We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms and noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Ave | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 x 2 Promotion
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Wimborne
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Small rooms and noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is in the heart of Quepos and seems to be a bit of a landmark for the town, so is easy to find and to get to anywhere in Quepos. The rooms are very small, which is a shame given there is a lot of communal space in the hotel. Things seem to get noisy out on the street late at night and into the early morning. I did not get up to explore why, but it was so on each of the 3 nights we stayed here.
Breakfast was OK but as this was the end of our tour almost I craved a bit more variety. We enjoyed the pool as a bolt hole from the town.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Tatiana Astua
Operations Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    50
    39
    21
    14
See reviews for
26
57
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here for two days at the end of July and thought the location was great! The pool was nice and refreshing in the Costa Rican humidity. Breakfast was nice - Pinto de Gallo (beans & rice) and eggs to order, as well as fruit, toast and juice. We liked that we could walk to shops and a few local bars. There was a market on Saturday - worth a stop :)

Overall the hotel is a little dated, but clean and well kept. There is a guard on the door at night, but we never felt unsafe even going out for a couple drinks at night. The front desk was very helpful and there is a free internet kiosk. We also were able to have laundry done for $3/kilo. It cost us $6 dollars to have a big bag done, which was really helpful! There is a tour desk right in the hotel and the front desk was also helping arrange tours for other guests.

The street is a little noisy, but it never bothered us to the point of annoyance.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are likely the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Friend

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Tatiana Astua
Operations Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The staff is very friendly and helpfull (thanks Kenneth at reception). We just dropped in w/o reservation. Nice pool, good breakfast and large room. Nice to be ina local town i.o. too touristic Manuel Antonio town.

Room Tip: Street side rather noisy, but nice beachview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huesped

Queremos expresarle nuestro agradecimiento por completar la Encuesta de Huéspedes, sobre su reciente estancia en nuestro hotel.

Su preferencia es muy importante para nosotros y valoramos sus opiniones y comentarios. Al indicarnos lo que le gustó sobre su estancia y cómo podemos mejorar, nos ayuda a superarnos y poder ofrecer una mejor y más agradable experiencia tanto para Ud. como para cada uno de nuestros huéspedes. Esperamos tenerlo de nuevo entre nosotros.

Si personalmente puedo serle de utilidad para cualquier asunto relacionado con el hotel, no dude en contactarme al (506) 2777-0811.

Gracias de nuevo por el tiempo que nos ha dedicado al completar la encuesta. Apreciamos y valoramos su fidelidad a nuestra Marca.

Atentamente,

Tatiana Astua
Gerente de Operaciones
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We chose this hotel since one of our tours was picking us up here. We were on the third floor. The first night it was rather noisy since Costa Rica won their first game in the World Cup! The hotel is on the bus route but that is a minor inconvenience when you can look out on your balcony and see the ocean. The pool was nice and the restaurant offered a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Tatiana Astua
Operations Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We were due to stay in Wide Moth Frog, but pool was out of order, so we looked for other options. Credit to Wide Mouth for giving us refund.

We walked in to the hotel so rates were not great, but even so, it was only a bit more expensive than Wide Mouth when you include air con and breakfast fees that apply at the hostel.

Anyway, here the pool worked (and very pleasant (ask for towels from reception staff)), air con good, the rooms were clean (but small, and bed small too), showers worked, coffee maker to chill with, it was quite good. Staff very helpful and friendly, however they did give us room 202 which was above the casino. At 2.30am on a Tuesday night I was so annoyed that I stomped downstairs to enquire how much longer this would go on for and see the place. Only about 4 people in there, but still the need for thumping bass which penetrated my skull. Sure there was some street noise, but that was fine, it was the ruddy bass that did me in.

Next day we asked to move rooms to somewhere quieter, they moved us to room with view of pool. It was ok, but twin room, not double bed.

Breakfast area very nice with view of the Pacific and a decent range of stuff to start your day. Coffee served at the table.

Location is great with a number of Sodas closeby, plus some bars (dont just look down the bus station road, also go the other side), bus station a few minutes away, and across the road from the promenade.Yep, some ladies of the night about, but nothing to worry about.

We both felt that Quepos was a better place to stay than the road to Manuel Antonio, as it meant we only needed to get the bus one day for the trip to the reserve, the rest of the time we could walk around town enjoying the more local side of things.

Room Tip: Do not chose a room on the first floor above the casino, the bass coming through is awful! I think t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Tatiana Astua
Operations Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed a week in quepos. Wanted to be near friends. Not exactly the place to be ,above the casino. Bars across the street were loud so you couldn't sleep at night . Hookers everywhere outside the hotel at night . Will not stay there again. Food was ok. Water stopped running mid shower. Staff was nice though.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Tatiana Astua
Operations Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stopped at this hotel after driving for six hours. The outside seemed nice so we didn't ask to see the room. It smelled horrible. Like mildew and sewage. It was worse in the bathroom. And because there is a casino on the first floor it is loud. The bathroom was a mess. You couldn't even lock the door--it was the swinging saloon style type. There is no private parking at the hotel and the area felt unsafe to leave a car unattended. Way too expensive for what you get. On the bright side the staff was nice and the A/C worked.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Tatiana Astua
Operations Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk

Address: Central Ave | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel and Casino Kamuk is the only full service hotel in Quepos, offering 44 comfortable, air-conditioned rooms with hot water and cable TV, most with balconies as well. Restaurant, Mira Olas and Bar Mira Olas, open for breakfast 6-10am, seven days a week, we offer a complimentary continental breakfast to our guests, as well as the typical Costa Rican gallo pinto or American style eggs, pancakes and more; all cooked to order at reasonable prices. We also have a casino on premises for those who enjoy gaming, as well as an outdoor pool for our guests who prefer to relax in the sun. - No Smoking Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kamuk
Best Western Quepos
Quepos Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.