We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Quepos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Ave | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Western Quepos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice Hotel for being downtown. It can get a bit loud at night, due to having its own Casino. Rooms very clean and comfortable. All the staff were very helpful, I would stay there again. Also very close to marina, walk there for your great fishing trips.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thanks so much for your review.

Quepos is a very small town and we are located in the most popular street facing the ocean, supermarket is across the street, farmacy is only 100 meters and restaurants also.

When you stay in a resort in Manuel Antonio you are stuck to the place at night and you pay triple, here in Quepos tourism are walking around, playing at the Casino or just walking in the breakwater called Malecon.

We look forward to a second visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    59
    48
    23
    16
See reviews for
33
66
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenox, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We were happy to stay at Best Western Kamuk and Casino in Quepos. The location was central to all of the local sites. Our room was clean, and we had a great view of the surroundings. The pool atmosphere was inviting. The complimentary breakfast was delicious! The restaurant's waiters, Oscar and Leandro were great servers, and they were very helpful with their knowledge of the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 13, 2015
Dear Lisa

Thanks so much for the great review, our location is one of the many reasons people like to stay with us. We undertand that for some people is not convinient to book our hotel in the midle of the town because the noise of the street but is something out of our control.

We lok forward to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We check in on 3/22/2015. left for diner when we came back our room was open. Who ever enter was not looking for underwear was looking for fast easy stuff to take little that they new was no values was left in room. be aware leave electronics at home or keep with you since you may be the next victim. contacted hotel staff they said they were going to check the cameras no one ever contacted me with the results.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Director Comercial at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 4, 2015
Thanks for your comment Mr. Eliezer. We take every comment very seriously especially those related to security. When the managers received the information from our front desk staff and we noticed that you had not lost any values we decided not to interrupt your stay. The only thing we could think happends was that you left the door open inadvertently.
We have operate for 24 years and never had a security problem, our staff is 100% honnest and customer service oriented.
Our surveillance system is working and we assure you that if something get lost in any part of the hotel we will take a deep look to the cameras and find out what happends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

we knew what to expect so we were not really disappointed. the hotel is clean and close to manuel antonio np. the breakfast is ok and the staff is friendly but it is unbelievably noisy. it is now saturday morning at six and the bar downstairs is playing loud music (which it did pretty much all night long anyways). quepos itself has no charm whatsoever. manuel antonio up the hill might be the better choice

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
Thanks for your review and we are happy you were not really disappointed.

The hotel is located in the main entrance to Quepos with the best view of the marina and great sunsets everyday - Staying with us gives you the chance for choosing between restaurants in the area - shopping at the local supermarket etc. When you stay in a resort in Manuel Antonio you are stuck to the place at night and you pay triple.

We are consider the best choice when visiting Manuel Antonio area because you can stay longer. - The charm of Quepos is the people you meet in the restaurants and shops around.

Sorry for the loud music from the neiboors as we continue making efforts to avoid this type of situations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Long story with a happy ending. We got there early and they gave us towels and a place to change so we could swim. They said that we would have one of the rooms overlooking the pool which sounded nice. However, the first room that they tried to put us in was small, exposed to street noise, and (most concerning of all) smelt bad. We rejected that and wanted one of the ones overlooking the pool. In the end, because they wanted to true to their original word, they gave us a nice room (likely an upgrade) overlooking the ocean.

Ps. the city could use a makeover and noise was an issue (my gf says typical for So. American Countries) but for the newby it is loud and earplugs were helpful. Breakfast was good and waitstaff were very good.

Room Tip: The higher the better and nice view of ocean which made a lack luster city location romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
Thank you for your review and we are glad you had a happy ending.

We have gone through the room and checked the smelt and was not able to find the smelt, however we decide to implement an extra cleaning service and since your check out the room is renting normaly.

Regarding the noise, we are consider the best hotel in Quepos for location and rates and agree, the city needs a makeover, for that reason the general manager is involved in the groups of leaders who meet with the local goverment and look for solutions to problems such as the noise.

Glad to hear you enjoyed the new full breakfast concept and that our staff was very good... Next time in the area we want to recomend you try our "Whole Red Snaper Fried" in Mira Olas Restaurant in the third floor as we know you like fish to much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Richland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

The Kamuk hotel is a great place to stay in Quepos for the budget conscious traveler. If you are coming to Quepos to fish the dock is an easy 15 minute walk, there are great places to eat that are an easy walk. Rooms are air conditioned with good showers. Beds are not the most comfortable, but after a days fishing they are fine. The staff is the best part each one of them work hard to help you have a great vacation. the pool is in good repair and feels great in the heat. The food on-site is great (don't miss the civiche).

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 26, 2015
Dear Scott

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Tatiana Astua
Operations Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the Best Western one night,only because we couldn't find anything else,I must say that this was the worst hotel I've ever stayed in, the room we were given was the size of a closet,with two tiny single beds that were very old there was a door to a balcony that was the only natural light,in the morning as I was having a shower I found a huge tick stuck to me that obviously enjoyed his midnight snack on the plus side the food was OK in the restaurant NOT RECOMENDED

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 18, 2015
Dear David

Thanks for your review - we take guest reviews very seriously and analyze each and every one of them carefully. We are in the "pleasing" business and all suffer when something goes wrong.
Our hotel was full during your visit and the standard rooms they are all good but not to everyone's liking because of the size and bedding, is a shame that you did not mention your complaing to the managment while you were here.
However, we recuperate, take corrective action and move forward. For that reason we are the best hotels in Quepos downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino

Address: Central Ave | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino is the only full service ocean view hotel in Quepos. Located just a few steps from the Quepos Marina our 44 comfortable rooms are divided in 3 diferent categories: Standar, Superior and Primium, they all have air-conditioned, hot water, cable TV, free WI-FI Internet and most with balconies as well. The Restaurant & Bar "Mira Olas" is open for breakfast from 6-10am every day to serve complimentary breakfast to our guests including the typical Costa Rican gallo pinto with fried or scramble eggs.We also have a casino on premises for those who enjoy gaming, conference room for 50 people and the outdoor pool for our guests who prefer to relax in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/Quepos
Best Western Quepos
Quepos Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.