We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the carbonara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Angolo

L'Angolo
Calle Central across from Escalofrio, Quepos, Costa Rica
50627774129
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 63 Restaurants in Quepos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved the carbonara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Cute little italian place on the corner. Am giving this place a good review as the carbonara was fantastic & rest of food was really nice too. However if you are taken in by the board specials outside make sure you get what you are given & are charged the right amount. If you don't like live local music I also wouldn't recommend eating here.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    39
    13
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Try the fettachini alfredo and raviolis in marinara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We ventured in from Manuel Antonio to Quepos one evening to explore the town and were looking to find a place to eat serving something other than tico food. We found this place and decided to give it a try. The service was excellent and the staff very attentive. I ordered the fettachini alfredo and cant say enough about it. The sauce was so smooth and creamy, the pasta al dente and the presentation surprised me as we were in Costa Rica right? Well they really know how to cook italian food. My wife had the ravioli in marinara sauce and it was the best she has had in a long time. We were told everything was made by scratch using imported spices from the states. A little pricey but worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

It's surprising to come to Costa Rica and have Italian food, but the guy we rented chairs from at the beach in Manuel Antonio was raving about this place so we gave it a try. The service isn't great as we were barely acknowledged when we walked through the door even though we were the first customers to arrive. Not the friendliest waiter and the food took forever to arrive, but it's probably b/c they were making everything from scratch. My daughter had the cheese raviolis in alfredo sauce and they were so delicious. My husband had a pasta dish with seafood and a tomato based sauce and it was excellent. I had the carbonara, which I didn't like as much, but only b/c I expected the American version of carbonara and according to my husband it was the more authentic version you find in Italy. Lesson learned. In sum, the food is delicious, prices are not cheap, and you will wait a while for your food, but it's worth a visit if you want an alternative to American and Costa Rican food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I had one of the best slices of pizza ever at the Angolo Allegro. It was juicy, dripping with cheese, and plenty of mushrooms. This is not your ordinary Costa Rican pizza.

It's also right in the center of Montezuma - very convenient. I will go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food in Quepos?!!!?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Yes, we were shocked to find this little corner Italian Restaurant in Quepos! Although the establishment is a mix of a delacatessan and restaurant, there is a lot of variety of food choices from Italian sandwiches to a full dinner. The bruschetta appetizer and the dinners ordered such as lasagna and the pasta with eggplant was seasoned well and very tasty. The owner/chef is from Italy which definitley explains the flavors and authenticity of the food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Angolo also viewed

Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to L'Angolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Angolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.