We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast
Apartado 392, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Quepos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Mike and Paul were great hosts! Highlights included delicious breakfasts, clean and comfortable room, lovely decor, great pool and outdoor living space, and helpful advice for our time in Manuel Antonio! Note - the sunset happy hour at the fancy hotel next door is not to be missed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
68
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Coyoba Tropical. Mike and Paul are relaxed, helpful, and very accommodating hosts. Our room was clean and spacious, breakfast by the pool area was delicious, and the landscaping was lovely. Taxis and the bus were super easy to catch right out the front door and we enjoyed being somewhat removed from the busy park entrance area. The only downside is the traffic noise but that is hard to escape in MA.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Highlight: A Beautiful B&B

A gem of a B & B. Abundant and varied tropical vegetation, nice swimming pool, good size bedrooms, clean and well decorated.

The weak point: the noise

• The bedrooms are located a few feet from a main road which is noisy day and night, cars, motorcycles, and buses. There is a lull during the night, but if you're a light sleeper, this is not for you.

• During my stay, there were 3-4 dogs that had taken up residence in front of the B & B and who yelped overnight. Not long, but enough to wake me up.

• The owners are music and TV lovers. If you think you can relax in the evening on the edge of the pool listening to the sound of cicadas, forget it. You have the right to a rather old Jeopardy. One evening, I turned off the TV as nobody was in front. An error as one of the owners immediately rushed and turned it back on even louder. I understood the point and went back to my bedroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went there from Dec 3rd to Dec 6th 2012.
We really enjoy the place. Very Clean and the hosts Mike and Paul are very good at it.

Paul`s breakfast are way more than perfect; especially those crepes with the bananas syrup "coulis". Mike can easily suggest you nice places or areas to visit if it is your first time in Manuel Antonio.

The rooms are all renovated and the look is pretty awesome. The backyard (or pool area) is all good as well with few nice dogs! And not to forget monkeys late in the day!

There are couple of very nice restaurant near by and you don't have to pay high prices to get very good meal.

I would definitely go back there ( and probably will )

Room Tip: It does not have to be by the beach to be perfect! Regardless wherever you go in Costa Rica, it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We recently stayed at Coyaba and had a lovely stay. Mike and Paul were great hosts and made us feel very welcome. They went out of there way to ensure that we were looked after the whole time.
We started with the upstairs room but relocated to the lower room due to another booking. We had decided to extend our stay. We preferred the ground floor room but both rooms were very comfortable. Mike was a wealth of knowledge re the area, places to go, restaurants, excursions and more. We enjoyed the homely welcoming feel of the B&B. The breakfasts were great and Mike even provided sandwiches one day and cappuccinos at night while watching television which we enjoyed.
The pool was lovely, the kitchen area accessible and the lounge area very nice and cozy. We took many pics of the monkeys and the humming bird at the front of the property. Restaurant wise, we particularly enjoyed SALT and visiting the local gallery. Highly recommend the catamaran trip. Ask the guys about the cafe where homemade cakes are made as they are superb. Quepos is a short walk away and there are plenty of buses. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend Coyaba.

Room Tip: We personally preferred downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great home, excellent renovations, wonderful rooms, well decorated and very comfortable, beautiful landscaping, great pool and lots of welcome monkey visitors. Michael and Paul are good hosts and they have a beautiful home and B&B. Breakfasts are good and they know the area well and provide great tourist and other information to their guests. There are a couple of downsides, the location is quite a distance from the beach/park at Manuel Antonio as we both like to have our early morning and late afternoon ocean swim. Taxis and buses are plentiful, but it is too far to walk to the beach or park. Restaurant options are limited with walking distance although SALT and the Hotel Gaia are good options as well as Ana's restaurant for local cuisine. The traffic noise is deafening at times if you want to sleep in or sit on your deck if you have the deluxe room as the B&B overlooks the main road from Quepos to MA and starts up at 5am and finishes after midnight. The enclosed courtyard with swimming pool, living room area, and dining area is beautifully done, but be prepared to listen to TV at a volume which is not relaxing to guests.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, take one of the lower rooms as the traffic noise is a bit less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coyabatropical, Owner at Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks again for staying with us and for reviewing our property, we take great pride in giving our guests personal attention in a "guesthouse" experience. Very few properties in Manuel Antonio are near the beach, and as you most likely noticed, many of the buildings are close to the only road to the National Park which is why we replaced exterior doors and windows during our restoration project, as well as installed split-unit A/C's with the compressor mounted outside. Traffic is busiest during early-morning when tourists are going to the beach or tours, and then again late afternoon/early evening when people are coming back to their hotels... otherwise there is little movement outside these times. There are a total of 6 restaurants within a 5 minute walk of Coyaba for guests who do not have a car, as well as a wide variety of restaurants with many different cuisines just a short bus or taxi ride away.

We do apologize for the louder than normal TV volume you experienced lounging next to the Pool during your final evening, our other guest wanted to watch a 2 hour Music Competition from his Patio Chair which is also next to the Pool, and we would have definitely lowered the volume or asked him to move into the TV Lounge area if you had raised the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I will never stay anywhere else in Manuel Antonio! Mike and Paul are awesome hosts and they really made our stay memorable--they practically planned our last day for us and they had awesome tour recommendations. The breakfast is delicious and the lodging is more than comfortable. They really love what they do and they go out of their way to make your stay worry free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast

Address: Apartado 392, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing travelers with modest priced accommodations and casual elegance. Our guests enjoy a cooked breakfast each day including fresh tropical fruit and home-made bread, as well as complimentary wi-fi. We have parking if you rent a vehicle during your stay, otherwise public bus service is very reliable every 30 minutes and the stop is just outside our gate which goes Manuel Antonio National Park and the Beach or into the Port town of Quepos.We are very knowledgeable on local tour attractions, and can also help with pre-booking Park nature guides, adventure tours and arranging transfer services, so please feel free to e-mail us with any questions or if you would like assistance planning your visit to Manuel Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coyaba Tropical Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Quepos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.