We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to the hype!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bohemia Cafe

Bohemia Cafe
Downtown | Quepos, Quepos, Costa Rica
+506 6110 1285
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 53 Restaurants in Quepos
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: Eclectic, Healthy, Fusion, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Reservations only, private dinners/catering.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Lived up to the hype!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

I am sometimes skeptical with places that receive rave reviews in touristy areas but this place deserves the hype. We went on an early Monday evening and until the next customers arrived, we almost felt that we had our private cook. Service is warm yet professional. Our food was served within 20 minutes. My veggie burrito was huge, filled with probably a dozen different vegetables, black beans and bits of polenta. My 11 yr old who is quite finicky almost finished her enormous chicken burrito. My friend ordered a chicken sandwich which was served on a rustic whole wheat bread. We had lemonade made with cane sugar syrup which gave it a caramelized taste without being overly sweet. The place only has 4 tables yet manages to have atmosphere. Bathroom inside was spotless as was the cooking area. All in all, great place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynkae, Manager at Bohemia Cafe, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Reminiscing with Marjorie, Finally getting to last years reviews.
As I read to Marjorie she remembered you all, your daughter
And was happy you enjoyed the food at Bohemia. She has moved
and has a new addition to the family ( Samuel Rey , 5 months old )
Nos vemos pronto, que la vaya bien ! Muchas gracias ,
Marjorie n family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    19
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bohemia Cafe, Quepos, Found on the street behind the parking lot of the bus terminal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The best meal we had in Costa Rica! My husband enjoyed the food so much he had 3 entres!
I had the chicken curry and it was amazing! Marjorie, the chef, waitress, owner, etc. was very welcoming and had a beautiful smile. We went on a weeknight and the service was not slow as others were saying. It was the perfect last night of our honeymoon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We looked forward to a nice dinner here for several months and have checked nightly to see when it would be open throughout this first full week we've been here but the doors always locked. Tonight walked by and found out they were only serving smoothies and burritos, no more mahi mahi or other nice fish dishes. Are these new owners? The chalkboard menu is now covered with a poster of various smoothie options. If anyone has updates please let us know.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaynKj, Guest Relations Manager at Bohemia Cafe, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Yes, Bohemia cafe is still in business but is temporarily closed untill August 18 so that the owner/chef could attend her good friends wedding in India. Marjorie will be very disappointed that she was not available for your visit.
Yes, her mother is making burritos and smoothies.
She posted information on FB but could not get the post onto Trip advisor. We are very sorry and hope that next time you are in Costa Rica that you please visit Bohemia again. Tambien, lo siento y que la vaya bien.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is a "TripAdvisor Restaurant", meaning that all of the patrons are there because of its TripAdvisor reviews (no locals) and on the wall of the restaurant there is a message in chalk to please review them on TripAdvisor. Now, with that being said, the food was absolutely delicious and we absolutely recommend the restaurant. The various fish and shrimp entrees we all got with their own unique sauces danced on our tastebuds. We dined here our final night in CR and it was a great way to end the trip.

The one and only owner/waitress/cook was wonderfully warm and friendly. Service is slow, but we expected that based on the reviews, and you can also see that she is juggling everything herself so it makes sense why things take as long as they do. The small arrangement of just 3 tables was there as expected as well.

Despite the recommendation we did not enjoy the pineapple ginger smoothie, so we traded it in for a watermelon smoothie which was very good. Also, when we inquired about sweet plantains she said she did not have any. Then, without asking, she brought out some grilled bananas covered in cinnamon and chocolate - a lovely touch.

On a final note, it took 3 taxi drivers before one had heard of it and knew where this place was, so when people say good luck finding it, they really mean it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can't leave Quepos without eating here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Last summer my boyfriend and I traveled around Costa Rica and stopped in Quepos for two nights. The Lonley Planet guide recommended this place and said it was vegetarian friendly (I'm a veg!) so I had to try it. We had to leave early in the morning so we had a nice relaxing dinner and all I can say is that it was absolutely amazing. She's a one woman show and does it beautifully. Every bit of our food was prepared in such care and detail, I highly applaud the Bohemia Cafe. We liked it so much, we woke up extra early so we could grab some sandwiches and smoothies before our bus departed. They weren't open but we waited and once she opened we were getting close to our time to leave and she very quickly whipped up the most amzing sandwhiches I've ever had. Lots of fresh vegetables and a homeade sauce that was to die for. I don't think anyone should leave Quepos without eating here.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bohemia Cafe also viewed

Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Bohemia Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bohemia Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.