We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool decor/layout, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pura Vida Hostel Manuel Antonio

Save Saved
You added Pura Vida Hostel Manuel Antonio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pura Vida Hostel Manuel Antonio
Carretera Manuel Antonio, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty lodging in Quepos
Sunderland, Massachusetts
1 review
“Very cool decor/layout, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Overall, I'd rate the hostel (minus the sleeping quarters) a 4 or 5, but the 6-cot room was musty and hot and had the added frustration of a single window that did not open! The single fan did little to circulate the air and nothing to dissipate the smell of mold (although the room itself was cleaned every day, and I saw the maid wash and change the sheets).

I agree with other posts that hot water is not really necessary, but the bathroom had some other structural issues, like a sink whose faucet handle broke off, rendering it completely unusable.

Despite these issues, the common areas were totally amazing-- there were 2 balconies, one right outside the sleeping rooms and a larger one off the common space. We didn't use the kitchen, but the lounge areas were very comfortable and attractively furnished. The computers in the common area actually worked very well (better than any of the others encountered during our stay in Costa Rica).

Finally, the people were super nice and had a really great attitude-- very friendly and laid-back, but also very respectful of quiet hours. They gave very helpful advice about the buses, and didn't try to push package tours on us, like EVERY other hostel did. We definitely enjoyed our stay here, but would only return if we could get a private room...

Room Tip: Definitely call in advance for a private room (we didn't and ended up in the largest, shared roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    7
    1
    4
    5
See reviews for
2
6
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newberg, Oregon
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This place is on the main road from Quepos going to Manuel Antonio. I was met with a smile and loads of charm. I booked a double with bath attached and it was on the top floor. The view was terrific. The decor is funky and eclectic and the stairs are a bit challenging. There was some traffic noise from the road which is to be expected. There is the friendly hostel cat and dog to pet. I liked the staff and they were helpful in arranging a tour for me. The bathroom overlooked the jungle and was free of any curtains. After a bit of adjusting my perspective, I realized no one could see in and yet I could bath in the presence of nature and I kind of liked that. What makes an enjoyable stay for me is the staff interaction and this place is a good one.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvita, Costa Rica
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was a good hostel. The staff was very helpful, they had internet, close to the bus, walkable to Quepos (take the bus to Manuel Antonio). We had 3 people in a 4 person room and it was very comfortable.

They also have real mattresses, not the pieces of foam that you find most places in Costa Rica. The only complaint would be that the rooms face the road and there are a lot of loud trucks rolling by at all hours of the day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I was in this hostel this month, for 2 nights.... And finally I stay 10 nights !!!
It's a typical hostel, for sure sometimes there no hot water but this is Costa Rica ! And sincerely, with the hot temperature in this country, hot water is not realy necessary....
The location it's just between the town of Quepos and the Manuel Antonio beach and Park. There are a bus stop next the hostel.
The 2 things that I prefered were, the atmosphere of this place due to a real enjoyed staff, always ready to help you to organize your travel, or for sweet evening or amazing party !
The other thing is that every day you are directly in contact with the nature, white monkey face, squirel monkey, iguana, toucan or frog,.... There is even a frog which is called 'Paula' !
I would like to thank you Virginia and its team for my stay with us :-)
Pura Vida ! ! !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

This "hostal" over rates itself. The supposed communal kitchen is unlit, filthy, and there are no basic ingredients with which to cook. You share it with others, and there is no hot water for cleaning dishes. They say there is hot water in the showers, but we had no evidence of this. They closed the common area at 10:30, so all guests had to go to their tiny, over-priced rooms to listen to road noise.
I would avoid this place, there are other much better options in Quepos, but better yet, go up to Manuel Antonio for fresh air, quiet, and some reasonable options like the Costa Linda, which has tiny cramped rooms but a terrific, cheap breakfast and much better vibe overall.

Room Tip: don't even bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pura Vida Hostel Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hostel Manuel Antonio

Address: Carretera Manuel Antonio, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty lodging in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Pura Vida Hostel Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Hostel Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pura Vida Hostel Manuel Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.