We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight - wish could stayed longer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Ave | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Florida, null, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overnight - wish could stayed longer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Best price best value in our whole trip. small clean comfortable room funky place to park your car but even though we blocked by five cars it took only five minutes to remove their cars wish I could've stayed longer but the place is booked. I wanted to go fishing!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Marco Ramírez
Front Desk Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    59
    48
    23
    16
See reviews for
33
66
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

The hotel contains everything you need but nothing more. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The AC wasn't working 100% and there was only a small TV with mediocre reception. Since the hotel is located right next to the busy street you should like the sound of big trucks using their compression brakes.

Staff we're incredibly friendly and helpful!

Breakfast consisted of a tiny portion of rice&beans with just one scrambled egg and a buffet of fruit and toast.

Quepos itself isn't really worth a longer stay, though.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Gerente at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Luis A. Bolaños
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I wondered about Quepos town when I found out the Best Western was the most swank hotel in town. After driving around for 5 minutes in the small town, we decided to check out the BW. It's definitely nice compared to many of the other hotels that we peeked into. But at $100 or so per night it was not worth. The rooms were basic BW rooms, fairly clean, fairly sterile. We ended up not staying here -- just to be clear -- when I asked the front desk what's a good restaurant to eat in and they told me the BW restaurant. And they repeated that we should eat at the BW restaurant. When I named some specific restaurants recommended by guidebooks, the people at the front desk said they never heard of those restaurants! At that point, why spend $100+ to stay in a sterile room and be given bad advice? It was too much! Location was right across the street from the ocean but in a noisy-ish area with bars and late night eateries.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Gerente at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Luis A. Bolaños
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The room was a little musty, but we hit it right at the Festivus Civicas (like a Mardi Gras) and the location was fabulous! Room was similar to any other BW hotel. Clean rooms, very comfortable beds. Pool area would have been much better, if there hadn't been unpleasant odors wafting through. Food in the restaurant is okay. Staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the north side of the complex or the ones in the main building. Our room was fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Gerente at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Luis A. Bolaños
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
65 hotel reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was there a night on Feb 17. It was the best hotel I found on line on a short notice and the last room. Hotel is good, clean, friendly staff, room was large, large and clean bath with good shower. The hotel is really nice, has a good felling of safety and comfort, nice interiors, elevator, interior garden.
The bad part, yes, there always is a bad part, the hotel is not in a good area. Although is a touristic area, the neighborhood get sketchy in the night time. My room was facing a side side street, one way that is, lots of traffic and lots of noise, it is just across from a bar that gets loud late night. the hotel is above of the casino and a questionable bar. Both packed with prostitutes, just like the street, below the hotel balcony. This is why traffic is little more intense on this street in the night time.
There are only three decent restaurants in the area, I didn't wonder to far off the hotel, not that is anything out there. One Mexican, one with live music and very loud one, one terrace with expensive prices and another corner restaurant, clean, small and quiet. Family run.

The hotel restaurant is nice, on the third floor terrace but towards the expensive part. Breakfast was not included, basic, good but expensive.

Wifi is not good throughout the hotel. I tried the second floor, the lobby, then the restaurant, they all have a wireless router on each floor. I called the reception and they told me the hotel is full and the lines are busy. Didn't quite understand that, all the services have to be estimated and fully functional at full capacity. This is the reason i got out for dinner, I needed internet to book the next hotel on the road for the next night.

If you are there for a just a night like myself it is ok, but i wouldn't stay there more than that.
nothing wrong with the hotel just the neighborhood. Felt like a room in the red district.
There are no fridges in the room, large room, enough space for it but no fridge. I found that not convenient at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the entrance of the hotel not the Casino. Avoid the side street after dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Gerente at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Luis A. Bolaños
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Positives.

Very friendly and efficient staff. Nice range of good food and drinks on offer in the restaurant with the best breakfasts (Nice yogurts and fruit) I had while in Costa Rica. Good views from the restaurant over the bay. Comfortable bed and clean room. Convenient location for the bus station for getting buses into Manuel Antonio, which has the nicer beaches. Good facilities with swimming pool and free internet access in the lounge.

Negatives

Dingy and noisy bedroom. Even though I had one of the inside facing rooms (recommended as 'quieter' by another traveller) traffic noise from the road outside was still very evident. The bathroom vent opened onto the inside corridor so make sure this is closed before going to bed to avoid attracting further noise from passing guests. The lighting in the room was poor.

Quepos is an ok location by day but not the nicest of places by night. Aside from eating in the hotel, which can be an expensive option, the best restaurants are at Manuel Antonio or on the road in between these two towns. This means another bus or taxi ride out of town.

The water system failed on the day I was checking out. This was reported by another reviewer staying on a different date so this obviously wasn't an isolated incident. Even if it is a problem throughout the town the hotel needs to have a contingency stand by for flushing the loos in the public areas. These rapidly became unhygenic to use. Buckets of water, if necessary filled from the swimming pool, would go some way toward solving the problem.

Would I stay here again if in this area? Probably not as I would prefer to stay at or closer to Manuel Antonio and visit Quepos through the day, rather than the other way around. Of course this may cost slightly more so it depends on your budget.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest possible and take some ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Gerente at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Luis A. Bolaños
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I was one of two couples that checked into the hotel on Feb11, for two nights. The rooms we were given were hotter than H--l and there was no water. We got moved to other rooms that had no water either. We were assured there would be water by six PM that night. It never came. We were told that there was no water in the entire city of Quepos by the lady at the front desk. But when I checked with the ice cream shop in the same building they reported that they had water and there had been no problems. I told this to the desk clerk who insisted that the whole city had no water. totally untrue! We went to bed hot, sweaty and smelly. They would knot even give me a bottle of water to brush my teeth with. I had to buy it. Furthermore they charged two dollars a night for a safe key.
After a loud sleepless night, I went to the front desk at five AM to see what the water situation was. A young man was there who told me if I wanted water all he had to do was turn on the water pump in the hotel. I told him of course I wanted water. He said I would have it when I got back to my room. Sure enough, the water was now running…..for about a half hour and then no water again. It was evident that the problem was in their internal water system. We left for the day to fish and when we returned, no water yet. We were told lit would be up and running soon and sure enough, it was. We got a shower in at six PM in time to go out for dinner.
We do a lot of world travel. We know that on occasion s--t happens. We are pretty good about rolling with the punches when unavoidable problems with accommodations occur. But, in this case we were lied to and did not get any sense of sympathy or help from the staff. The owner was standing in the desk area when I was discussing the situation and he chose to ignore our presence and did nothing to try to ameliorate things
If you are in Quepos, make other hotel arrangements outside of the rough and unsafe downtown area. It is loaded with drunks, desperate worn out prostitutes and is not a comfortable place to walk around in after dark. I have been to Quepos before and got good accommodations on the hill between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park.
Fishing was great by the way. We caught fourteen sailfish in one day. That helped smooth out the bad hotel experience.





d

Room Tip: If you do stay here go for the top floor rooms overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana A, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank You very much for your comments¡¡¡

Best Regards,

Tatiana Astua
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino

Address: Central Ave | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino is the only full service ocean view hotel in Quepos. Located just a few steps from the Quepos Marina our 44 comfortable rooms are divided in 3 diferent categories: Standar, Superior and Primium, they all have air-conditioned, hot water, cable TV, free WI-FI Internet and most with balconies as well. The Restaurant & Bar "Mira Olas" is open for breakfast from 6-10am every day to serve complimentary breakfast to our guests including the typical Costa Rican gallo pinto with fried or scramble eggs.We also have a casino on premises for those who enjoy gaming, conference room for 50 people and the outdoor pool for our guests who prefer to relax in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/Quepos
Best Western Quepos
Quepos Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.