We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite of our Costa Rica trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brisas del Nara

Brisas del Nara
Londres, Quepos, Costa Rica
506 27791235
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 56 Activities in Quepos
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Sports
Attraction details
Grant, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A favorite of our Costa Rica trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The tour started with them picking us up in a tour van from our villa in Quepos. There was an english speaking guide that rode along and pointed out points of interest and wildlife. They were happy to stop so we could get some good pictures. When we arrived at the ranch we were greeted by the family, and served a great costa rican breakfast. They were very accomodating to our three young grandchildren. We took the half day tour, which was perfect for the kids. We stopped to swim in the river, and our guide and the ranchers grandson swam with us and played with the kids. Our guide told us a lot about the Costa Rican culture, and was very friendly. When we returned to the ranch we were served a delicous lunch of fish, rice, potatoes, and vegetables. The guide sat with us during lunch, and by the time we left he felt like one of the family. I was actually a little sad to say good bye to everyone there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quepos, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great first horse experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We did the half day tour. Our 1 and 4 year olds rode with us, our 8year old rode a small horse. the horses were well trained and well cared for. the kids were required to wear helmets. Our guide was excellent and took us n an alternate route than normal so that we would have a safe spot to swim since our kids are so little. He was very personable and even played with the kids. the meals were great! The whole family was very welcoming. I thought it was a bit pricey.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice experience. Tough for your rear.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Unfortunately we went during low rain season, so the waterfall was just a trickle, yet we were able to swim in the little waterfall pool. The tour lasted about 2 hours both ways, horses bit slow, but that could be not knowing how to ride a horse. Food was ok. People very friendly

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Luis is the best horse guide in costa rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

Hey, i submitted this place to tripadvisor because it was not on here and now here it is! We went to brisas del nara becaus the adh who we were rentong from recommended hem. Horses seemed well treated. It is a family style place in the countryside. Thry were very fair in negotiations and food was great. We got breakfast and lunch included in a half day tour. Luis, our tour huide spooe perfect english and had a lot of great tips about costa rica and we had a very nice time riding wth him. I was happy to not be ina big group.

I was so impressed, i promised him i would get them listed on tripadvisor so more people can find out about their ranch.

Enjoy your ride!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful experience for families with young children!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We booked a half-day horseback tour through our hotel, and a driver picked us up promptly at 7:50 AM. Our tour guide, Luis, offered information about culture and the flora and fauna of the region as we drove a half hour to the stables. Once there, we had a delicious breakfast of gallo pinto, eggs, and juice and then mounted our horses. From the moment he met my daughter, who is five years old, he treated her with particular kindness. He allowed her to ride with him on his horse (much faster than ours) and galloped with her at her request . . . several times. We're pretty sure it's an adventure she'll never forget.

The horses appeared very well cared for, and very calm. Mine (as originally my daughter was going to ride with me), was perfect for a child or parent/child combo. Luis is an exceptional guide. He's young and energetic, friendly and compassionate. He gave gentle direction to first-time riders and told his group even more information about the flora and fauna we saw as we rode. Halfway through the ride, we stopped at a swimming hole (cold) for a dip, and then rode back for a traditional Costa Rican lunch of chicken or fish, rice, beans, potatoes, and squash.

Our group asked Luis endless questions about food, language, culture, music, horses, and horticulture--he had a ready and interesting answer for us every time. He sat down with us at lunch and answered our questions at length.

I highly recommend this tour to anyone . . . but especially to families with children--the two-hour ride through varied terrain is beautiful, and the people who run Brisas del Nara are absolutely delightful.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brisas del Nara also viewed

Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Brisas del Nara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisas del Nara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.