villa Roca to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Roca
Carretera hacia al Parque Nacional, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great stay which offers something for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I and three friends just completed a six day stay at Villa Roca. The entire experience and stay at this hotel were wonderful. The hotel’s complex consists of 15 rooms grouped across 3 to 4 buildings built at various levels on the hillside which overlooks the bay, with most rooms having a spectacular ocean view. The rooms are comfortable but not luxurious. My partner and I stayed in room 4. Although the smallest of the rooms, it is the least expensive and is perfectly adequate for a couple. What I particularly liked about this room is that it was close to the entrance of the property, but not too far away from the pool area, which meant that you did not have to climb an excessive amount of stairs to get around the property. As far as I could tell, there was no “bad” room on the property. The grounds are spectacular with a vast variety of tropical tress and plants which provide a great setting.

The hotel’s staff is friendly, accommodating and attentive to your travel needs. They offer several helpful suggestions for planning your time in Manuel Antonio. I would recommend that guests take advantage of the breakfast and afternoon gatherings around the pool. The afternoons and evenings around the pool offer a fun gathering experience with other guests. Although I was there with my partner, there were several single travelers. The mix offers an comfortable experience which works well for both couples looking for time away as a couple and for singles looking to meet other singles as well as for other combinations in between of social interactions. The hotel provides a safe, comfortable and private environment which works well for all.

It was our first trip to Manuel Antonio. We will return and will stay the next time at Villa Roca.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    53
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
3
139
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The best thing about Villa Roca is definitely it's fantastic ocean views, with uninterrupted views from many of the rooms and from the breakfast/pool area.

The rooms are not luxury but are very clean and quite spacious, with also a good sized balcony. The best facility at this hotel is the pool.

Breakfast is ok, albeit that a more buffet type of breakfast would be better, at least for the non-hot food items. Service was good. Bar at pool should have much longer opening hours though.

Location of the hotel is good, on top of hill, with a nice but quite steep walk down to the beach (taking about 20-30 minutes). There is a good choice of restaurants and bars within walking distance.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room on a higher floor for best ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Villa Roca is a very special hotel with spectacular views of the ocean. I just stayed there three nights while hiking at Manuel Antonio. Villa Roca serves a wonderful breakfast, but it has no on-premises restaurant. Several good restaurants are within walking distance. We made several friends at Villa Roca who we hope to see again. The manager and staff were among the friendliest I have ever stayed with.

Room Tip: Room 12 was on the second floor and had a large patio with views of the Pacific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel was perfect. Rooms were very clean and staff was very friendly. The location was set on a hillside and the view was spectacular. The hot top, while sometimes a tad tepid due to being solar powered, was removed from the rooms and allowed one to relax and escape into the scenes of a jungle. My only complaint was that drinks at the bar were not made well for the expense; expect to have a tall glass with barely a full shot, mixed entirely with filler making it off balanced. Overall the hotel was one of the best vacation experiences I've had thanks to the friendly staff and the perfect location.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaroca, Owner at Hotel Villa Roca, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you very much for your review.
We are pleased that your stay with us was one of the best vacation experiences you have had.
We also thank you for your rating of our friendly staff and in our bar we will work very hard to gain here also your "perfect".
Welcome again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at our first gay hotel. We made new friends, enjoyed talking to the staff.

Rooms had very good view, clean and breakfast was excellent. Surprise on how many stairs we need to walk down to our room, Jacuzzi or out to the streets.

loved the Jacuzzi.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which had beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaroca, Owner at Hotel Villa Roca, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear guest.
We are very proud to be your first gay hotel you ever stayed.
Villa Roca it is not an ordinary resort with the routine expectations. Villa Roca is created for our community LGBT and not only "gay friendly". To stay with us means to stay with our family. Our guests are a part of us and that makes the difference.
Our resort is set on a hillside nearby the beach where the best hotels, bars and restaurants are. Therefore we have one of the absolutely best ocean views of all.
Some of our rooms are located more downstairs and more private like the rooms # 6-8. Other rooms have less stairs like the rooms and apartments # 1-5 and 9-12 and La Villa.
Thank you very much for experiencing what the special of Villa Roca is and thank you for sharing your personal experience at the forum of TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

As the General Manager of the Windamar Beach Resort in Fort Lauderdale, FL (an all male, clothing optional gay guesthouse) I was probably a bit more critical of what I found than the average visitor BUT all I got was one pleasant surprise after the next. From the moment we arrived at the front desk the very friendly staff made us feel right at home and couldn't do enough for us. We spent 3 nights in Room 12 which was absolutely perfect with an amazing view (as does ALL the other rooms we found out) and then moved to La Villa for the rest of our stay. A luxurious two story unit right next to the pool. I found the mattress a bit uncomfortable and hard the first night. The next morning Gerald (one of the Front Desk staff) overheard me mentioning it at breakfast and without me asking he had it changed to a much more comfortable one within minutes. The other two Front Desk guys Fernando and Marcos also could not do enough for us, from ordering taxis to getting me some medicine for my heartburn within minutes! The grounds are kept immaculately and you could eat off the walkways. The breakfast was superb and filling served by "super" Jeff (who I would steal away in a minute if I could) Even though it was the "rainy" season (September) we struck it lucky with the weather and had only one rainy day during our 10 day stay. We can not wait to go back there. The ONLY thing I would change if I could would be to make it an all male facility, especially around the pool area with it's clothing optional choice, but then again maybe I am the only one with ulterior motives ! LOL And last but not least a shout out to the rest of the staff Enrique, Christopher (the happy hour servers) and Alicia and Jaimmy. Muchas gracias everyone for making our stay with you so special.
PURA VIDA !
John Pascale and Vim Kruger

Room Tip: I don't think there is a "bad" room. So it would just depend on your budget and needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel was the perfect place to relax and take in the beautiful scenery and yet still be conveniently located near Manuel Antonio park and beach, as well as Quepos for restaurants and bars. The infinity pool is breathtaking and the rain forest jacuzzi is amazing and complete with outdoor showers and romantic lighting. The room was spacious and clean with a huge shower and lovely large balcony. The staff was super friendly and everyone spoke english. Breakfast was incredible and an enormous amount of food. We found the hotel perfectly suited our needs and it was refreshing to be in a gay enviroment, especially clothing optional. We definitely the minority, as lesbians, but everyone was very nice and we felt totally welcome and comfortable. The only complaint I have is that the walls must be a little thin, because you could hear voices/doors closing from the room next to and right below ours. But we were there during low season and the hotel was pretty quiet over all. Also, I wish the bar opened earlier in the day. The pina coladas were delicious! I can't wait to return to this hotel with all my friends!

Room Tip: Room 2 is very private, which we liked. Only complaint is that it's a little loud with rooms bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Roca

Address: Carretera hacia al Parque Nacional, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is gay owned and operated, exclusively for gays, lesbians and their friends to enjoy. Villa Roca is nestled on a hillside, ideally located between the village of Quepos and the National Park of Manuel Antonio. Offering stunning views overlooking the rain forest and the Pacific Ocean.Restaurants, bars, shopping and the beaches is a short walk from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Roca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roca Hotel Quepos
Hotel Villa Roca Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Roca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.