We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better pizza than in Italy..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Angolo

L'Angolo
Calle Central across from Escalofrio, Quepos, Costa Rica
(506) 2642-1111
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 61 Restaurants in Quepos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Better pizza than in Italy..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have to say, the pizza we had at Angolo was unbelievable and better then the pizza I had in Italy. The crust was light, the tomatoes were fresh and the cheese,,,so Yummy! I'd suggest this place to anyone if you'd like some pizza pies while in town. We also had salad which was fresh and nice on a hot day.

The service is a bit slow but it is Montezuma, after all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    39
    13
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

AMAZING pizza! I also had really good gnocchi. I went two days in a row because I couldn't stop thinking about it. The service was great and it was even busy really late one night!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Winner Best Takeout 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you want a taste of Italy in Quepos - L'Angolo is the place. It's centrally located in the heart of town and is the winner of Best Takeout in "The Best of Manuel Antonio & Quepos 2014." The owner Gigi makes his own pasta and super tasty prosciutto. There's a variety of delicious authentic dishes like lasagna and spaghetti with Bolognese. There are lots of sandwiches on the menu and a tray of ingredients like olives, marinated mushrooms and pickled onions to kick them up a notch and make them your own. It's a great stop for a picnic lunch to take to the beach. The locals love it and so will you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved the carbonara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Cute little italian place on the corner. Am giving this place a good review as the carbonara was fantastic & rest of food was really nice too. However if you are taken in by the board specials outside make sure you get what you are given & are charged the right amount. If you don't like live local music I also wouldn't recommend eating here.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Try the fettachini alfredo and raviolis in marinara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We ventured in from Manuel Antonio to Quepos one evening to explore the town and were looking to find a place to eat serving something other than tico food. We found this place and decided to give it a try. The service was excellent and the staff very attentive. I ordered the fettachini alfredo and cant say enough about it. The sauce was so smooth and creamy, the pasta al dente and the presentation surprised me as we were in Costa Rica right? Well they really know how to cook italian food. My wife had the ravioli in marinara sauce and it was the best she has had in a long time. We were told everything was made by scratch using imported spices from the states. A little pricey but worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Angolo also viewed

Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to L'Angolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Angolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.