We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny portions” 2 of 5 stars
Review of L'Angolo

L'Angolo
Calle Central across from Escalofrio, Quepos, Costa Rica
(506) 2642-1111
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 53 Restaurants in Quepos
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tiny portions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying that I understand montazuma is a tourist town and may charge more than usual ... Also because of the location. I've been here over a week and have tried most of the resteraunts. I ordered the lasagna and it looked like a child's portion. I paid 7500 C or 15 $ us for the smallest portion I've ever seen in my life. I should have taken a pic but I didn't have my phone. The food was ok, but the small portion and two tiny pieces of bread left me starving. : ( I kinda felt ripped off.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    36
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Ordered the lasagna and spaghetti carbonera. Both very good and total was about $20. Size of the kitchen was tiny- owner is an incredible chef. Neighborhood was a little scary after dark.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very friendly, Live music.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Awesome pizza, and pasta dishes. Excellent iced coffee drinks. We liked it here so much we ate here 4 times out of 7 dinners in a week. Different live music nightly. Owner treated us to free dessert and or d'oeuvre s. Every table full most nights, arrive by 630 to get in. Corner location great for people watching. Clean and great food.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A taste of Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Many of the cured meats and cheeses are made by the owner. These Italian delicacies are hard to find in Costa Rica and when you do, you will pay a premium and they will be imported. There is a nice selection of deli items to buy, including Panetone bread which makes the best French toast.
The lasagne, bread rolls and smoked eggplant are made fresh daily.
You build your own sandwiches from the menu and end up with something you would find in a restaurant in Rome. My vegetarian friends like the options here.
This is NOT a Subway Sandwich Shop where you find all the endless condiments needed to make the processed "meats" palatable. So don't be mad at them for not having things that are barely available in this country, such as pickles.
The staff speaks limited English, ( and I speak literally no Spanish, yet always get through it with smiles) but excellent Italian and Spanish. Bottled sodas are less than canned, because they recycle here. I often grab a sand which for the drive to San Jose and eat half for lunch and the other half for dinner, but I'm a light eater. It's a small space and can get noisy, but the food is real and fresh, fresh, fresh.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We walked in and said hi to the shop keep, he wasn't friendly, maybe having a bad day. We sat and got out menus, seeing that he was a one man show, we waited further. Ordered out drinks and food and no drinks.. Waited and waited.

Unfortunately, we decided to leave due to the described service

Maybe he was having a bad day. We ended up across the street

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Angolo also viewed

Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to L'Angolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Angolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.