We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Casada place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Leon

Rancho Leon
Jaco Highway, Quepos, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 53 restaurants in Quepos
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open for several years. Very good food. Friendly staff. English spoken and on menu.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Great Casada place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stopped here for lunch and had the typical Casada dishes - rice, beans, plantains, peppers, and grilled chicken pieces, which were delicious. And very reasonably priced. Service was a bit slow, mainly because it was a busy place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    40
    14
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manuel Antonio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Didn't felt welcome”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Food was ok and price not that cheap. A group of 20 people was eating so food take for ever to get our food. But what more bother us is to they didn't like us there can be because we flamboyant gays or because they was extra busy. No an smile, no decent service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and Fun Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were told by our local guide, Johan Chaves (Great Guide for Manuel Antonio Park) that Rancho Leon was a good place and boy was he right. It was a hot day and we had just finished a long walk when we rolled into the restaurant which was close to our hotel (Kayak Lodge which is also a nice place to stay.) We started off with some cold drinks that were great. My wife especially enjoyed her Crema (some sort of sweet corn drink). The empanadas were freshly made with an amazing corn shell that was the best. Our meals were large and very good. Overall I would highly recommended it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Many choices ...food just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stopped by for dinner on Saturday. There are many choices on the menu.
Grilled Sea Bass was great.
Garlic Sea Bass not so good - there was so much garlic that I couldn't eat it.
Shrimp and rice was over-cooked
Burger was good, not great.
Service was slow but we weren't in a hurry so we really didn't mind. The dinner was not in-expensive so if you have time and a car there are many better choices in Quepos and/or Manuel Antonio.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stopped here because we were in a traffic jam and decided to have some lunch. This place was delicious and relaxing and had great service! We made the effort to return on our way out of Quepos and the server remembered us. The food was just as good the second time. The price was also very reasonable. I can see why the locals enjoy it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho Leon also viewed

Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Rancho Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Leon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.