We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Ave | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 hotels in Quepos
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our return from Playa Matapalo en route to San Jose. We were given a room next to the street. If you stay here, ask for another location, perhaps next to the pool. We were kept awake by the street noise. We did have fun going out onto the balcony and watching the locals visiting the bar across the street. For a younger person, I guess noise wouldn't be a problem just join in the revelry. The room was comfortable enough, other than noise. Complimentary breakfast was sufficient.

Room Tip: Get a room located away from the street if quiet is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, we really appreciate your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    44
    39
    21
    14
See reviews for
23
54
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williams Lake
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is not your typical Best Western. From the outside it looks mundane but, once you cross inside, you will be dazzled by the charming Spanish decor.

Check-in was very professional and our room on the 2nd. floor was generous, charming and definitely a notch more upscale than your average Best Western. Spotlessly clean and super, daily, room service. We stayed there 3 nights.

Staff was always courteous and very helpful with our myriad of questions. The included breakfast in the Mira Olas restaurant upstairs is pretty basic but the view is great and, if you are really hungry, you can always order more food from the extensive menu. Or, step outside and enjoy the food from the multitude of little local shops on both sides of the street. Dinner was excellent at that restaurant.

The hotel is located in a busy part of Quepos but it was low-season and that surely helped to keep the noise level low. The advantage is that it’s walking distance to the waterfront, great restaurants and many shops.

Room Tip: In high season you may wnat to try to get a room further away from the "casino".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivette, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My standard room was a bit cramped, but with a very nice, but cramped bathroom. There are some homeless people sleeping on the street outside the hotel. The cops wake them up in the morning and tell them to go away. I didn't see homeless people in Jaco like I did there. I was there during low season so there were not a lot of people in town. There is a very nice view from the the 3rd floor restaurant of the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful in helping me look for tours. They also helped me to find nice restaurants to eat at. I wouldn't recommend Quepos in general. I was not impressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

From the outside it looks ordinary, but the Best Western kamuk is anything but ordinary. Lovely Spanish architecture, incredibly helpful staff, excellent bed and great views. We found the room was large and well appointed, the service really good and the bar and Restaurant excellent value. Recommend it particularly as we were here in the wet season. The room we were initially given was small, but it was no trouble to change and nicest. Good laundry service also.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. The hotel was booked for us by Coast to Coast adventures for the night before the start of their C2C trip. Smart enough hotel just across the road from the Pacific. We arrived too early to check in, but the reception staff were happy to store our bags and give us directions to the bus station to get the bus to Manuel Antonio.
Nothing majorly good or bad to say. The rooms were OK, the pool was a bit grubby, but OK. The restaurant was pretty good. The hotel was very quiet....none of the noise experienced by other people and definitely no parties of 'guys'.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Nice Pacific views. Clean. Had salads and they were good. Had ceviche made unlike any I've had before. Was good also. Priced medium.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

What a horrible experience I had at this Best Western.
I arrived late at night, and there was vacancy at the Best Western. The door man watched me struggle to get my baggage out of the car and up the 3 ft. curb. Didn't lift a finger to help.
Check in was fine, the person at reception was very good and polite. Went up to the room and it smelled like something had been dumped on the floor a week ago. The person at the desk came up to the room, walked in and said "You're right, I'll get you another room". Moved across the hall. The beds in both rooms looked like they had been there since the 70's hard and old. Same with the everything else in the room (except the towels they were nice and new)
I went for a walk because the restaurant was closed. Drug addicts filled the streets, no warnings from the hotel staff.
When I came back I went to check out the casino. The one poker table was closed, and so were half the slot machines. That meant the casino consisted of 1 DJ playing music too loud, a Bar with 5 very drunk people sitting in front of it and about 15 working slot machines with about 8 people playing. Not really a casino (as I know them).
Went back to the room to sleep. Of course my room was right above the casino with the very loud music. Next to impossible to fall asleep. At 5:30 am I was woken up by the restaurant. They decided it was the perfect time to move all the furniture around. I couldn't get back to sleep so I got around 3 hrs sleep in total.
I complained at the front desk when I finally got out of bed and the person working there just looked at me. I went up to the restaurant to complain, there was no restaurant manager, and everyone in the restaurant did the same thing ... just looked at me. No apologies, no one thinking they had done anything wrong, was like talking to a wall.
I had the complimentary breakfast (toast and coffee) and watched the drug addicts hide from the rain in the shelter out the front of the hotel. I asked if I could have a take out cup so I could go back to the room and pack, to go to another hotel and the waiter told me it would cost me $1.50 US. (crazy)
Even though I paid for a night sleep, I got 3 hrs worth and no apology for the noise. There was no compensation at all, not even a coffee to go. Would have been much better off at any other hotel in the city.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the 2nd floor you will have the Casino all night long and the restaurant at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk

Address: Central Ave | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel and Casino Kamuk is the only full service hotel in Quepos, offering 44 comfortable, air-conditioned rooms with hot water and cable TV, most with balconies as well. Restaurant, Mira Olas and Bar Mira Olas, open for breakfast 6-10am, seven days a week, we offer a complimentary continental breakfast to our guests, as well as the typical Costa Rican gallo pinto or American style eggs, pancakes and more; all cooked to order at reasonable prices. We also have a casino on premises for those who enjoy gaming, as well as an outdoor pool for our guests who prefer to relax in the sun. - No Smoking Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kamuk
Best Western Quepos
Quepos Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.