We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Best Gay Hotel in Manuel Antonio"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Roca

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Roca
Carretera hacia al Parque Nacional, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Best Gay Hotel in Manuel Antonio"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Villa roca is the best gay hotel in Manuel Antonio. Private, comfortable, clean, safe, nice staff, ocean view rooms is spectacular. We woul like to thank the Houseekeeping team specially: Cecilia, Ariana & Alicia, very professionals adn i love it the set up of the bed and daily amenities during my 7 night stay in the hotel. Also the front desk staff Gerald, Marco & Fernando for their help and excellent service. BK was included and the the presentation of the meals was nice and delicious! the chef Jaimi!!! Jeffrey was very funny and nice thank you too. The bartender are very helpful and funny too..thank Rauni & Christopher that knows very well the night life in Manuel Antonio. We stayed at room 12 and think is the room with the best view and nice room set up, the jacuzzy located 199 step from our room is quite and private, nice place to have fun with your love one! the garden is nice and you get to see monkeys and other animals. The beach was like 5 minutes in car from the hotel. Manuel antonio National Park is very inetresting but to much walk..nice for those that love hiking. Restaurants are many options...but one of the most we liked was The grand escape in Quepos, Restaurante Aqua Azul, El Avion. About Club it was just one club and one bar...Liquid night club & Rafael's terrazas Bar Ocean View. The infinity pool is the best place in the hotel to have a nice day and get the best Tan!! the pool bar is open from 4:00pm to 8:00PM. The owner of the hotel is also always around helping all the guest and supervising the staff Thanks Armin & Jorn

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    50
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
3
122
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bocas Town, Panama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My partner and stayed in October. After a short flight and very beautiful flight from San Jose we landed at the tiny airport of Quepos. Its about a 20min taxi ride to Villa Roca on a scenic road through the green hills of Manuel Antionio. The hotel is located in a spectacular location with views over the bay and the islands. The rooms are fairly basic but clean and fresh and the staff are friendly and helpful. The pool is beautiful and a great place to hang out, get some sun and make new friends. There was a mix of some internationals, many from the US and some local from San Jose, the atmosphere is casual and relaxed. The breakfast is good and the restaurant staff are fun and entertaining, the pool bar only opens at 4pm but they have drinks available from reception. The wi fi in the room was lousy but works well around the pool. We had a great time and will be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed here in late April and had a really good time. It is a super laid back place to get away and relax. This was a spur of the moment vacation and the staff at Villa Roca found me a room with only a couple hours notice. I will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Villa Roca and loved the experience. The staff was friendly and helpful. The view from the pool of the ocean is exquisite. The jacuzzi in the jungle is serene. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We just wished the hotel served more food besides breakfast as it would be nice to not have to leave such a fabulous gay paradise.

Room Tip: In general it's good to make sure any room you book in Costa Rica has air conditioning. Even in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaroca, Owner at Hotel Villa Roca, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you very much for choose our resort for your stay in Manuel Antonio.
We are very happy about your review of our staff, the pool, the Jacuzzi and the rooms and for the “fabulous gay paradise”.
Our room rates include a delicious breakfast but unfortunately we are not able to offer lunch or snacks because we don’t have a full restaurant license. For our guests we offer food delivery service until 10:00 pm and in less than a half Mile distance there are 12 excellent restaurants like Rico Tico, Claro Que Si, Falls Garden Café, El Gato Negro, El Avion, Byblos Restaurant and Byblos Pizzeria, Agua Azul, Barba Roja, Sancho´s, Café Milagro and Karolas with different menus and delicious food to enjoy lunch, snacks and dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

First of all, the view from here is spectacular. We had room 6 and the view was almost completely forest to the ocean. The property seems to be placed in a beautiful tropical garden and in late July, everything was in bloom. There is a european feel about the rooms, which is fine with us. There have been some comments about the air conditioning, but ours worked fine. It is on a hillside with lots of steps, but they will help you with your luggage at checkin/checkout. The pool is beautiful with a stunning view. The location is central to lots of fine restaurants and everything else is a short taxi/bus ride away - tip, be sure to ask reception for advice and reservations, this is their town, and they know where everything is and what's good. The cooked to order hot breakfast was nicely done - tip, make sure you take advantage of the fresh fruit. The bar by the pool opens at 4pm, other wise stock the refridgerator in your room with your own beverages.

So, like others we've met, we'll be repeat customers, and recommend this property.

Room Tip: We're told that rooms 2 and 6 have the best views. They also have a large 2 bedroom apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

My ex and I stayed at this place for 6 nights in room #5 and found it to be a great value for the area and a lovely property. Almost all of the rooms have killer views and although the rooms are simple, they are equipped with everything you need to enjoy your stay here. There is a great infinity pool and a solar powered hot tub (no sun = cold tub). Monkeys, iguanas and all manner of wild life come by each day. Even sloths make regular appearances! There isn't much 'gay' going on here, but if you are coming for a simple beach vacation without partying, I would def recommend. A side note: fly from San Jose to here. It is quick and fun and relatively cheap.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Sadly, the slope is one of descending quality. Having stayed here for the past several years, I am qualified to assess the declining progression of this property. Of course the setting is beautiful. The rooms and grounds are clean, the staff friendly and responsive. The physical infrastructure is another story. As multiple guests have pointed out in their reviews, the AC units are antiquated, noisy, and not efficient. The refrigerators are no longer stocked, When we arrived in our room I was somewhat shocked by the rust and mold on the exterior of our refrigerator and further dismayed when I found it to be unplugged and empty. It never was this bad before. Guests are now responsible for filling their refrigerators with food and beverages, either available for purchase in the office (during open hours only of course), or from a grocery store off the property. Can you say major inconvenience?

The daily breakfast has gone from being a serve-yourself mini-buffet style, to a cook to order. The staff won't open a minute before 7:00 and on many days it was after. Wi-Fi is turned off during breakfast, invoking the feelings of a teenage being controlled by a parent, instead of a paying guest on a hard-earned vacation. We are typically up early to start our day of adventure. Being at the mercy of the staff's convenience serves only as an inconvenience to the guests. Additionally, the chase lounges by the pool were absolutely filthy, provoking one guest to complain so that they were cleaned to a suitable condition.

And the guests population...Ahhh yes. This can vary, but the general caliber of guests has declined with the quality of the Villa Roca. Multiple guests of very questionable character have been seen there over my last few visits. The couple that comes to mind from last year was the young man performing fallatio, on the edge of the pool, on the gentleman he accompanied for several days, easily old enough to be his grandfather. All in the presence of other guests who were situated in the bar area. Not so much.

I personally would not mind paying a bit more for updated amenities and better guest-oriented services. This would also attract a higher class of clientele and only serve to enhance the experience of a visit. At the rate of it's current decline, it's just a matter of time before the only remaining gay hotel in Manuel Antonio, is but a memory, along with all the rest

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaroca, Owner at Hotel Villa Roca, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear guest.
Thank you very much for stay again with us and thank you also your 2 reviews in 2008 and 2012.
We know that we are no Key West or Palm Springs but since many years Manuel Antonio is THE gay destination in Central America and Villa Roca is THE gay place to stay.
Certainly, since your last stay something changed and we are happy to explain the facts.

What we didn’t changed:
- The quality level of our resort. Villa Roca is still a paradise and yes, the rooms and grounds are clean, the staff friendly and responsive.
- Still we offer like many other hotels our breakfast beginning at 7:00 am.
- To guaranty privacy and space during breakfast hours we REQUEST our guests to not use their computers during breakfast. Just we want to be able to offer space for the other guests.

What we changed:
- Consistent with our sustainable policies we don´t offer anymore the refrigerators the whole year packed with a lot of beverages. Furthermore many guests don´t use it or prefer an empty refrigerator for individually use. Therefore our guests can use now the refrigerator like they want and there are beverages to buy until 9:30 pm at the reception or at the grocery store nearby.
- To enjoy the breakfast our friendly staff now offers convenient table side service.
- Now we offer complimentary WiFi access available round the clock also in all the guest rooms and not only at the public areas like the breakfast room.

What we will change:
- Some air conditionings, refrigerators and furniture in the guest rooms during the next 3 months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Roca

Also Known As:
Villa Roca Hotel Quepos
Villa Roca Hotel
Hotel Villa Roca Costa Rica/Quepos
Address: Carretera hacia al Parque Nacional, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty lodging in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is gay owned and operated, exclusively for gays, lesbians and their friends to enjoy. Villa Roca is nestled on a hillside, ideally located between the village of Quepos and the National Park of Manuel Antonio. Offering stunning views overlooking the rain forest and the Pacific Ocean.Restaurants, bars, shopping and the beaches is a short walk from the resort. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Roca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Roca to your Saves list