We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very low value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Sirena Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Sirena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Sirena Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100m West of the entrance to town, Quepos, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very low value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hotel located conveniently in Quepos if you want to be close to the central bus station.
Rooms are very basic and not very clean. Breakfast mediocre. All this would do if the rate wouldn't be about $100 a night which is outrageous for a dump like this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    69
    23
    15
    8
See reviews for
24
97
23
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. Breakfast area was small, not many choices for vegetarians. The price was average, but you will get a better experience if you stay closer to Manuel Antonio Park. Quepos seemed unsafe at night. There was a lot of street noise and yelling. Mattress was also very hard. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel due to its location, but if you are after price, it may be worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

It was a nice quaint place, enjoyed it. The breakfast was very good it was cooked to order and the ladies were very polite. The rooms were nice, they were doing a lot of renovating so it should get better. We stayed there with friends we all enjoyed the pool and playing cards. The security guard was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor by the pool very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I recently returned from my first trip to Costa Rica and spent 5 nights at the Sirena Hotel. I wanted to stay in town, not on the "strip" going to Manuel Antonio park. The Sirena was the perfect choice. All of the staff is great, the pool is very refreshing. The grounds are kept extremely clean, as was the room. I really enjoyed my stay here and in Quepos in general.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at La Sirena hotel in March 2012 and we really enjoyed it.

The hotel is calm and well-equiped with a very nice swimming pool. There is a nice deck with big fans near the swimming pool where the breakfast is served. The breakfast is very good. Wifi is available in the hotel. The rooms are big, very comfortable and clean. We booked a one-day tour to Manuel Anotnio with the hotel, it was very good. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance and the bus stand is close too.

Very good hotel, we definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

When booking this hotel (which is billed as a backpackers hostel), we mostly chose it because of the good price, realizing that we wouldn't be spending that much time in the hotel.
Upon our arrival, we were immediately impressed by the friendliness of the staff and the overall clean, light and airy appearance of the hotel. I loved the open upstairs terrace with rocking chairs and the pool, though small, was very refreshing and well maintained.
Our rooms were spacious, clean and well-appointed in terms of shelves and cupboards for storage and I slept like a baby the night we stayed there. Our air conditioning worked fabulously, but our friends in the room next to us said theirs wasn't quite as great.
It was very nice staying down in Quepos, as opposed to the tourist trap right by Manuel Antonio; but we were just a shuttle ride away from the park entrance and had a wonderful time enjoying the national park.
I would definitely patronise La Sirena again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We enjoyed a two-week stay at the la Sirena Hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Also, there is a bilingual staff at the reservations counter which made communicating easy. Our room was cleaned daily and provided with fresh towels. The linen on the bed was changed often. We felt safe. The hotel provided all the amenities advertised on the web. I recommend this hotel.

Disfruté mi estancia de dos semanas en la Sirena hotel. El personal fue muy amable y servicial. También, hubo personal bilingüe en la recepción que hizo fácil nuestra comunicacion. El hotel ofrece todas las comodidades que se anuncian en la web. Yo recomiendo este hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sirena Hotel

Address: 100m West of the entrance to town, Quepos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Sirena Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is budget in price NOT in quality and is located in Costa Rica on the Central Pacific Coast, just a 25 minute flight or 2 hour drive from San Jose. We proudly offer 14 lovely rooms with air conditioning, cable television, mini fridge, telephone, swimming pool, tiki bar, digital safe, tour office and laundry services ALL conveniently located in the center of Quepos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your La Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Sirena
La Sirena Hotel Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sirena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.