We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and noisy!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Ave | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 x 2 Promotion
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Atenas, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and noisy!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I'll start with the positives. Our room was clean and the bed comfortable. The hotel's staff are friendly, and we had a good experience booking a tour through the front desk. The food in the restaurant was good, or at least as good as one can expect in a country not known for its cuisine.

Now for the negatives.

The noise from the casino was so bad that our traveling companions had to move to a different room just to be able to sleep. Our room was under the restaurant, and we heard chairs and table being moved around every night at closing and again every morning before opening.

Although we could see the ocean from our balcony, the view was seriously limited by utility lines and poles. (I think this was also a factor in our never being able to connect to the free Internet service, so we were forced to use the computer in the hotel lobby to check e-mail.)

Lastly, the breakfast buffet consisted of store-bought orange juice - which, I'm sorry, but in a country where orange trees grow in people's yards is really unacceptable - with dry cereal and Costa Rica's version of Wonder bread for toasting. Additional items, like eggs, were available for purchase.

If you don't mind sleeping with earplugs, this one might be an option. Otherwise, move on down the road to Manuel Antonio with its wide array of suitable options.

Room Tip: If you have no other choice than to stay here, be sure to get a room on an upper floor per comments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    50
    39
    21
    14
See reviews for
26
57
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were very happy with the service from all staff members here, especially Cynthia at the front desk. Our first night we were facing the road and it was very noisy so the next night they moved us to a room on the 4th floor which was extremely quiet. Any questions we had we would call the front desk with no problems. The restaurant cooked up our fish we caught each day for us at an unbelievable price and they were all very friendly and on top of everything. As for the previous comment about the breakfast in the morning, you get what you pay for..... The breakfast is free and it was fresh fruit, bread, Juice, cereal etc. you can't expect it to be a gourmet breakfast. Quepos is one the safest places in all of central America and we traveled through all the countries. I would recommend this place to anyone it's half of the price of the best western in Jaco and twice as nice!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We arrived 10 min to 14.00, and as check-in time was 14.00, we were told to wait in the lobby, After 45 mins of waiting, we discovered the check-in staff had left and the new staff member wasn't informed. She did not have our reservation and found it unprocessed on the fax machine. After that, we could not get into our room, because the electronic key was not working properly. Eventually we managed, yet still have no clue why 9/10 times it did not work. The room was small, and right on the road. This meant a lot of noise that continued until dawn. The bathroom was nicely decorated, however our shower did not work well. Breakfast ok. Free internet terminal & free parking around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I was in a room next to the restaurant storage on the third floor. The staff was excessively loud in conversing by the storage room. You could hear every box being moved around and all conversation. I asked the front desk person for the internet password and she provided me with the wrong password, and was very difficult to deal with when I called back stating that the password was incorrect. The second front desk person provided the correct internet password, but led me astray each time I asked questions about recommendations in the area or directions. They were not helpful at all. The room was very tiny, but provided hot water and was clean. AC worked. The area seemed very sketchy, would not recommend going out at night. Breakfast is included but nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gagetown, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I spent two nights at this hotel during a school trip. The AC worked fine and the bedroom was clean. The pool was also nice, albeit small. However, there were some major issues. The food served in the restaurant was mediocre and the meals I ate there were among the worst during my 9-day trip. The water temperature was spotty, so don't plan on a hot shower. The area around the hotel seemed pretty shady; I would not go around outside the hotel after dark, and only in a group if you must. Overall, not the most pleasant part of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietnam
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Nightly after dinner we would walk to the Best Western Hotel and take the elevator to the third floor restaraunt. We would order our coffee and sit at a bistro table overlooking the street below and the ocean. The coffee was very good and the service was always friendly and smiley even though we only ever had coffee.
Great place for an evening coffee as most places close early.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poolville, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed in the Best Western Hotel in Costa Rica (Quepos). Good things - great AC. Got a corner room with a decent view (2nd floor). Beds good, pillows nice, room clean.
Downside - over the Casino and under the restaurant so the room was very noisy. The water temp varied during your shower. The key stopped working a lot, so we made many trips back down to the front desk to get it 're-set'. Breakfast was included but not very good. We did feel safe, but then again, we felt safe throughout Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Casino (if you like to sleep!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk

Address: Central Ave | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel and Casino Kamuk is the only full service hotel in Quepos, offering 44 comfortable, air-conditioned rooms with hot water and cable TV, most with balconies as well. Restaurant, Mira Olas and Bar Mira Olas, open for breakfast 6-10am, seven days a week, we offer a complimentary continental breakfast to our guests, as well as the typical Costa Rican gallo pinto or American style eggs, pancakes and more; all cooked to order at reasonable prices. We also have a casino on premises for those who enjoy gaming, as well as an outdoor pool for our guests who prefer to relax in the sun. - No Smoking Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kamuk
Best Western Quepos
Quepos Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel & Casino Kamuk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.