We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza outside Italy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Angolo

L'Angolo
Calle Central across from Escalofrio, Quepos, Costa Rica
(506) 2642-1111
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 53 Restaurants in Quepos
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Cobourg, Ontario
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best pizza outside Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Go here for pizza and beer. The waitress is friendly, the food is inexpensive and it is really very good. A very nice, laid back experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    36
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad service and bread hiding the tuna”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a great time in Montezuma but several of the restaurants had staff with bad attitudes. That can happen in a touristy place. My girlfriend and I ordered the lunch special, which tasted good but there was hardly any Mahi Mahi on the sandwich. The bread was great tasting, but that's not what we were really after.

I understand that we're on island time here, even though it's not an island, but the waitress was inattentive and absent most of the meal. The ATM in town ran out of Colones so we had to pay in dollars unfortunately, this led to a misunderstanding on the price. She didn't tell us the conversion rate. When I asked her to explain, she became enraged and actually took back some change because she said she overcharged us. This may have been a one-time experience. You never know who will wait on you or what baggage they're carrying.

But I took special care in reviewing the bill because while waiting for our food, I noticed that she overcharged two women who ordered a carryout pizza. I could see that she agreed she gave them the wrong change and then came back with at least two 2,000 colones billls. That's at least $8 she overcharged them and I don't think it was an accident. Be warned at these tourist traps and always count your change. Based on the very little Mahi Mahi on our sandwiches, and the bad service, I can't recommend this place. For a more relaxing atmosphere, try the soda across from the bus stop. I don't know the name, but the food was great and reasonably priced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“great food but RUDE STAFF!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

the sandwiches here are amazing but unfortunately the two young ladies who make the sandwiches are the rudest people we've ever met. the first day we went and ordered 2 sandwiches to go. the second day we went back to order 2 more to go. when adding a 3rd sandwich to our order one of the ladies threw down the knife which almost flew across the counter at us. not sure what their problem was but we had a quick order at 4pm. the sandwiches are great and affordable but watch out, you'll get mean looks of death here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went there for lunch yesterday, had bruschetta pomodore, tuna salad and linguini frutti de mare...all excellent, we saw some of the sandwiches being delivered to other tables and they looked delicious too. Great service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Quepos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

There are 9 tables, we had great service within a very reasonable time frame. The food was simply perfect! I don't think you could make a mistake on anything from the large menu choices. We went in the evening and were completely satisfied, will definitely go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Angolo also viewed

Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to L'Angolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Angolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.