We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noise, prostitutes and poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Ave | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Quepos
London
1 review
“noise, prostitutes and poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

the positive is that theh hotel is reasonably priced in comparison to accomodation in manuel antonio. Stayed 2 nights, first in deluxe room at front of hotel and after complaining about noise which kept us awake until 3am we were moved to the back of the hotel which was marginally better but not much.

Unfortunately the hotel is located next to one of the main Quepos gringo bars and prostitutes looking to serve their sport fishing clients. We were amused by the regular and noisy interaction from prostitutes on the streets to the men/clients on balcony of the BW hotel seeking to find out if they intend to visit the bar later.

Service standards differed between staff and ranged from appalling to nonchalent which is a shame for the Best Western brand.

Breakfast is tokenistic and not of a standard expected . Service in the restaurant was shocking.

Room Tip: overlooking the pool in the middle of the hotel woud be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
We are very sorry to know you did not enjoy your stay with us, sometimes it is difficult to fight against factors such as prostitution and noise occurring outside our walls and into the surrounding streets. We work every day to solve this kind of problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    44
    38
    21
    14
See reviews for
24
54
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Right in the center of town.

The hotel isn't too bad... and the staff was nice... but being across the street from Wacky Wanda's it was very noisy until early am (even on a tuesday)... The "free" breakfast was fruit, cereal, and toast... had to order off the menu even for eggs.

WiFi was spotty.

At Hotel Mimos now (3km up the road)... much nicer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear BrianARice,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

In Quepos,costa rica this is the best happy hour and great sunsets. the food was good and service was slow, you can hear the ocean from your table. we did not stay at the hotel, but the place is nice. would go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, for us it is a pleasure to serve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The staff is more than unfriendly: Upon arrival I asked, if it was possible to shorten the stay from 4 to 3 nights. The receptionist threatened me and told me that I had to pay a fine for that. In the end, I could shorten it without paying, but the way I was treated was not correct and we didn't really feel safe there. Next to the hotel is a casino and there are many bars: As a consequence of this, dubious persons were hanging around in front of the hotel. From 11 pm to 5 am drunken people do the best to let you not fall asleep! The noise was really unbearable. The included breakfast is not worth mentioning: You have to pay extra for eggy, omeletts, croissants. You better choose a nice hotel between Quepos and Manuel Antonio...
By the way: The water quality in Quepos is not good at the moment, so you can't go swimming there. So why choose a beachside hotel, if you can't enjoy the sea and the beach?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Very sorry for your inconvenience, we will discuss with our staff to find out this situation, your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using this review to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We would like to clarify that we did return of your money when you did check out.
We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

we stayed 3 nights at BEST WESTERN Hotel Kamuk. The hotel located in the central Quepos. The room was clean, but the room is close to the swimming pool, it's really noisy during the night. The AC in our room was broken on the 3rd night, so they gave us the key to the premium room with no extra charge, which was nice of them. The staffs in the hotel are helpful and nice. The hotel has its own casino, but sometime during the night you'll see some drunk people hanging out. Overall it's a great hotel with good value, it has free breakfast, free wifi, and many more...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, we really appreciate your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our return from Playa Matapalo en route to San Jose. We were given a room next to the street. If you stay here, ask for another location, perhaps next to the pool. We were kept awake by the street noise. We did have fun going out onto the balcony and watching the locals visiting the bar across the street. For a younger person, I guess noise wouldn't be a problem just join in the revelry. The room was comfortable enough, other than noise. Complimentary breakfast was sufficient.

Room Tip: Get a room located away from the street if quiet is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, we really appreciate your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is not your typical Best Western. From the outside it looks mundane but, once you cross inside, you will be dazzled by the charming Spanish decor.

Check-in was very professional and our room on the 2nd. floor was generous, charming and definitely a notch more upscale than your average Best Western. Spotlessly clean and super, daily, room service. We stayed there 3 nights.

Staff was always courteous and very helpful with our myriad of questions. The included breakfast in the Mira Olas restaurant upstairs is pretty basic but the view is great and, if you are really hungry, you can always order more food from the extensive menu. Or, step outside and enjoy the food from the multitude of little local shops on both sides of the street. Dinner was excellent at that restaurant.

The hotel is located in a busy part of Quepos but it was low-season and that surely helped to keep the noise level low. The advantage is that it’s walking distance to the waterfront, great restaurants and many shops.

Room Tip: In high season you may wnat to try to get a room further away from the "casino".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk

Address: Central Ave | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel and Casino Kamuk is the only full service hotel in Quepos, offering 44 comfortable, air-conditioned rooms with hot water and cable TV, most with balconies as well. Restaurant, Mira Olas and Bar Mira Olas, open for breakfast 6-10am, seven days a week, we offer a complimentary continental breakfast to our guests, as well as the typical Costa Rican gallo pinto or American style eggs, pancakes and more; all cooked to order at reasonable prices. We also have a casino on premises for those who enjoy gaming, as well as an outdoor pool for our guests who prefer to relax in the sun. - No Smoking Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kamuk
Best Western Quepos
Quepos Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.