We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect views, excellent location, friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Roca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Roca to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Roca
Carretera hacia al Parque Nacional, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect views, excellent location, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Villa Roca is high quality gay hotel in Manuel Antonio. We stayed for five days in room 6. The room in itself was pretty basic but the views of the ocean and rainforest were staggering. Sitting on the terrace was great in all hours of the day - as well as night.

Villa Roca is within a fairly long walking distance of a perfect beach and numerous restaurants as well as Liquid, the area's only gay club and Mogambo, a nice gay bar for watching the sunset. Walking makes you very sweaty but while walking, you are likely to run into monkeys, lizards, hummingbirds and other creatures. It was very exciting. After returning from nightlife, you could enjoy a 24h jacuzzi in the middle of the rainforest. That definitely felt unique.

Breakfast was very good. It was served to the table by the small infinity pool and lots of tempting options were available. Service by all the hotel staff was friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    52
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
3
135
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We arrived just after Christmas to celebrate our Honeymoon and the New Year. We stayed for 8 nights and had an amazing time.

OUR ROOM:

We stayed in #9. The room was adequate, a King bed though a little firm with ample closet space and dresser drawers. Given the extreme temperatures outside, the room would remain cool with our AC unit or ceiling fan. The bathroom was well laid out, a huge shower and plenty of hooks to hang wet bathing suits etc. There was a box TV hanging on the wall with a large bracket that could be done without. After all, you're in paradise, do you really need to be watching TV? =) One improvement could be a rug of some sort. The room was laid in large white tiles, coming in from the pool or out from the shower, the floor got to be slippery at times. Their housekeeping team is great. They are very respectful of your personal belongings and do a great job of tidying up, changing the sheets and towels each day. The only downside of our room is that instead of a regular door, there was a sliding glass door with curtains that had to be drawn at all times that. Even with the curtains closed, there was still a gap where you could see thru. Not that we're prude but still nice to have privacy. The room did not have a true terrace, more like a patio entrance way to walk into the room. Not necessarily the place to 'sit and relax' as you would a traditional terrace. Nonetheless, still ok.

THE FACILITY:

The hotel grounds are breathtaking. Tropical flowers and plants all around, their infinity pool looks out over the water. The breakfast is great, considering it's included in the room, you get to choose 3 things for breakfast ranging from fruit/cereal to eggs/pancakes. The bar opened at 3 or 4pm (i forget the exact time). Just in time to booze up in the pool to watch the sunset. There was one day we were at the pool mid-day, we wanted drinks before the bar opened but they are available at the front desk for purchase. The jacuzzi is forever far away. Down 100 stone steps, then back up, definitely worth the trip once but the real scene is at the pool.

THE STAFF:

Housekeeping was very nice, the evening pool bartender (I forget his name now) but was very friendly. The highlight of our trip was meeting Fernando at the Front Desk. He would greet us every morning with his big contagious smile. He was very helpful and informative in planning each days activity. He is a real gem and an asset to the hotel. We will miss him for sure! Also very helpful were Gerald and Marcos. Gerlad made us a few dinner recommendations including one of our favorite placed Kapi Kapi.

THE AREA:

The surrounding area is a little touristy, after all there are many hotels on the main street. There were plenty of restaurants to dine at and for nightlife Mogombo and Liquid were the place to be. Kapi Kapi, The pizza Wagon and Karola's have really great food. The service at most of the restaurants was a bit questionable (Kapi Kapi was the best service). We went to a few spa's. Gaia, a 5 star luxury resort. They provide complementary transportation to their spa with great services and a nice treatment room. The Raindrop far was truly amazing, much more zen like then Gaia. The treatment rooms overlooks their garden so while being treated, you could hear the sounds of nature and the wind. They are very gracious there.

ALL IN ALL we had an amazing experience. We were sad to leave and hope to return.

Thank you Villa Roca =)

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the pool are therefore closer to the ocean and i would imagine have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Hotel Villa Roca has really great views accompanied with great service. Everyone was really friendly and willing to go above and beyond to make our stay pleasant, though we may have annoyed one of the staff members with our questions. The only issue we encountered was when my partner and I went for breakfast and no seats were available, though this was the only time we experienced this. We weren't expecting to have that many options for breakfast, but there was a great variety, from cold breakfasts, fruit, or cooked to order. It was nice going into Quepos and eating out at restaurants with some of the locals....enjoyed these meals more than the ones we had in the touristy area where the hotel is located. We did spend some time at the jacuzzi, though it is true that usually it is not hot at night, even though it was more of a place to socialize with others at night.....watch out for falling monkeys!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #4, which is probably the smallest, though we didn't really spend much time in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale Estates, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 4 nights at the tail end of the low season for our anniversary. Our room, #3, was perfectly situated for a fantastic view of the ocean and the entertaining antics of the capuchin monkeys in the morning. The front desk and all the staff were kind and accommodating; rooms clean and comfortable for relaxing. Breakfasts were filling and there were several options to choose from - especially appreciated the fresh fruit, juices and Costa Rican coffee. The hotel is conveniently located to several dining options in the evening (check out Sanchos). Loved the infinity pool - didn't try the jacuzzi since it was a bit on the cool side during our stay. A great place to stay for outgoing singles or couples.

Al and Steve

Room Tip: Be sure to inquire about ocean views - #3 had a nice view and was relatively quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel Villa Roca is a tremendous value, with very clean and comfortable rooms, an attentive staff and stunning ocean views. The breakfast is fantastic. I look forward to many future stays. I have two minor suggestions: 1) Make a deal with one of the restaurants close by to deliver food that can be charged to the room; 2) limit the female staff members to the area above the pool.

Room Tip: The hotel has good advice on the website regarding the views availabe from various rooms. My room, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Villa roca is the best gay hotel in Manuel Antonio. Private, comfortable, clean, safe, nice staff, ocean view rooms is spectacular. We woul like to thank the Houseekeeping team specially: Cecilia, Ariana & Alicia, very professionals adn i love it the set up of the bed and daily amenities during my 7 night stay in the hotel. Also the front desk staff Gerald, Marco & Fernando for their help and excellent service. BK was included and the the presentation of the meals was nice and delicious! the chef Jaimi!!! Jeffrey was very funny and nice thank you too. The bartender are very helpful and funny too..thank Rauni & Christopher that knows very well the night life in Manuel Antonio. We stayed at room 12 and think is the room with the best view and nice room set up, the jacuzzy located 199 step from our room is quite and private, nice place to have fun with your love one! the garden is nice and you get to see monkeys and other animals. The beach was like 5 minutes in car from the hotel. Manuel antonio National Park is very inetresting but to much walk..nice for those that love hiking. Restaurants are many options...but one of the most we liked was The grand escape in Quepos, Restaurante Aqua Azul, El Avion. About Club it was just one club and one bar...Liquid night club & Rafael's terrazas Bar Ocean View. The infinity pool is the best place in the hotel to have a nice day and get the best Tan!! the pool bar is open from 4:00pm to 8:00PM. The owner of the hotel is also always around helping all the guest and supervising the staff Thanks Armin & Jorn

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My partner and stayed in October. After a short flight and very beautiful flight from San Jose we landed at the tiny airport of Quepos. Its about a 20min taxi ride to Villa Roca on a scenic road through the green hills of Manuel Antionio. The hotel is located in a spectacular location with views over the bay and the islands. The rooms are fairly basic but clean and fresh and the staff are friendly and helpful. The pool is beautiful and a great place to hang out, get some sun and make new friends. There was a mix of some internationals, many from the US and some local from San Jose, the atmosphere is casual and relaxed. The breakfast is good and the restaurant staff are fun and entertaining, the pool bar only opens at 4pm but they have drinks available from reception. The wi fi in the room was lousy but works well around the pool. We had a great time and will be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Roca

Address: Carretera hacia al Parque Nacional, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is gay owned and operated, exclusively for gays, lesbians and their friends to enjoy. Villa Roca is nestled on a hillside, ideally located between the village of Quepos and the National Park of Manuel Antonio. Offering stunning views overlooking the rain forest and the Pacific Ocean.Restaurants, bars, shopping and the beaches is a short walk from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Roca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roca Hotel Quepos
Hotel Villa Roca Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Roca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.