We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible. Worst place in the world. Avoid at all costs.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Pedro Miguel

Cabinas Pedro Miguel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Pedro Miguel
Save
You added Cabinas Pedro Miguel to your Saves list
Quepos, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Sterling, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible. Worst place in the world. Avoid at all costs.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Not acceptable. These people are thieves- asked for a refund for one week (booked for 2) but only sayed for 4 nights. We were recommended this place by a school near by. Dirty, smelly & not clean. They knowingly made our beds with dead bugs on the sheets and our kitchen was ilequipped.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    1
    0
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Where do we begin? We are a group of 6 young professionals between the ages of 24-30 and are traveling for three weeks through Costa Rica. We had planned on spending the first two weeks in Manuel Antonio. Our study abroad program director recommended that we stay at Cabinas Pedro Miguel because of its proximity to the school and ability to house all six of us. When we first walked into the house we were in shock. The mix of the moldy smell in the air, worms in our beds, dead insects on the towels, filthy pool, and the sense that we were in a scene from Psycho made us second guess our entire trip. We used our beach towels as blankets because we didn't want to touch the dirty, stained, ripped linens from 1953. The toilet didn't flush and the shower was ice cold and filled with bugs (as was the toilet). The one potential that this place had was the fully equipped kitchen, which we had hoped to cook many delicious Costa Rican meals in. We quickly learned that we would be eating out every meal due to the filth and lack of utensils. We managed to stay for four miserable, sleepless nights before forfeiting our money and moving across the street to MUCH better accommodations for the exact same price. Do not stay here. You will regret it and will never want to return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

This place is truly horrible. We had a large room but it smelt bad and the sheets on one of the beds were torn and dirty. One of the other beds smelt as though an animal had had an accident on the mattress. The shower dripped constantly so the floor in the bathroom was wet all the time. The sink and toilet in the bathroom were not attached to the wall and wobbled dangerously.
The location is poor as you need to get a bus or a taxi to Quepos or Manuel Antonio. There is no access to laundry or anywhere nearby for breakfast.
We stayed for one night then left and went to stay in Manuel Antonio which cost more but was worth every single penny.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Cabinas Pedro Miguel is a fun, quaint little spot. I was there for a month while doing a TEFL course down the road. Gabi and Jose could not have been friendlier and more accommodating. Jose would pull down mangoes for whenever we asked. Plus if you want to have a great meal with friends just go down to the fish market, pick up some mahi mahi and grill away on the barbeque.
It's not a resort, or anything fancy, but if you want some local culture and are not too uptight about a few ants, stay there. Plus you feel safe knowing that many of the locals don't like going down the driveway because they are afraid of the german sheppards (who are actually very sweet)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

The rooms are in a very bad shape and they are absolutely not worth the price they ask! Our room had no windows, was not clean at all and had a very bad mattress.
We booked initially for 3 nights, but we left already after one night.
You can find several (much) better accommodations in the street for a similar price. We stayed the next days at Castillo de la Riviera, about 50 meter further in the street, which is very recommended.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2007

Do not stay at Cabinas Pedro Miguel!!!!! This is one of the worst places I have ever stayed in (and I have traveled all over the world), especially for the price.

I was traveling with a group of 8 people, and our rooms were filthy (bathrooms not clean), at least one bed had insect larvae of some kind under the sheets, and on all of the beds were
insect carcases that had never been cleaned up.

On top of all that, we didn't even end up staying there, because the rooms were in such bad shape, and
they charged us for four nights stay, not refunding
ANY of our money.

The staff was incredibly rude, and unhelpful.

There are other, much better
accomodations, for about the same price, such as
Mimo's, where we ended up staying.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

I spent quite some time here, it is affordable, the staff friendley and accomodating.
it was not necessarily up to what you expect in the states, but it is a 3rd world country.
when compared to the fancy big resorts it does leave a lot to be desired but, if you are going to school here in the area, it is alright.
it does have cable, air conditioning, private bath, and a mini fridge (if you ask for that type room).
if you are going to a school in the area, this place is alright, friendly geckos to welcome
you in the room (and eat insects). the pool is alright, with a friendly iguana, sometimes
monkeys will visit the area.
feel free to e mail me with questions buzzbait4@yahoo.com

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Pedro Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Pedro Miguel

Address: Quepos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Number of rooms: 264
Also Known As:
Cabinas Pedro Miguel Quepos
Cabinas Pedro Miguel Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Pedro Miguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.