We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Liked this Hotel in Quepos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sirena Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Sirena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Sirena Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100m West of the entrance to town, Quepos, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Quepos
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“I Liked this Hotel in Quepos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

First things first: The number one and two hotels rated in this category and 10 to 15 kilometres outside of town, so if you don't have a car, they may be in the vicinity, but they are not in Quepos itself.

I enjoyed my stay here from the manager Lucia, to Ana who cleaned my room, to Erica and Angelina who served breakfast.

The rooms are spotless, something hard to exaggerate in a hotel.

It is right in town, an easy walk from...everything...given the size of Quepos.

In giving it five stars, I am not saying it is a five-star hotel...it doesn't pretend to be.

It is the best that the town of Quepos has to offer, and if I return, I will not stay anywhere else.

If you want to visit the Park, it is 20 minutes and 50 cents away by bus.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and clarification on the location of our hotel as compared to others. We look forward to you staying with us once again should you return to Quepos. We hope the rest of your trip went as well as your time at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    65
    23
    14
    8
See reviews for
23
95
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, good all round. Our room was spotlessly clean and the airconditioning worked well. Swimming pool is lovely. Even though it is in the centre of town and very close to the bus station it was quiet at night. Staff were very friendly and helpfull. Only downside was quite expensive compared to other places we stayed of similar quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try our very best to keep our prices as low as possible and still offer our guests the best service and free extras such as the WI FI and full breakfast. Thank you once again for staying with us and we do hope to see you again on your next trip to Costa Rica..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed 2 nights based on trip advisors reviews. We thought it was quite nice for a downtown stay. Was quiet even with its location right downtown. Pool was refreshing after a hot day. Breakfasts were quite good. Good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are always so grateful for all of the kind reviews that we can show the staff, and for them to see their hard work at keeping our little place so clean and friendly and is deeply appreciated by our guests. It seems that the old saying about "word of mouth" being the best advertising is alive in the digital age!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We just stayed in the lovely La Sirena Hotel in Quepos. It is a small quaint hacienda-style hotel in the center of town. Centrally located to everything in Quepos: restaurants, entertainment, town’s beach, markets, and bus station. Our experience here was excellent. The room was very clean and each day we’d come back from Manuel Antonio with sand and dirt all over us, spreading it all over our room and each day the housekeeping staff would get it spotless again. We left a small tip each day and got excellent service. The hotel included an “American” breakfast – a choice of eggs (scrambled, fried, or omelet), toast, fresh fruit, French toast, coffee and juice. It was complementary and consistently delicious. Again, we were nice and tipped each day – we saw that many others did not, which we do not understand because it was made to order.

The hotel amenities were also pretty modern. We had WiFi (although sometimes spotty because of the night time power outages), AC, great cellular reception, and a small pool. We did not use the pool (why if there is a giant pool [ocean] nearby) but we saw that it was meticulously cleaned each morning and looked quite refreshing.
There was even a desktop computer available for guest use in the staircase landing.

The bathroom in our room was very nice with very hot water and excellent water pressure. There was a TV with English and Spanish channels, so it was good for watching the news. Some of the rooms had flat screens, ours did not but we booked through Orbitz so got the room for dirt cheap. There was also only a double-bed in our room, while others had king and even two beds. Our bed was not particularly comfortable but right on par with our experience of visiting other towns in Latin America. The front desk staff was supper friendly, recommended great tours, and spoke very good English. We had 0 complaints about this place! Thank you Hotel Sirena for a wonderful stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review.. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We booked this hotel for 2 nights on the back of a Lonely Planet recommendation. It was the most expensive hotel of our trip and our least favourite. The room wasn't really clean, it was the only place we stayed where there wasn't reliable hot water and the receptionist was surly and unhelpful. The other staff however were very friendly. The security guards were lovely but it didn't help the feel of the place to know that they were needed to look out for your car (on street parking only). The breakfast was bad. The fruit appeared to be days old and was definitely 'going over', French toast inedible and the tables sticky. This was described as a boutique hotel but I have no idea why. The plus point is that the small central courtyard and pool area is quite tranquil.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Emma

We appreciate your comments and are very disapointed that we did not live up to your expectations as we always strive to do our very best. We will review your comments and make any necessary adjustments in order to make sure these type of issues do not happen to any of our future clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestnut Ridge, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel is nice, rooms are clean and comfortable. A/C and television with English language stations beamed in from Florida are nice to have when you've come back from your outdoor adventures. Breakfast is plentiful and good. Coffee, as anywhere in Costa Rica, was amazing. The pool is a nice oasis of calm in the middle of busy, rough and ready Quepos.

Our bathroom was a bit of an issue: I never could get a hot shower in the morning. The water started out hot, then went lukewarm and stayed lukewarm. The shower floor seemed pitched away from the drain, so we managed to flood our bathroom every morning.

The staff was quite lovely, incredibly helpful and friendly, and gave us many good ideas for activities and eating. There are a couple of computers available for checking e-mail, though there is wifi in the rooms.

It is a budget hotel, so there was no one to help us with our luggage, and there isn't a parking lot, but there is a security guard on watch overnight, with security cameras, and he'll guide you to park in such a way that he can see your car from the cameras.

Some nice restaurants in walking distance, a bank is nearby, and so are some bars. The hotel is a better value, I learned, than staying closer to Manuel Antonio. Good for solo travelers and couples; families may want to stay closer to Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. Its good to hear that you found our staff to helpful and courteous and we hope you visit us on your next trip to Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Very nice hotel. Very clean rooms, love the bathroom glass tiles around the shower, nice sink. A/C, t.v. with HBO, good breakfast - eggs cooked how you want them. Lots of fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, good coffee, and just a great place. I would recommend this hotel. Close to shops, restaurants and a short cab ride to Manuel Antonio. There is a small pool also.

Room Tip: We booked our room in the back of the hotel since it is close to a main road, it was much quieter in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for you nice comments about the hotel. We glad enjoyed our free breakfast and that you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sirena Hotel

Address: 100m West of the entrance to town, Quepos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Sirena Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is budget in price NOT in quality and is located in Costa Rica on the Central Pacific Coast, just a 25 minute flight or 2 hour drive from San Jose. We proudly offer 14 lovely rooms with air conditioning, cable television, mini fridge, telephone, swimming pool, tiki bar, digital safe, tour office and laundry services ALL conveniently located in the center of Quepos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your La Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Sirena
La Sirena Hotel Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sirena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.