We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, Live music.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Angolo

L'Angolo
Calle Central across from Escalofrio, Quepos, Costa Rica
50627774129
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 65 Restaurants in Quepos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very friendly, Live music.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Awesome pizza, and pasta dishes. Excellent iced coffee drinks. We liked it here so much we ate here 4 times out of 7 dinners in a week. Different live music nightly. Owner treated us to free dessert and or d'oeuvre s. Every table full most nights, arrive by 630 to get in. Corner location great for people watching. Clean and great food.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    39
    13
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A taste of Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Many of the cured meats and cheeses are made by the owner. These Italian delicacies are hard to find in Costa Rica and when you do, you will pay a premium and they will be imported. There is a nice selection of deli items to buy, including Panetone bread which makes the best French toast.
The lasagne, bread rolls and smoked eggplant are made fresh daily.
You build your own sandwiches from the menu and end up with something you would find in a restaurant in Rome. My vegetarian friends like the options here.
This is NOT a Subway Sandwich Shop where you find all the endless condiments needed to make the processed "meats" palatable. So don't be mad at them for not having things that are barely available in this country, such as pickles.
The staff speaks limited English, ( and I speak literally no Spanish, yet always get through it with smiles) but excellent Italian and Spanish. Bottled sodas are less than canned, because they recycle here. I often grab a sand which for the drive to San Jose and eat half for lunch and the other half for dinner, but I'm a light eater. It's a small space and can get noisy, but the food is real and fresh, fresh, fresh.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We walked in and said hi to the shop keep, he wasn't friendly, maybe having a bad day. We sat and got out menus, seeing that he was a one man show, we waited further. Ordered out drinks and food and no drinks.. Waited and waited.

Unfortunately, we decided to leave due to the described service

Maybe he was having a bad day. We ended up across the street

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“BEST MEALS IN MANUEL ANTONIO/QUEPOS AREA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Me and my boyfriend loved this place so much we ate here nearly every day. Delicious pastas and bruschetta. Great deli. We highly recommend you eat here!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
200 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great spaghetti with pesto!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

This was a small, quaint place. The service was slow because the owner/chef made each meal one at a time. We knew this when we went so it wasn't a big deal. The dinners were all really good and very reasonably priced.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Angolo also viewed

Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to L'Angolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Angolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.