We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay at Quepos/” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Ave | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
costarican in San José
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay at Quepos/”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Originally, we had two ideas for local places to stay and eco hotels around the world. ” It's incredibly important to expand your horizons. Even worse would be to say, “check out these amazing eco hotels around the world.” I mean that just sends the wrong message – after all, you’d be hopping onto a plane. Much less hypocritical however, would be to explore some of the amazing places that are actually worth traveling for. Modern day living is often on a par with a rat run: non-stop work, cities that never sleep and people who are constantly on your back. Sometimes it’s important to just step back and to take a break. So this Kamuk hotel gives to the customer what it needs as fast as possible in a beautiful place Quepos.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    57
    46
    23
    16
See reviews for
31
65
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Service in the restaraunt was very slow and the portions were very small but tasty. Minimal breakfast but the hotel is very affordable. We wish we had gone on to Manuel for a classier abeit more expensive hotel. Quepos itself seems to be changing and not for the better. I will not stay there ever again. Not sure there is anyting the hotel can do about its neighbors and the direction the city is going.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in a deluxe room (rm 409) with a pool view. For the price, this place is great. Directly across the street from the water, plenty of Taxi on the street to get to M.A. The restaurant had good service and great costa rican cosado plates. The staff was pleasant. The was clean... there were some bugs entering the room from a crack near the balcony... didn't really bother us. It was what I expected. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, MO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I arrived to my room to find 3 people in it. I guess the manager was showing it to a travel agent or something. The room was just fine. I did have the top floor with a balcony and the ocean view. I also had a great view of the street directly below me. Word of warning-if you're looking for peace and quiet, get an interior room. The street noise, especially on a weekend, is kinda loud and goes on till the wee hours of the morning.
The pool was nice and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were very happy with our decision to stay at this hotel while visiting nearby Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio. Before we arrived I had sent several emails with various questions. They were all answered quickly and expeditiously. I tend to avoid Best Western at home, but this is the second Best Western in Latin America that I have tried and both were excellent. They are not motels in the traditional sense, but rather they seem to be established nicer hotels that BW has acquired. Our room was spacious and spotless. We had no problems with noise, probably because of the interior location. Every thing worked fine...AC, wifi. The bathroom had a swinging door and was not air conditioned...air came in through upper openings that faced the central open interior. The contrast between the tropical bathroom and the room with AC was weird, but really not a problem. Yes, the breakfast was a little sparse. but fresh fruit, wholegrain bread and coffee were fine. (Most of the hotel breakfast offerings are stuff you would not want to eat anyway.)And you could not beat the open air setting.We ate dinner there one night, in that same beautiful setting. They were offering a free glass of wine. They prepared the traditional Costa Recon casado dish to be vegetarian...it was excellent as was the Asian salad. They also provided secure, locked parking. The price was right, staff and service excellent, I would definitely stay here again and I will seek out other BW hotels in Latin America as well.

Room Tip: Considering others' complaints of noise, an interior room, not near the pool is probably a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you very much for this nice comment, we are very pleased and happy to have met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

the positive is that theh hotel is reasonably priced in comparison to accomodation in manuel antonio. Stayed 2 nights, first in deluxe room at front of hotel and after complaining about noise which kept us awake until 3am we were moved to the back of the hotel which was marginally better but not much.

Unfortunately the hotel is located next to one of the main Quepos gringo bars and prostitutes looking to serve their sport fishing clients. We were amused by the regular and noisy interaction from prostitutes on the streets to the men/clients on balcony of the BW hotel seeking to find out if they intend to visit the bar later.

Service standards differed between staff and ranged from appalling to nonchalent which is a shame for the Best Western brand.

Breakfast is tokenistic and not of a standard expected . Service in the restaurant was shocking.

Room Tip: overlooking the pool in the middle of the hotel woud be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
We are very sorry to know you did not enjoy your stay with us, sometimes it is difficult to fight against factors such as prostitution and noise occurring outside our walls and into the surrounding streets. We work every day to solve this kind of problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Right in the center of town.

The hotel isn't too bad... and the staff was nice... but being across the street from Wacky Wanda's it was very noisy until early am (even on a tuesday)... The "free" breakfast was fruit, cereal, and toast... had to order off the menu even for eggs.

WiFi was spotty.

At Hotel Mimos now (3km up the road)... much nicer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear BrianARice,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino

Address: Central Ave | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino is the only full service ocean view hotel in Quepos. Located just a few steps from the Quepos Marina our 44 comfortable rooms are divided in 3 diferent categories: Standar, Superior and Primium, they all have air-conditioned, hot water, cable TV, free WI-FI Internet and most with balconies as well. The Restaurant & Bar "Mira Olas" is open for breakfast from 6-10am every day to serve complimentary breakfast to our guests including the typical Costa Rican gallo pinto with fried or scramble eggs.We also have a casino on premises for those who enjoy gaming, conference room for 50 people and the outdoor pool for our guests who prefer to relax in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/Quepos
Best Western Quepos
Quepos Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.