We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but Clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Malinche

Hotel Malinche
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Malinche
Save Saved
You added Hotel Malinche to your Saves list
Quepos, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Quepos
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Basic but Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Within walking distance of bus station (250 colones into Manual Antonio) and restaurants in the town.
Nothing special, just convenience.
Slatted glass windows in bathrooms, which opened out into the corridor. Made it very noisy
Staff were not particularly interested in helping or overly friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
1
8
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011 via mobile

Quepos itself, isn't a very charming place. The city generates noise , prostitutes and odors that can be unappealing at times. This hotel had roaches and other various insects, the walls of our room were cracking, and had a strange odor. This was worse than any hostel I have ever been in. We complained and they refused to give us our money back, so we ended up just abandoning our $$. I suggest staying in a place outside of quepos, on the road to Manuel Antonio. We stayed at mono azul, and had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Only one tip - request an upstairs room. These rooms are basic but better than the downstairs ones. Have ac and tv

Close to Quepos bus station. Quepos itself feels like a lawless hole. Many a trade taking place on street corners.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

The room price was fair. The rooms were okay sized. No televisions and no a/c. The showers were fairly cold. The noise level from outside was very loud early in the morning. The staff at the front was not friendly, but it was okay. The bed was not comfortable. The location was nice. It was a short walk to the bus station, close to restaurants and stores. The parking lot was very small. The wi-fi did not work in the room. You had to sit pretty much on top of the window in order to get a small signal.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Not quite what I was expecting. Room was nice apart from the damp around the much needed air con unit. Didnt always have hot water. Good tv. Wifi but no computer on site. One night was very noisey, other nights were of medium noise level. One night was spent jumping into a cold shower every 5 mins due to the air con not being turned on at the mains in reception and no staff on duty. All staff were as helpful as possible but only one staff member spoke english. They organised 3 good tours for me (Canopy, jet ski and horse ride). Located in the centre of an urban area. Good transport link as interbus pick up from there and tours pick you up directly. At $30 per night it was ok.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heilbronn, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

Beginning of November I booked a room at the Hotel Malinche per phone. I was offered a single room for three nights, with fan for 15$/night. However, upon arrival the rate was 30$/night (not expensive but double the price I booked the room for!).
Furthermore, the room was damp, dark and utterly unappealing. According to the very unfriendly and unhelpful staff, another room was not available though the hotel seemed not to be fully booked.
Immediately, I went looking for another room and found a very nice on at the Hotel Sirena! Very nice owner, clean and sunny room. And even a small breakfast included!

Katrin

  • Liked — Location is okay
  • Disliked — unfriendly staff, room double the price than agreed, dark and damp room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

I recently stayed at the Hotel Malinche, for the second time, while in Quepos. They gave me a small room with a fan for $15 per night. I have found the desk staff to be very professional, although not as outwardly friendly as some of the other CR hotels I have stayed in. The hotel has its own gated parking area in the courtyard, so if you come with a car it will be safe and close to your room. Aditionally the 24 hour security gaurd keeps the place safe from the local riff raff (lots of that in Quepos). Malinche is close to all the best restaurants in Quepos and there is a really good laundry service just across the street. I will be staying at Malinche again during my next visit to Quepos.

  • Liked — Price and Location
  • Disliked — Desk staff could be friendlier
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Malinche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malinche

Address: Quepos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Quepos
Also Known As:
Malinche Hotel Quepos
Hotel Malinche Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Malinche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.