We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good aspects some not so good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Ave | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Brit in UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Some good aspects some not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Positives.

Very friendly and efficient staff. Nice range of good food and drinks on offer in the restaurant with the best breakfasts (Nice yogurts and fruit) I had while in Costa Rica. Good views from the restaurant over the bay. Comfortable bed and clean room. Convenient location for the bus station for getting buses into Manuel Antonio, which has the nicer beaches. Good facilities with swimming pool and free internet access in the lounge.

Negatives

Dingy and noisy bedroom. Even though I had one of the inside facing rooms (recommended as 'quieter' by another traveller) traffic noise from the road outside was still very evident. The bathroom vent opened onto the inside corridor so make sure this is closed before going to bed to avoid attracting further noise from passing guests. The lighting in the room was poor.

Quepos is an ok location by day but not the nicest of places by night. Aside from eating in the hotel, which can be an expensive option, the best restaurants are at Manuel Antonio or on the road in between these two towns. This means another bus or taxi ride out of town.

The water system failed on the day I was checking out. This was reported by another reviewer staying on a different date so this obviously wasn't an isolated incident. Even if it is a problem throughout the town the hotel needs to have a contingency stand by for flushing the loos in the public areas. These rapidly became unhygenic to use. Buckets of water, if necessary filled from the swimming pool, would go some way toward solving the problem.

Would I stay here again if in this area? Probably not as I would prefer to stay at or closer to Manuel Antonio and visit Quepos through the day, rather than the other way around. Of course this may cost slightly more so it depends on your budget.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest possible and take some ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Gerente at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Luis A. Bolaños
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    52
    40
    21
    14
See reviews for
27
58
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I was one of two couples that checked into the hotel on Feb11, for two nights. The rooms we were given were hotter than H--l and there was no water. We got moved to other rooms that had no water either. We were assured there would be water by six PM that night. It never came. We were told that there was no water in the entire city of Quepos by the lady at the front desk. But when I checked with the ice cream shop in the same building they reported that they had water and there had been no problems. I told this to the desk clerk who insisted that the whole city had no water. totally untrue! We went to bed hot, sweaty and smelly. They would knot even give me a bottle of water to brush my teeth with. I had to buy it. Furthermore they charged two dollars a night for a safe key.
After a loud sleepless night, I went to the front desk at five AM to see what the water situation was. A young man was there who told me if I wanted water all he had to do was turn on the water pump in the hotel. I told him of course I wanted water. He said I would have it when I got back to my room. Sure enough, the water was now running…..for about a half hour and then no water again. It was evident that the problem was in their internal water system. We left for the day to fish and when we returned, no water yet. We were told lit would be up and running soon and sure enough, it was. We got a shower in at six PM in time to go out for dinner.
We do a lot of world travel. We know that on occasion s--t happens. We are pretty good about rolling with the punches when unavoidable problems with accommodations occur. But, in this case we were lied to and did not get any sense of sympathy or help from the staff. The owner was standing in the desk area when I was discussing the situation and he chose to ignore our presence and did nothing to try to ameliorate things
If you are in Quepos, make other hotel arrangements outside of the rough and unsafe downtown area. It is loaded with drunks, desperate worn out prostitutes and is not a comfortable place to walk around in after dark. I have been to Quepos before and got good accommodations on the hill between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park.
Fishing was great by the way. We caught fourteen sailfish in one day. That helped smooth out the bad hotel experience.





d

Room Tip: If you do stay here go for the top floor rooms overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana A, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank You very much for your comments¡¡¡

Best Regards,

Tatiana Astua
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Having stayed at the Kamuk 5 times in the last 5 years for a week each time,we enjoyed it very much. The Hotel is clean and the rooms are decent, but some are not very big. The rooms overlooking the pool are nice and quiet.Beautiful view of the Pacific from the Ocean side rooms.The bathrooms are nice and large but the last time we stayed it was hard to get warm water for a whole shower. I would be fine for a couple minutes and all of the sudden it's cold or hot.Restaurant is very good and reasonably priced, as are the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms across from the bars are a little loud weekend nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana A, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Tatiana Astua
Operations Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Imagine an older, well maintained beach front hotel in any American resort.. Add a small, rarely used casino, a five star restaraunt and the Costa Rican personality.. The only negative is the night life at your balcony if you face the street for the view.. Get an inside room, lose the view and your room will be much quieter. At the foot of Manuel Antonio it is a bus ride away.. While we were here the ride was 58 cents one way.. The only way to go since parking could be as much as $20, after a congested drive up the hill..the hotel is beautiful, across the street from the beach front used during the day as a playground, family gathering place, domino players meeting spot.. On the side streets are quality shops, sodas and bars.. The bars get louder after dark so if you want sleep, stay in an interior room.. Great food and drinks in the hotel restaraunt with quality service, clean, clean rooms.. Can't say enough good about this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have great views but can be noisy due to the nightlife and traffic.. We trav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Tatiana Astua
Operations Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

From my home in San Ramon it is a 3 hour drive to Quepos. The Best Western is a very nice, clean hotel on the main drag of downtown. There is not much to the town, but a five minute drive or bus ride puts on the beaches of Manuel Antonio.

The restaurant, in the hotel, is a little pricey but not as bad as a lot of them. The staff in the hotel and the restaurant are very friendly and helpful.

Our room was on the second floor overlooking main street and the bay. We paid under $80.00. There was only the wife and myself, so we had one King Size bed.

All along the road to the beach are restaurants and the bus service is very good. If you are on a budget and those $200. a night resorts are stopping you from visiting this wonderful area, this could be your answer.

Room Tip: The view from the front of the hotel is very nice, but the outside noise can be too much. The other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank You very much for your comments

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Tatiana Astua
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch and wish we hadn't. The restaurant is located on the 3rd floor with a view of the ocean.

I ordered the chicken curry which was served with stale hard rice and not a sliver of vegetables. My partner ordered the Casado which was served with the same stale rice. I think you would be better off with a street vendor.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (506) 2777-0811.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Tatiana Astua
Operations Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Ok it is cheap so expectations are not high! The rooms are small dark and dingey and half of them are above the casino which is also the red light district so do not expect to get much sleep! The continental breakfast is standard with very limited choice. It must be said the people at the front desk are very nice and helpful. My advise would be if you don't want to pay Manuel Antonio prices just get a hotel on the road towards as they are in a better location and just as cheap

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk

Address: Central Ave | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino is the only full service ocean view hotel in Quepos. Located just a few steps from the Quepos Marina our 44 comfortable rooms are divided in 3 diferent categories: Standar, Superior and Primium, they all have air-conditioned, hot water, cable TV, free WI-FI Internet and most with balconies as well. The Restaurant & Bar "Mira Olas" is open for breakfast from 6-10am every day to serve complimentary breakfast to our guests including the typical Costa Rican gallo pinto with fried or scramble eggs.We also have a casino on premises for those who enjoy gaming, conference room for 50 people and the outdoor pool for our guests who prefer to relax in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kamuk
Best Western Quepos
Quepos Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.